7/11 Sammy update: need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Sammy had her lowest ever AMPS just now: 127. She's usually 190~250. Her PMPS+11 was 152, which is also quite low for her. I just increased her levemir dose yesterday from 1.0 to 1.1. Could such a small increase have such a large effect so soon?

I plan to not feed and retest in 30 minutes. Should I keep retesting until it goes up before feeding? Then shoot a normal dose 1.1? Please advise.

Thanks so much for your help.

Sammy's introduction
 
Still dropping. Now 121. In the past, Sammy has always spiked after eating, and has a long slow curve downward with her lowest numbers at around +12. The sudden drop today is unnerving. Will wait another 15 minutes and retest.

PMPS+11 = 152
AMPS = 127
30 min = 121
 
I have not switched to low card yet (EVO Turkey and Chicken Cat & Kitten).
Still eating Hills M/D canned.
 
Since Sammy is still dropping and this is the lowest preshot she's had, I would definitely wait for a rising number before shooting or skip the shot. If you decide to shoot, will you be able to get some spot checks in?
Some kitties are more sensitive to changes in dose. Did she eat overnight? Is she acting like herself? Have you tested her urine for ketones? All p's in place? Just want to rule out anything else besides for the dose increase.
 
Still dropping after 30 minutes. Now 112.

I will be home all day and will be able to do spot checks. She ate her usual dinner last night right before her PM shot. She seems to be feeling really good, better than usual. She was playing just now with her toys (hasn't done this in months).

She's peeing and pooping normally. Have not tested for ketones because I haven't received the test strips yet. They shipped yesterday so I expect them to arrive late today or tomorrow.
 
It's wonderful when they start acting like themselves again. :-D

So, here is a link to a post regarding what to do when you get a low preshot http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=61797 that lists different options.

I am fighting a cold and really need to head into bed. If you decide to shoot, since this board isn't very active at the moment, I would urge you to post on Health to get more eyes on Sammy.

Also, not to freak you out, but if you shoot, do you have high carb food, karo syrup, etc in case of a hypo?
 
Thanks for the link. I have some honey that I can mix with the Hills M/D. If I decide to shoot I'll post to the Health board. But right now I'm leaning towards not shooting. These numbers are just too weird.

Thanks so much for your help. Hope you get well soon!
 
Hello Susan,
please remember that Sammy's pancreas could wake up=heal at any moment. I have 2 DM kitties, both in remission. Pudge went OTJ first time on I unit of ProZinc & 2nd time on Levemir after a very brief stint (mere days) on Levemir. The second kitty spent a long time on ProZinc & months on Levemir. We switched to Levemir because of shortage of ProZinc last fall. Just trying to emphasize the fact that pancreas can wake up at any moment, thus, contributing to low BGs. Good luck with Sammy.
Best wishes, Sophie
 
I think with lev it is better to shoot a token dose than to skip - in this case something like .25u or .5u (depending on if you would be around to test and monitor and/or have data to show she can handle the higher dose). So keep that in mind for next time.

You also might want go back to 1u - especially if you get another low PS and have to reduce that shot to compensate. Looks like you will most definitely need to reduce when you switch to low carb food if she is getting numbers like this now while still on the MD food.
 
I just looked at Sammy's ss and she has had a very pretty string of blues. I am glad that she is doing well on the lower carb food - you may need to reduce a little more. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top