7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335 +4 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's HORRIBLE Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121508


Even though we are starting the day in red, I have decided to be ok with it as the starting red today is at least lower than both PS reds yesterday. Plus the fact that Skooter decided to jump up on me this morning and snuggle for a little bit, which made me feel a little better. And also because I really don't have a choice but to be ok with it.

He still has a little bit of his breakfast left (I fed him 1/2 of a 5.5 oz can of Nature's Variety Chicken) --- which he has now gone back to eating as I type this. I am going to give Skooter his dry food at +.75 when I leave for work. Tonight I shall be baking some chicken and trying that as Skooter's treat, I sure hope this works because I am not sure what else is left for treat ideas.

Hoping to have a decent day at work myself and perhaps finally feel a bit caught up before I have to start training our new person on Monday (training is about a 4-5 month process)...pretty intensive for the first few weeks and then as he learns new things we will have bursts of intensive. I sure hope that he is a quick study as that will make things A LOT easier for me.

I am going to start Skooter's all wet diet on Friday night when I am home. I know that it is too early to determine what I should be lowering Skooter's insulin dose to in order to "counteract" the all wet, and I will await direction from my fine friends here :) My concern/question is for Monday....as it is the new person's first day we have a team lunch, so I will most likely not be able to come home during the day. I know that with the insulin it can take a few cycles to feel the effects, is that the same for when adding the all wet diet or should I have some idea how he will be doing on it by Sunday?

As for me, I am feeling a little bit better than I was last night, I am really really trying to be patient and trying to see the bounces/high numbers as a good thing as that means the insulin is actually working, even if it doesn't seem like it. I was able to get blood from his left ear again, I am not sure why that side gives me so much trouble and he seems to be more sensitive on that side, but at least it gives me options so I am not always butchering his right ear, which I think I might have permanently deformed.
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444

Hi guys .. I know it can be hard seeing our babies this high, but you are starting to look at the whole picture now, with skooter feeling good enough to snuggle and that is a good thing! We have to remember to look at our kitties as a whole, not just numbers ;-) I know some people in the past have changed to an all wet cat food diet and had major number improvements in a very short amount of time .. I hope others will be around soon to chime in for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444

hi molly!

i learned on punkin's left ear and think i scarred it in the process. we switched to his right ear and stayed on it for the rest of his life - 2.5 years. just always staunch it so it doesn't bruise after you've poked, use a new lancet every time, and put on neosporin with pain relief every night to help it heal. it should stay "working" with all of that.

someone had pics a while back of lancets following reuse - they begin to "fray" with the first poke, and it's like driving a blunt object through by the 5th poke. they're cheap - use a new one.

We've been talking about his dose - basically everything will change when you remove the dry food. One option is to reduce the dry a little tomorrow morning, then don't give any after that. his dose tomorrow night might be reduced, hard to say. it can take a day for the dry food to work out. If you do reduce the dry food quantity some tomorrow morning his pmps might be lower. if so, just post and ask for help deciding what to do. getting a +11 gives people time to see what's going on and help you. what time and time zone do you shoot in the evening? i think i'm around tomorrow and of course, others are in and out too.

As far as Monday morning, if there is any way you can have a timed feeder by then, that's going to be the best help. If possible, try feeding him in it before then, while you're home, so you're sure he'll accept it.

i'm gone all day today but will look for you tomorrow. i think you're going to be pleasantly surprised at his numbers when the dry food is gone. :-D
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444

If you can't swing the auto feeder just yet, use this time to experiment and see how he does with frozen food. Make some foodcicles by adding about an equal amount of water to a can of food and then put it into ice cube trays or mini muffin pans and freeze. Once frozen, you can pop them out into a baggie.

Most cats won't eat what they can't smell, and while frozen, the food doesn't smell, so it lets you leave food out while you're gone that will be "ready to eat" later in the cycle when it's thawed out and smells like food again....However, some cats will just crunch away at the frozen...smell or no smell....lol

I agree that maybe tomorrow morning you feed almost exclusively wet only....maybe leave some wet out when you leave (mix some extra water into it and it'll help keep it fresher) and just a little kibble. If you can get him completely off the dry in the next 24 hours, by Monday we might be better able to advise you as to what to do then on his dose.

I know this has been a tough week for you, but hang in there! We all promise it will get better, and it sounds like Skooter is already making progress by feeling better too!

Here's those pictures of used needles...as you can see, they get pretty bad fast! The lancets are the same. Since they're all made with such thin metal now, they degrade quickly.
Used%20needles.jpg
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370

Welp.....370, I'll take it! It isn't red!

I am holding off on giving Skooter his dry food....he ate most of his wet food, but always likes to leave a little to munch on a little later. I am thinking of waiting until +1 to give him his portion of dry, and I will be doing a little less than his 1/4 cup. Looking to test at about +4 or so and then hopefully heading to bed and doing his IBD medication at about +4.5.

Chicken is in the oven baking....I sure hope he likes this or I fear I am out of options for treats for him. I am hoping to get some stuff cleaned and organized around my house tonight, hoping it will start making me feel better. It has been so chaotic since Skooter started the insulin and this week, as we ALL know has just been my crash and burn week.

It appears "later" for Skooter means about five minutes :)

It looks like Skooter has decided to allow me to snuggle with him....yay!
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

I am going with the "slow and steady wins the race" theory right now....I was actually hoping I would see more of a drop since I waited until after testing him to give him his dry....but I guess I have to remember he has the dry "still in him" from breakfast etc....

I am thinking I might take a little nap until +4 when I give him his IBD medication....

Since he is trending slowly at this point and it is +2, is further testing tonight needed? If so, when abouts would be a good time to do it?

The baked chicken was a hit (yay)....how much can I give him per day?
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

Since it's "pure meat", he can have all the chicken he wants, but you want him eating enough of his regular food to get all the vitamins/minerals/etc. that he needs beyond what he'd get in plain chicken

I'd probably plan on getting a +4 and go from there...you'll probably be able to go on to bed since that's not a big drop and he's still got his dry to eat
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

Nothing like red to make pink look good! :roll: :lol: You're doing a great job with everything and Skooter really appreciates it. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

Glad to hear you're having a better day today Molly! :YMHUG: That is so neat that Skooter wants to snuggle, he's jut showing you how much he appreciates you- gotta love that! :smile: I would only use the baked chicken as a treat for either the shot or ear poke. I don't know if anyone said anything but make sure the chicken isn't baked with garlic or onions, both are not good for kitties.
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

Thanks :)

I am trying to remember this is a marathon and not a sprint....which is very difficult as I just want him to feel better faster!

He is getting plain ole nothing on it, not even salt and pepper, baked chicken....

He doesn't seem to give a flying hoot when it comes to shot time as he is usually eating when I do it. I plan to use the chicken for ear pokies.....just glad I found something he likes lol
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

I agree with Ruth that I'd just use the chicken as a treat as you plan to do. Also, if he's starving late in the cycle, you could give him just a tiny bit of the chicken.

Better day today!
 
Re: 7/10 Skooter AMPS 444 +5.25 266 PMPS 370 +2 335

No advice from me, just popping in to say you are doing great! This is a tough thing to deal with, but you found the right place to be! I wish you the best!!
 
So looks like I can go to bed! I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) Skooter has gotten his +4, which is not much different, got his IBD med AND his new baked chicken treat for being such a good boy while getting tested.....

Here is hoping that he does NOT have active cycle tomorrow (see me learning that sometimes a flat cycle preceeds an active one, huh?! :-D ) .....not sure this mommabean's heart could take it, especially as tomorrow night is his BIG move to ALL wet food....I am so super scared, nervous and excited....also planning on not really getting a lot of sleep this weekend....

Still holding out hope that I will be able to do my Color Run 5K on Sunday morning, but if I can't, I will deal....just need my Skoots feeling better....

Hoping to figure out how to shrink his photo soon and add it....the ones I have are all too big angry(2)_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top