6/9 Snuggie: PMPS 399 ((AMPS 434; +4 378

Ok he seemed to have a lot more yellows at 5u when we first started. I know the infection causes BG to rise and so does our current antibiotic, and he will be tested for acro/IAA tomorrow, but ugh. I was hoping as the infection cleared up the BG would go down some, not be masked by the AB.
 
Looks like he might still be clearing the bounce, Jill. Prayers that Snuggie does not have acro or IAA. Hang in there. Looks like Snuggie could use an increase. He has been on the dose long enough for SLGS and you are testing well. I can't give dosing advice but maybe you should ask some folks. Are you ready for an increase if it is suggested?
 
Looks like he might still be clearing the bounce, Jill. Prayers that Snuggie does not have acro or IAA. Hang in there. Looks like Snuggie could use an increase. He has been on the dose long enough for SLGS and you are testing well. I can't give dosing advice but maybe you should ask some folks. Are you ready for an increase if it is suggested?
Thanks for the support!! I am guessing we will need to increase soon too. I will want to wait until Monday tho bc I’m going out of town for the weekend leaving my hubs in charge. So tomorrow I’ll prob be asking some pertinent questions related to various scenarios he may experience.

Thanks for the prayers for no acro or IAA! Paws crossed!
 
Thanks for the support!! I am guessing we will need to increase soon too. I will want to wait until Monday tho bc I’m going out of town for the weekend leaving my hubs in charge. So tomorrow I’ll prob be asking some pertinent questions related to various scenarios he may experience.

Thanks for the prayers for no acro or IAA! Paws crossed!
Sounds like a good plan, Jill. Put a ? in front of your post asking questions if you have a concern before you leave. You will receive answers sooner. We are here for your husband too. I hope you have a nice weekend away!
 
Sounds like a good plan, Jill. Put a ? in front of your post asking questions if you have a concern before you leave. You will receive answers sooner. We are here for your husband too. I hope you have a nice weekend away!
Thank you! I’ll only be an hour away so can respond in an emergency. He used to be a vet tech so I know he can handle it :-)
 
Yeah, all us feline diabetic cat Mom's would love to have someone experienced to help "pet sit" our kitties when we want to go out of town. Sadly, that is very rare.
 
Jill - you haven't seen any blues in 14 days and the lowest nadir on this dose has been mid 200s. You've held 6.5u long enough to see what it can do, and testing more than SLGS would require. I wouldn't wait until Monday, I'd be increasing per SLGS. If your husband is able to continue to monitor I'd suggest you bump him up to 7u tomorrow.
 
I agree with Christie, it's time for an increase. If you increase tomorrow (or tonight), you'll have time to see what this dose can do before you leave town. I'd really like to see Snuggie get out of these high numbers.

Good luck at the vet appointment tomorrow. Out of curiosity, you might want to ask the vet if they've ever seen acro or IAA kitties before. And don't let them talk you out of IAA. Many don't think it's important so "do the client a favour" and drop the test. The extra cost is minimal and if kitty is negative for acro, you'd have to pay the extra cost for blood draw and shipping just for IAA. And yes, we've seen that happen here plenty of times. :mad:
 
Jill - you haven't seen any blues in 14 days and the lowest nadir on this dose has been mid 200s. You've held 6.5u long enough to see what it can do, and testing more than SLGS would require. I wouldn't wait until Monday, I'd be increasing per SLGS. If your husband is able to continue to monitor I'd suggest you bump him up to 7u tomorrow.
Hmm, maybe - but here's why i'm on the fence to wait til Monday:
- he is on Orbax for 14 days now, which i think is leading to higher BGs
- he has a vet appt tomorrow morning and i'm going to ask about a different antibiotic that's just as effective but doesn't have sugar - so if we start him on that, his BGs may come down
- I won't be able to keep an eye on him Friday/Sat/Sun like i do when i'm working - he stays in the office with me. My hubs will not be able to watch him that intently while i'm gone - i'm pretty much going to have him test preshot and mid cycle/before bed so less than I do now. (He may have been a vet tech but it's been a while and i know he's nervous about watching "my baby" already!)

Speaking of SLGS testing, i really would LOVE some clarification there. It's been suggested that in addition to AMPS and PMPS, that i get an "onset" midcycle, and potential nadir towards the end of the cycle, then before bed. I occasionally throw in the PM+10 if he's cooperative, knowing that he drops lower at night. I'd LOVE to test less (and so would Snuggie i'm sure) - what should i be doing???
 
There is no maximum amount to test on SLGS. More data is always better! And it's easier to be strategic with testing when you start seeing better numbers. Until then, it's really hard to pin point the nadirs. High and flat is just high and flat.
 
I agree with Christie, it's time for an increase. If you increase tomorrow (or tonight), you'll have time to see what this dose can do before you leave town. I'd really like to see Snuggie get out of these high numbers.

Good luck at the vet appointment tomorrow. Out of curiosity, you might want to ask the vet if they've ever seen acro or IAA kitties before. And don't let them talk you out of IAA. Many don't think it's important so "do the client a favour" and drop the test. The extra cost is minimal and if kitty is negative for acro, you'd have to pay the extra cost for blood draw and shipping just for IAA. And yes, we've seen that happen here plenty of times. :mad:

Thanks!! Pls see my reply to Christie - there are a few reasons i'm hesitant to increase tomorrow. I'd rather cancel my trip than be away and worried he'll hypo. If he stays on Orbax i'll be more ok with it, but he drops low on his first cycle on a new dose and def goes lower in the PM cycle. but hubs is nervous about drawing from a pen (which i just got the hang of after a month) and needing to be so exact with the u100 syringes. He's nervous about testing, and what if he can't get a good test, etc.

Re: acro/iaa test - i asked for it last time and they were totally agreeable to doing it, they had just asked if we wanted to do it then or wait to see how he did on Lev. I opted to wait but they are fully ok with it - and now I definitely want it.
 
There is no maximum amount to test on SLGS. More data is always better! And it's easier to be strategic with testing when you start seeing better numbers. Until then, it's really hard to pin point the nadirs. High and flat is just high and flat.
But you dont know if you're getting better numbers til you test at different times, right?

and yes i'll insist on both acro and IAA. i'm thinking just go for cushings too while i'm there, but i'm sure i'll be back in 6 wks for more bloodwork for the CKD aspect of all of this.
 
I suppose I could go up to 7 tonight and see how he does today/tomorrow/tomorrow night. I’ll ask hubs what he’s comfy with.

question that will help decide:
If hubs is unable for whatever reason to get a prwshot BG, what is the standard protocol?
 
If hubs is unable for whatever reason to get a prwshot BG, what is the standard protocol?
We don't like to give shots if there is no preshot test. Let's see what the next couple days say about his numbers then figure it out. People who go on holidays have to deal with this, but we can decide closer to departure time.
 
We don't like to give shots if there is no preshot test. Let's see what the next couple days say about his numbers then figure it out. People who go on holidays have to deal with this, but we can decide closer to departure time.
Ok thanks! I’m going to hold at 6.5 tonight and see what the dr says about Orbax vs something else.
Just feeling overwhelmed with this plus the planning for evacuation plus being away gives me anxiety anyway.
 
Back
Top