7/08 Max AMPS 293 PMPS 229 +4 229

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
G'mornin,

Max is higher this AM than he's been in awhile... is it possible he's still reacting to his immunizations from Tuesday? Weird, I guess we'll have to wait & see...
Working today, so won't be back until PMPS.

Have a good one,

Holly

Yesterday's Thread

AMPS 293
PMPS 229
+4 ~229
 
Re: 7/08 Max AMPS 293

Hi sending prayers and Angels to watch over Max while you are at work Hope you have a good day LOL Kath
 
Re: 7/08 Max AMPS 293

I dunno about the higher numbers, but I'd probably give it another day or so to see if it settles out. I know when my kids get shots they can react for up to a week after, so I would imagine it to be similar with cats. Perhaps if he's still sitting in this range on the weekend you could try going up a .25U on his dose, but definitely keep a close eye on him to make sure he doesn't go too low on it. I would hazard a guess that if you do have to up the dose, it won't be for long, so I'm really wondering if just giving it some time would help it settle out on its own.

Perhaps if you put something in your subject line about vaxing questions, someone with more experience in the matter could come along and give some input?

Otherwise, tell your Max that my Max says hi, and he's wondering how soon Max #4 will be able to move to the MaxVillage at The Falls (anti-jinx). :-D
 
Re: 7/08 Max AMPS 293 PMPS 229

Tonight I'll do a +4, but Max is going to a kitty hotel for Friday, Saturday & Sunday AM. No updates over the weekend :( I think it's best to stay with 1.25 U since I won't be around to monitor.

HQ
 
Re: 7/08 Max AMPS 293 PMPS 229

Holly:

Are they going to be able to test where you're boarding Max? In many cases, if whoever is caring for a cat is only going to get a pre-shot test, we drop the dose to make sure it's at a safe level since there won't be spot checks. You might want to consider reducing the dose to 0.75 or 1.0u. Having them shoot 1.0u will be easiest since it's on a line on the syringe. If no one will be there over night, you might want to consider asking them to shoot 0.75u.

Are you sure that they will shoot every 12 hours? Many times these places will shoot at their convenience -- like at 8:00 AM when they arrive and at 6:00 PM when they leave. Is there coverage 24 hrs?

Likewise do you want to give the kitty hotel a "no shot" number? If so, might want to give instructions that Max should not get a shot if his BG is below 130.
 
Re: 7/08 Max AMPS 293 PMPS 229

Thanks for the suggestions Sienne! You don't think that the stress of being away from home will elevate BG enough so that there won't be a danger of lows? He's also been a little higher than usual these past few days. If not, I'm happy to follow your advise & get them to shoot 1.0 U.

The facility is 24hr, and they will feed and administer meds according to the cat's regular schedual. They'll be testing, but only pre-shot. I'll give them a no-shot number, & they'll have my cell number too. My BG monitor records up to 20 previous tests, so I'll be able to fill it all into our chart when we get home!

Thanks again,
Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top