7/10 Cali. AMPS 151

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
upload_2021-7-10_11-25-27.jpeg
upload_2021-7-10_11-25-27.jpeg

148 @+6
PMPS 199
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-10_11-25-27.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-10_11-25-27.jpeg
    44.1 KB · Views: 130
Last edited:
Cute picture!

Sorry no one's been stopping by. It's helpful if you tell us a little bit about how Cali is doing, how she's feeling. So we can get to know her a bit from a distance.

Did you test again after than 54 at +2.5 last night? We always like to make sure they are coming up before we stop testing, to make sure they are safe for the night. It's possible you might have seen a reduction numbers as it looks like a bounce today.
 
Cute picture!

Sorry no one's been stopping by. It's helpful if you tell us a little bit about how Cali is doing, how she's feeling. So we can get to know her a bit from a distance.

Did you test again after than 54 at +2.5 last night? We always like to make sure they are coming up before we stop testing, to make sure they are safe for the night. It's possible you might have seen a reduction numbers as it looks like a bounce today.
Cali did bounce yesterday and I probably unfortunately facilitated that. I am still trying not to panic at lower numbers, but I did and fed 1Tbsp HC and 1 drop of Karo syrup. Also reduced her dosage 1drop to true 1 unit. FORTUNATELY Cali does not refuse food. She appears to be very carb sensitive. Testing is still a challenge because she is a fractious calico. It requires two people and she amps up. We love her too much to give up. I also monitor her other symptoms for ketones [negative], regular poops and
 
I have a soft spot for calicos and torties!!

If you are following TR and your goal is remission, let me offer some thoughts. First, what a change from earlier in the year!!

From your SS, it sounds like you think you're giving a drop over 1.0u. However, it doesn't seem consistent. Unless you can draw up your dose and compare the two two different doses and can tell if there's a difference in amount, I wouldn't use that as a measure. You may be better off getting calipers to measure your dose. They will allow for greater consistency especially if you have the need to microdose (e.g., a fat or skinny dose).

I don't think this dose is doing the trick. However, numbers are getting into a range where it may be challenging to increase. I can't tell from. your SS when you are feeding Cali. You may need to be giving several small meals to keep the numbers bumped up. I'd also think about using LC when you see a 54 and then test in 30 min to see if the LC keeps Cali in the range where you want her. I would also strongly suggest you get an additional test or two when you see a number like a 54. Even with the HC, you have no way of knowing if the numbers kept dropping even with the HC. You may want to review this post on handling low numbers.
 
I have a soft spot for calicos and torties!!

If you are following TR and your goal is remission, let me offer some thoughts. First, what a change from earlier in the year!!

From your SS, it sounds like you think you're giving a drop over 1.0u. However, it doesn't seem consistent. Unless you can draw up your dose and compare the two two different doses and can tell if there's a difference in amount, I wouldn't use that as a measure. You may be better off getting calipers to measure your dose. They will allow for greater consistency especially if you have the need to microdose (e.g., a fat or skinny dose).

I don't think this dose is doing the trick. However, numbers are getting into a range where it may be challenging to increase. I can't tell from. your SS when you are feeding Cali. You may need to be giving several small meals to keep the numbers bumped up. I'd also think about using LC when you see a 54 and then test in 30 min to see if the LC keeps Cali in the range where you want her. I would also strongly suggest you get an additional test or two when you see a number like a 54. Even with the HC, you have no way of knowing if the numbers kept dropping even with the HC. You may want to review this post on handling low numbers.
Thank you so much for your review and helpful thoughts. I am reviewing calipers for dose accuracy now.
I feed Cali 1.25 cans of Friskees pate over a 24 hour period. Depending on her AMPS, 3 Tbsp during preshot & insulin, then additional Tbsp or tsp mini meals @+2, +4, +6. I read, study & hover when what I should insist on are more tests.
I use 9 Lives as my LC, Fr poultry pate as regular diet [4 carbs per chart] and Fr farm pate as HC [20 carbs]. All are watered down.
I will continue to update and relish your support on dosage.
Your pictures of Gabby grabbed my attention when I first joined the group. Calicos are unique and usually live up to their reputation. From the start, my calico would not have survived if she were not a “scrapper”. She was tossed into the back of a pickup in Mexico in 2011. We brought her back to California where she rules. Healthy until 2020 until she started losing weight rapidly [during pandemic].
 
Gabby was a tortie. If you look at the link to her Profile (in my signature), there's a photo of George. He was my calico. (I know -- a male calico!) I now have 2 Norwegian Forest Cats. One is a dilute tortie.
 
Back
Top