7/11 Heart - The "why not to panic" thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Okay, I learned my lesson... I know I would panic in the past when I got a new-to-me lower BG level come shot time, and either split the dose or skip the shot - neither ideal. Well, today you'll be proud of me. Despite being in the blue, I gave the full dose. After eating at shot-time, his BG did rise a little and the full dose didn't hypo him. I learned my lesson :mrgreen: After a slight rise, he's now at +3 a smidgeon below his PMPS. Usually, the large 180 point drops would be by +3, so I don't have to worry about such a large drop when he's in the blue.

Just for fun and to see what a normal kitty's BG are like, I poked my fat cat Merlin. A nice 95. And, he didn't even struggle (had to poke twice because the first time I either didn't get enough blood, or didn't see it with his black fur). I think I'm becoming the prick master :thumbup
 
yay! See, we wouldn't steer you wrong. :mrgreen:

Of course that doesn't mean you can just shoot all the time and leave, you do want to monitor as much as you can when you ARE home so you can better predict what will happen when you're not home. Data is power, though. Great job!
 
Great job at not panicking! It's a good feeling isn't it? And cute that you tested your normal kitty... fat cat Merlin, hee, hee!
dodgingwrenches said:
I think I'm becoming the prick master :thumbup
Not too sure if I'd say THAT in public... at least not using those words! :lol: :lol:
 
Heart is it not the best feeling I know the first 2 weeks I nearly had a pantic attack every time I would try to poke Trey and that would stress him too. Today he loved me doing it and flicks his ears when DH tries to do it..No Problem we are GOOD We can DO ANYTHING YEAH!!!! :lol: :-D :razz: :twisted: ~O) :mrgreen:
 
Of course, it now begs the question of what you'll do the first time you have a green pre-shot number>

If it's any consolation, I can't tell you how many times I've encouraged someone to shoot on a green. When Gabby handed me a 55 for a PMPS, I was chewing my fingernails! But, if you look at Gabby's SS, that cycle was a very flat green. (BUT, I have a lot of data!!)
 
I was there scared to shot on Green its ok Just have to give sm mm and test ....Green is good look at Trey`s ss we shot on green too LOL Kath :lol: :mrgreen: :twisted:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top