Bruce & Simon
Member Since 2011
Decent amps for Simon. Had his 1u with his breakfast (about 50g Turkey & Giblets)
He's gained almost 1 lb since May 24.
He's gained almost 1 lb since May 24.
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...
Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
Many Lantus and Levemir users in this forum have been successful following a somewhat modified version of this Tight Regulation Protocol for the last few years. These "general" guidelines are based on anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
+7 85 What a good boy!Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:Nice response, pretty number at +6! I would grab a +7 to see if he's heading back up or not.
I've just let him out for a snooze on the deck (and quite possibly some grass eating, followed by minor upchucking of course).Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:Very nice! I would still try to get a +9 if you can. These are great numbers, I hope they continue! :smile:
One thing to be aware of...nadirs move around, so you can't assume he will always nadir around +6.
I do give multiple small meals (1/4-5.5 oz can). On caninsulin, AM I'd usually give him 1/2 can with his shot, 1/4 at peakLaurie and Mr Tinkles said:I would feed him as usual...you do small meals spread out over the day? Just don't feed after +10 (unless he's low, obviously), you want the PMPS to be free from food influence.
Note to Bruce: sorry...they are a women's size 6 anyway :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:marjorie (gracie) has awesome patience pants that she loans out - both pink and yellow - if you need them.
218 @ 7:10 Gave him his 1u. Obviously insulin was almost petered out, and the meal did the rest :?Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:Yes, that's right..if you shoot at 7:15pm, then AMPS is 7:15am. To get back on schedule, you can shoot 15 minutes early on each shot, or 30 minutes early on one shot per day...numbers permitting of course! So if he is high enough in the morning, you could shoot at 6:45am or 7am. I usually move by 15 minutes at a time...it's less impact on the shed.
This is lovely! But it's hard to say if it will continue, or he will go up and show a more typical response after a cycle or two. I vote for continuing this way!
Bruce & Simon said:(Simon has donned his "cranky pants")
Thanks Marjorie!Marjorie and Gracie said:Hi Bruce: nice job!!! If you need any help, just post it in your subject line. Many of us west coasters are up late but I think you're gonna be just fine.
Would love to send the pants but need them myself right now. Miss Gracie has decided to remain Miss Flat Cat 2011. Good for you on the LC!! :lol: :lol: