Jay Dee
Member Since 2021
BOIIINNNGGG!
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...359-3-425-10-451-amps-280-4-336-9-332.248373/
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...359-3-425-10-451-amps-280-4-336-9-332.248373/
Thanks for the support!! I am guessing we will need to increase soon too. I will want to wait until Monday tho bc I’m going out of town for the weekend leaving my hubs in charge. So tomorrow I’ll prob be asking some pertinent questions related to various scenarios he may experience.Looks like he might still be clearing the bounce, Jill. Prayers that Snuggie does not have acro or IAA. Hang in there. Looks like Snuggie could use an increase. He has been on the dose long enough for SLGS and you are testing well. I can't give dosing advice but maybe you should ask some folks. Are you ready for an increase if it is suggested?
Sounds like a good plan, Jill. Put a ? in front of your post asking questions if you have a concern before you leave. You will receive answers sooner. We are here for your husband too. I hope you have a nice weekend away!Thanks for the support!! I am guessing we will need to increase soon too. I will want to wait until Monday tho bc I’m going out of town for the weekend leaving my hubs in charge. So tomorrow I’ll prob be asking some pertinent questions related to various scenarios he may experience.
Thanks for the prayers for no acro or IAA! Paws crossed!
Thank you! I’ll only be an hour away so can respond in an emergency. He used to be a vet tech so I know he can handle itSounds like a good plan, Jill. Put a ? in front of your post asking questions if you have a concern before you leave. You will receive answers sooner. We are here for your husband too. I hope you have a nice weekend away!
That is wonderful that your husband was a vet tech. Doesn't get much better than that unless you were married to a veterinarian. You are fortunate.Thank you! I’ll only be an hour away so can respond in an emergency. He used to be a vet tech so I know he can handle it![]()
Before we moved our friend and across the street neighbor was also a vet tech at a cat-only hospital. We were so lucky to have top notch care when we would travel.That is wonderful that your husband was a vet tech. Doesn't get much better than that unless you were married to a veterinarian. You are fortunate.
It IS rare. Hoping we can find someone local “just in case”!Yeah, all us feline diabetic cat Mom's would love to have someone experienced to help "pet sit" our kitties when we want to go out of town. Sadly, that is very rare.
Hmm, maybe - but here's why i'm on the fence to wait til Monday:Jill - you haven't seen any blues in 14 days and the lowest nadir on this dose has been mid 200s. You've held 6.5u long enough to see what it can do, and testing more than SLGS would require. I wouldn't wait until Monday, I'd be increasing per SLGS. If your husband is able to continue to monitor I'd suggest you bump him up to 7u tomorrow.
I agree with Christie, it's time for an increase. If you increase tomorrow (or tonight), you'll have time to see what this dose can do before you leave town. I'd really like to see Snuggie get out of these high numbers.
Good luck at the vet appointment tomorrow. Out of curiosity, you might want to ask the vet if they've ever seen acro or IAA kitties before. And don't let them talk you out of IAA. Many don't think it's important so "do the client a favour" and drop the test. The extra cost is minimal and if kitty is negative for acro, you'd have to pay the extra cost for blood draw and shipping just for IAA. And yes, we've seen that happen here plenty of times.![]()
But you dont know if you're getting better numbers til you test at different times, right?There is no maximum amount to test on SLGS. More data is always better! And it's easier to be strategic with testing when you start seeing better numbers. Until then, it's really hard to pin point the nadirs. High and flat is just high and flat.
We don't like to give shots if there is no preshot test. Let's see what the next couple days say about his numbers then figure it out. People who go on holidays have to deal with this, but we can decide closer to departure time.If hubs is unable for whatever reason to get a prwshot BG, what is the standard protocol?
Ok thanks! I’m going to hold at 6.5 tonight and see what the dr says about Orbax vs something else.We don't like to give shots if there is no preshot test. Let's see what the next couple days say about his numbers then figure it out. People who go on holidays have to deal with this, but we can decide closer to departure time.