Re: 7/11-Shakespeare - AMPS 111 - +6 - 117WOW
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Told ya there would be a breakthrough, and that it would catch you off guard. :mrgreen:
Ok, let's sort this out. First, turn off your Prozinc brain. The fact that you shot 1.5 units today has little to do with today's numbers. Sorry! Levemir creates an insulin depot, which can affect several cycles or even several days. Today's numbers are coming mostly from the 2.5u you shot last night, with some influence from the 2u yesterday morning and the 3u the night before. The fact that you shot less today might have a little impact on today's numbers, but usually the impact from a reduced shot is seen more in the next cycle than in the current one. I know that doesn't make sense to you yet!
So... He hit 30s last night on 2.5u. Even though there was probably still a little influence from the 3.0 unit depot in that cycle, I still say that is too low, especially using an AlphaTrak meter. I would reduce from the 2.5 units, down to 2.25u, and go from there. He may need to go back up in dose once the depot clears out, but you never know, he might hold the reduction or even earn another one.
Now that Shakes finally has some momentum going, I would hate to see you reduce by too much too soon and lose the momentum. It's a VERY good sign that he hasn't bounced yet, though. :mrgreen: He probably will still bounce at some point, so be mentally prepared for that. It's still good progress that he can hold onto his surf for this long.