7/11-Shakespeare - PMPS 238 - food inflated though

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so I am tired and confused
all those carbs last night and he is 111
t the heck is going on?
NOT that I am complaining, but what am I supposed to do
I am not confortable shooting yet, and 2 units is questionable
HELP!>
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Denise, do you have to leave in 15 minutes, too?

What was the last test you got this morning? I mean before the 111.
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

6:30 is the latest I can leave,
his last test was the 8.75 and he was 100 so he really isnt rising
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

he had grilled beef last night at 18% carbs and it took him up from the 33
but did not sky rocket him.....tht is what has me confused
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Sorry, I had to test, shoot, and feed. I'm going to get a cup of coffee.
brb.
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

She's supposed to leave in less than 15 minutes, which doesn't give us much time to make a decision. It's 6:17am, here.
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

I'm thinking the 2 units is probably okay, since he's surfing, and she's on Levemir which doesn't normally onset until +4 and nadir around +8. She can leave out MC in a feeder. What do you think Jane?
Denise, what would you be comfortable shooting? Can you get home for lunch?
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

I was going to say something similar, Dyana.

Denise, I second Dyana's questions: Can you get home for lunch to test mid-cycle? Are you comfortable shooting 2u? If not - Dyana, would you agree with a slightly lower token dose? I'd hate to see another skipped shot since there were two in a row a couple of days back...

Thoughts?
Jane
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Yes, I would agree with a 1.5 unit or even 1 unit, just to keep something in the shed.

Denise, please let us know what you decide to do, okay?
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Quoting from Vyktor's Mum (Serryn) - just in case she doesn't see my message in time:

"Well caught Denise :mrgreen: anything in the thirties tends to make most of us panic a little but it doesn't sound like Shakes was in too much trouble with the only symptom being hunger. Vyktor used to clean out his bowl when he went a bit too low too - it was a great sign for me to test and catch a reduction. Looks like Shakes is loving the Levemir :mrgreen:

The great thing to take away from this is that you can raise Shakes numbers easily with some carbs and last night gave you the best numbers you have seen in a long time :mrgreen:

It will be interesting to see what his AMPS is - quite likely he will be heading into bounce mode after the liver shock of last nights lows. If he is it will make it safe to shoot 2.25 as per the protocol."
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

THanks,
I dint skip a shot the last couple of days,Julie asked me last night a t 2am to fill in my SS
so I only filled in yesterday, I will complete tonight
I had to make a decision and since he had the 18%carb last night and did not skyrocket
I am very nervous and unable to get home today
so I fed a low carb meal and leave plenty out
and I shot 1.5 units
Thanks for your help
gotta run!!
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

dmartini4 said:
THanks,
I dint skip a shot the last couple of days,Julie asked me last night a t 2am to fill in my SS
so I only filled in yesterday, I will complete tonight
I had to make a decision and since he had the 18%carb last night and did not skyrocket
I am very nervous and unable to get home today
so I fed a low carb meal and leave plenty out
and I shot 1.5 units
Thanks for your help
gotta run!!

Well done, Denise!
Sorry about the 2-skipped-shots thing, I assumed that's what had happened and didn't see an answer to Julie's related question in the previous condo.
I definitely didn't mean to sound critical. You've done a great job!
Hope you have a good day at TBP and come home to a happy cat!
Jane
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

RECAP of Shakespeare's latest numbers (including ones not yet on SS), for those seeing this after Denise had to leave:

10th July
AMPS 85 --- Shot 2u Lev
(+1) 96
(+7) 193
PMPS 195 --- Shot 2.5u Lev
(+2) 255
(+4) 181
(+8) 33 (!!) --- Fed HC (Grilled Beef, ca. 1/2 can), Dose Reduction Earned (0.25u less, by protocol)
(+8.25) 55
(ca. +8.45) 100

11th July
AMPS 111 --- Shot 1.5u Lev, Fed LC meal with more food left out. Denise wasn't comfortable shooting more as she can't come back home to test again.

Well done, again, Denise.
Jane
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

I know you're frazzled with the lower numbers despite being no doubt delighted!! We're going to do some thinking about your dose for tonight.

Can I ask a favor? Can you do one of two things -- either add that you're using an AlphaTrack meter to your signature line OR put an "AT" note in your subject line every day?

I know you found that the AT meter runs lower than your Relion but we need to remind ourselves that you're using an AT since it typically runs lower than a human meter.
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Hi guys and wow, nice shooting this morning! Fingers crossed shakespeare surfs the day away for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - Really?

Hi Denise!
All I wanted to say is that this is awesome to see. You're doing fantastic in your "new world", and so is Shakes!

Carl
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW

Holy $%&(!!!!
My hubby is home and was able to get a +6 and he is 117
so I shot 1.5 units and he is them same as this morning
what the heck should I shoot tonight
Stick with 1.5?? go to 1.75???

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW

What a CRAZY GOOD problem to have!!! Shakes is thinking about you know what!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Told ya there would be a breakthrough, and that it would catch you off guard. :mrgreen:

Ok, let's sort this out. First, turn off your Prozinc brain. The fact that you shot 1.5 units today has little to do with today's numbers. Sorry! Levemir creates an insulin depot, which can affect several cycles or even several days. Today's numbers are coming mostly from the 2.5u you shot last night, with some influence from the 2u yesterday morning and the 3u the night before. The fact that you shot less today might have a little impact on today's numbers, but usually the impact from a reduced shot is seen more in the next cycle than in the current one. I know that doesn't make sense to you yet!

So... He hit 30s last night on 2.5u. Even though there was probably still a little influence from the 3.0 unit depot in that cycle, I still say that is too low, especially using an AlphaTrak meter. I would reduce from the 2.5 units, down to 2.25u, and go from there. He may need to go back up in dose once the depot clears out, but you never know, he might hold the reduction or even earn another one.

Now that Shakes finally has some momentum going, I would hate to see you reduce by too much too soon and lose the momentum. It's a VERY good sign that he hasn't bounced yet, though. :mrgreen: He probably will still bounce at some point, so be mentally prepared for that. It's still good progress that he can hold onto his surf for this long.
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW

:shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: :mrgreen:

THIS. is. what. you. have. been. working. towards.

awesome analysis and explanation from libby. i wholeheartedly agree with her suggestions and reasoning!


congratulations and good luck!
 
Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW

Thank you so much everyone, I amtrying not to get excited (but I really am a little!) :mrgreen:
so his PMPS is 238, BUT I had to work late
and my hubby said he ate about half hour before I got home
so the 238 is food inflated.
I am thinking of shooting 2 units.....any thoughts...
 
ok I shot 2.25 units
A little nervous but we shall see what happens
fingers crossed for no hypos tonight!!

SS up to date now!
 
Thank you so much everyone, I am trying not to get excited (but I really am a little!)

Well we are excited for you too! Keep on keepin’ on Momma! You guys are doing great and are a big inspiration for us! :-D
 
awesome!

There won't be a hypo. You worked up to his dose in a safe, systematic manner so a hypo would be extremely unlikely. Low numbers, maybe.

Tonight would be a good night to get some data to help with future decisions. Can you get a +2? You can even get a +1 if you want. Those will give you a good clue as to how the rest of the cycle will go.
 
Thanks, Libby, for always explaining things so clearly!

GOOD JOB, Denise, I know it was hard for you to shoot the 2.5u, but
bravo.gif


Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
looking at your spreadsheet and considering that you're using Lev, I'm reconsidering my advice to start with +1 and +2. You can if you want to, but most likely the insulin won't start to kick in that early. +4 is usually about when Lev starts working so +2 probably won't tell you a whole lot, although of course it never hurts to grab extra data here and there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top