Amy and Pedro
Member Since 2009
Wow,
I was looking back at all Pedro's info and realized that a year ago this week was his first BG curve at the vet's.
Just want to give a huge thank you and hugs to all.
OMG what a stressful time that was. I felt like I was walking on glass. As a huge control freak - having a situation where I felt completly out of control and knowing that insulin could help him but also kill him just pushed every button I had.
I was lucky in that I had a vet that encouraged home testing - of course we were sent home with Purina DM as our new diet.
FDMB rescued us. The "you are not alone" and technical support helped me to begin breathing again.
We started on Vetsulin and as that wasn't regulating him I started reseaching Lantus and Levemir. All the information I found here gave me what I needed to make my decision and talk to my vet. We were his first patient to make the change and now it is the insulin (and Lantus) he uses for all his kitties.
When I got my spreadsheet up and running and began to post - I got so much support. As a newbie, I was , shall we say- a bit undisciplined in dosecreases and jumped around a bit. Thanks to the gentle but firm prodding of folks here (probably all saying - geez will this woman please get with the program) - I got on the program and really got the protocol going. I went from being in panic mode if BG hit the low 100s and having the hypo kit in my hand following him from room to room, to being able to say "hmm, Pedro is in the 50's - I'll need to keep an eye on this and have food ready. And, currently, we are so fortunate because Pedro is OTJ. That being said - what really mattered was that his diabetis was regulated and he was back to being his usual self.
Wish there was a Feline Cushing's Message Board - but (fortunetly) too few kitties out there. So, Pedro is feeling a bit better after his hospitalization last week. His BG is coming down and appetite is getting better. Much to the IM vet's dismay - I took him off the 28% carb/low fat diet she put him on for the pancratitis. My regular vet agrees that the fat content of his usual diet is not really that high and it has to be balanced with the carb issue.
I do try to check in and see how everyone is doing. I am also happy to be a resource for anyone that finds they have a Cushing's kitty.
And just an FYI --I'm still with all of you on that 12/12 schedule :lol: His Cushing's meds are just like insulin in timing and any time change adjustments that have to made. I also have to be very diligent about watching for sign's of a negative reaction. The DM has me well trained.
Sending happy kitty , healthy vines to all
I was looking back at all Pedro's info and realized that a year ago this week was his first BG curve at the vet's.
Just want to give a huge thank you and hugs to all.
OMG what a stressful time that was. I felt like I was walking on glass. As a huge control freak - having a situation where I felt completly out of control and knowing that insulin could help him but also kill him just pushed every button I had.
I was lucky in that I had a vet that encouraged home testing - of course we were sent home with Purina DM as our new diet.
FDMB rescued us. The "you are not alone" and technical support helped me to begin breathing again.
We started on Vetsulin and as that wasn't regulating him I started reseaching Lantus and Levemir. All the information I found here gave me what I needed to make my decision and talk to my vet. We were his first patient to make the change and now it is the insulin (and Lantus) he uses for all his kitties.
When I got my spreadsheet up and running and began to post - I got so much support. As a newbie, I was , shall we say- a bit undisciplined in dosecreases and jumped around a bit. Thanks to the gentle but firm prodding of folks here (probably all saying - geez will this woman please get with the program) - I got on the program and really got the protocol going. I went from being in panic mode if BG hit the low 100s and having the hypo kit in my hand following him from room to room, to being able to say "hmm, Pedro is in the 50's - I'll need to keep an eye on this and have food ready. And, currently, we are so fortunate because Pedro is OTJ. That being said - what really mattered was that his diabetis was regulated and he was back to being his usual self.
Wish there was a Feline Cushing's Message Board - but (fortunetly) too few kitties out there. So, Pedro is feeling a bit better after his hospitalization last week. His BG is coming down and appetite is getting better. Much to the IM vet's dismay - I took him off the 28% carb/low fat diet she put him on for the pancratitis. My regular vet agrees that the fat content of his usual diet is not really that high and it has to be balanced with the carb issue.
I do try to check in and see how everyone is doing. I am also happy to be a resource for anyone that finds they have a Cushing's kitty.
And just an FYI --I'm still with all of you on that 12/12 schedule :lol: His Cushing's meds are just like insulin in timing and any time change adjustments that have to made. I also have to be very diligent about watching for sign's of a negative reaction. The DM has me well trained.
Sending happy kitty , healthy vines to all