7/1 Pedro 1 yr Dx annifursary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Pedro

Member Since 2009
Wow,

I was looking back at all Pedro's info and realized that a year ago this week was his first BG curve at the vet's.
Just want to give a huge thank you and hugs to all.

OMG what a stressful time that was. I felt like I was walking on glass. As a huge control freak - having a situation where I felt completly out of control and knowing that insulin could help him but also kill him just pushed every button I had.
I was lucky in that I had a vet that encouraged home testing - of course we were sent home with Purina DM as our new diet.

FDMB rescued us. The "you are not alone" and technical support helped me to begin breathing again.
We started on Vetsulin and as that wasn't regulating him I started reseaching Lantus and Levemir. All the information I found here gave me what I needed to make my decision and talk to my vet. We were his first patient to make the change and now it is the insulin (and Lantus) he uses for all his kitties.

When I got my spreadsheet up and running and began to post - I got so much support. As a newbie, I was , shall we say- a bit undisciplined in dosecreases and jumped around a bit. Thanks to the gentle but firm prodding of folks here (probably all saying - geez will this woman please get with the program) - I got on the program and really got the protocol going. I went from being in panic mode if BG hit the low 100s and having the hypo kit in my hand following him from room to room, to being able to say "hmm, Pedro is in the 50's - I'll need to keep an eye on this and have food ready. And, currently, we are so fortunate because Pedro is OTJ. That being said - what really mattered was that his diabetis was regulated and he was back to being his usual self.

Wish there was a Feline Cushing's Message Board - but (fortunetly) too few kitties out there. So, Pedro is feeling a bit better after his hospitalization last week. His BG is coming down and appetite is getting better. Much to the IM vet's dismay - I took him off the 28% carb/low fat diet she put him on for the pancratitis. My regular vet agrees that the fat content of his usual diet is not really that high and it has to be balanced with the carb issue.

I do try to check in and see how everyone is doing. I am also happy to be a resource for anyone that finds they have a Cushing's kitty.

And just an FYI --I'm still with all of you on that 12/12 schedule :lol: His Cushing's meds are just like insulin in timing and any time change adjustments that have to made. I also have to be very diligent about watching for sign's of a negative reaction. The DM has me well trained.

Sending happy kitty , healthy vines to all
 
Great to hear from you and I hope Pedro is doing well with the Cushings. I think we were all in that same place when our kitties were diagnosed.
 
AMY!! :YMHUG:
party_cat HAPPY 1 YEAR DX ANNIVERSARY PEDRO party_cat
:RAHCAT YOU'VE COME A LONG WAY, BABY!!! :RAHCAT

That was a great report ~~so happy to hear from you guys! Glad to hear that Pedro is doing well! You have been through an awful lot this past year, Amy. You got through it all and did it very well. I have to admit that we selfishly miss you around here, but know that you two are doing well at the Falls! Glad Pedro is doing well on his meds and that you are being such a wonderful advocate for him, as always!

Raja & Shadow join me in sending lots of hugs to you both! (((Amy & Pedro)))
 
Hi Amy and Pedro -

not really "happy" when you get the DX that our kitties are diabetic, but very glad you
found FDMB when you got the news this time last year.

It's a celebration either way - for Pedro - he's come so far and you've been and ARE a wonderful mom! cat_pet_icon

Here's to many years Pedro!! drinking09 flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
 
Amy and Pedro said:
When I got my spreadsheet up and running and began to post - I got so much support. As a newbie, I was , shall we say- a bit undisciplined in dosecreases and jumped around a bit. Thanks to the gentle but firm prodding of folks here (probably all saying - geez will this woman please get with the program) - I got on the program and really got the protocol going. I went from being in panic mode if BG hit the low 100s and having the hypo kit in my hand following him from room to room, to being able to say "hmm, Pedro is in the 50's - I'll need to keep an eye on this and have food ready. And, currently, we are so fortunate because Pedro is OTJ.

First let me say Concats to Pedro for being OTJ. That's just great! I had to laugh as I read this paragraph because everytime I post, I feel like that's what everyone is saying about me. I have to work on the panic thing myself. :lol:
Wishing you and Pedro only good times ahead.
 
Nice to hear from you! I am glad that Pedro is doing great with OTJ - he must really like that condo at the falls. Keep us posted on how the cushings is doing.
 
Thanks for sharing Amy. Glad to hear Pedro is doing so great. And you too. We all have our ups and downs around the MB but the one thing I'm quite certain we all have in common is how we felt the day we got the dx AND when we first came upon FDMB.
And finding that we weren't alone.

Thanks again for sharing..this made me smile and well..Happy Annifursary :mrgreen: party_cat

xoxo,
Caryl, Alex & Jackson
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top