bambinaki
Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-7-maxi-amps-361.230622/#post-2580831
How soon before I can increase Lantus dose?
How soon before I can increase Lantus dose?
@Wendy&Neko
I've tagged Wendy who is the best at working with higher dose kitties.
The information that Carla posted is half right. Once a kitty is at a larger dose of insulin, you need to increase the dose by more -- usually 0.5u. The rationale. is that if your cat's at a dose of 2.0u, increasing by 0.25u is about 12.5% of the dose. If your cat's Lantus dose is 9.0u and you increase by 0.25u, the increase is about 3% of the dose -- not much bang for your buck.
Did you forget to enter your test results in the spreadsheet for last night? Especially when giving R, it's important to get a second test in the cycle.
Provided you didn't see greens last night, you can increase to 10.u units tonight.
Provided you didn't see greens last night, you can increase to 10.u units tonight.