7/11 Chuck 455 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Chuck is at it again, throwing curve balls! After a 399 PMPS followed by a 375 (ETA: 275, not 375) +4, he gives me a no shoot number this morning. I probably shouldn't have fed him, just stalled, but he was hungry at his usual time. It's now 2 hours past shot time -- too late to shoot? I'll test and see where he is, but a food spike should be past by now, right?

ETA: A bit lower than "preshot," so no insulin this morning. I'll be home at +19 to test again, but know that's definitely too late to shoot.
 
Re: 7/11 Chuck 181 AMBG; 177 +14.5

Wish we knew exactly what causes those. It could be that his pancreas is waking up, or that he is reacting to a previous bounce. Regardless, nice number! Yeah, +19 would throw you completely off - you'd have to wait till +8 after it, even if you gave a token dose.
 
Re: 7/11 Chuck 181 AMBG; 177 +14.5

Cass throws these "delayed cycles" at me periodically; still dunnno why.
 
Not a bad preshot, considering he hasn't had insulin for 24 hours -- I was expecting much higher. This preshot is lower than some of his previous ones even with insulin every 12 hours. I waffled about whether to shoot 1.2U (my usual dose) or the 1.4U that Rob suggested on a sliding scale. Thought about it, and figured since he'd been without insulin for 24 hours, the little extra wouldn't hurt, and he was higher than "normal." I'll get a test in around +3 or +4...
 
Keep in mind that I made the scale more aggressive to push him into giving you lower PS's which he ended up doing on his own.

So now is the time to open up a discussion on what dose you should shoot on a PS under 200 because it will happen again. I'm hoping that everyone will weigh in with opinions.

Since you havn't shot under 200 before we have no idea of what would be the right dose so we would be guessing. I will always err on the side of caution, so I probably would have cut the dose in half to .6u or maybe .4u, if it isn't enough and he goes high then you safely know you need to shoot a higher dose next time.

What does everyone else think?
 
I seriously thought about a "token" dose this morning, along the lines of .2U, or just a "drop," but since I wouldn't be home until lunch (around +7 or so), I didn't shoot at all. Seeing that he didn't seem to drop all that low, I think now if he gives me <200 preshot, I'll likely give that token dose.
 
You did the right thing today, especially if you can't monitor the cycle, stay within your comfort zone and take more chances on days off work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top