7/13 Lucy PMPS=293;+2.25=320

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=171 (0.5u); +2.5=212; +6=229; +8.5=148; +11.5=182
PMPS=221 (0.5u); +2=220; +4=167; +6=166; +8=171

Today
AMBG=166 (skip not eating)
PMPS=293 (0.5u); +2.25=320; +6=358

Lucy isn't eating.
She didn't eat last night either, so I'm skipping this morning's shot.
She only took a couple of licks, and now refusing anything I offer.
She got Cerenia yesterday evening, and Bupe at 3am.
I at least managed to administer her morning pills - prednisolone and metronidazole.
I also added cypro, hoping she'll want to eat even for a short period of time.
She's been consitantly having diarrhea now - small ones multiple times yesterday.

I don't know what's going on.
She was feeling and eating so good yesterday morning, and now this.
The only things that happened in between are acupuncture and heat.
I know the hot weather isn't helping, but I think that's not the only cause.
I read somewhere before that right after an acupuncture session, the symptoms may appear worse, or something.
Maybe that's what's happening?
But she's had many many acupuncture sessions before, and this never happened.

I don't know what to do.
I really don't know what to do if the cypro doesn't work.
Does she need to be hospitalized?

OT - Ginger ate this morning.
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating

I'm so sorry Lucy isn't doing well. I have found that cyproheptadine doesn't work if the underlying cause of the inappetence isn't covered. You already give her fluids, right? Is she dehydrated in spite of that by any chance? I did have to hospitalize Tiffany a few times for IV fluids when she had bad pancreatitis episodes. Is your vet's office open today? I'm sending healing vines your way and lenty of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating

I'm sending you hugs Mariko. What is Lucy getting for the diarrhea Flagyl? Yes, I think that's what metronidazole is, or visa versa. Flagyl has always worked really well for J.D. Maybe there is something else that will help besides that medicine. The diarrhea can dehydrate her if it goes on and on. Is she drinking water okay?
If your vet is open, maybe you should take her in. I am sending the strongest of get better vines and eating vines to our Lucy.
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating

So sorry to hear Lucy isn't feeling well again....I know you try so very hard and have to be very worried.

I agree on the vet...might not be a bad idea to get Lucy in and see if there's anything they can offer to make her more comfortable and get her eating

Sending lots of healing vines and hugs your way, Mariko and prayers that things will get better soon for your dear little Lucy
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating

Piling on even more vines for Lucy and hugs for you Mariko. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating

Sending prayers for sweet Lucy and hugs to you Mariko.
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating >> ate some

A beautiful bouquet of healing vines for Lucy and some calming vines for you, Mariko. I hope the vet will have some suggestions.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating >> ate some

She ate some.
In total, she ate half of 3oz can.

If possible, I'd like to hold another vet visit in case this is a "rebound effect" of yesterday's acupuncture treatment.
I'm afraid another car ride may make her sicker.
But I'm going to call the vet and discuss her current condition as well as a plan if she doesn't improve.
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy AMBG=166 // SKIP - not eating >> ate some

I think that is a good idea. At least for Max, stress makes him worse and the stress of a vet visit has caused p'itis attacks many times.
 
Re: 7/13 Lucy PMPS=293

Lucy is slowly eating this evening.
She has eaten a little over 1/4 of her regular dinner portion.

I spoke with the vet earlier.
She said things they would do at the clinic, I am already doing at home, so keep doing Cerenia, Bupe and sub-q fluids, and monitor.
She agreed it would be better to save another vet trip to minimize her stress for now as long as she eats some.

I'm going to give her sub-q fluids every day until she feels better and diarrhea stops, and the vet OK'd it.
 
Tons of healing vines to Lucy. I really hope she starts to feel much better soon. Sometimes it takes a bit of time to get past the pancreatitis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top