6/8 Maxi AMPS 376 When to Increase Lantus? (+cute pic)

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-7-maxi-amps-361.230622/#post-2580831

How soon before I can increase Lantus dose?

upload_2020-6-8_11-54-28.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-6-8_11-54-28.png
    upload_2020-6-8_11-54-28.png
    626.6 KB · Views: 94
Here is what the TR Sticky says:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
Love the picture. He's so cute.
 
@Wendy&Neko

I've tagged Wendy who is the best at working with higher dose kitties.

The information that Carla posted is half right. Once a kitty is at a larger dose of insulin, you need to increase the dose by more -- usually 0.5u. The rationale. is that if your cat's at a dose of 2.0u, increasing by 0.25u is about 12.5% of the dose. If your cat's Lantus dose is 9.0u and you increase by 0.25u, the increase is about 3% of the dose -- not much bang for your buck.
 
@Wendy&Neko

I've tagged Wendy who is the best at working with higher dose kitties.

The information that Carla posted is half right. Once a kitty is at a larger dose of insulin, you need to increase the dose by more -- usually 0.5u. The rationale. is that if your cat's at a dose of 2.0u, increasing by 0.25u is about 12.5% of the dose. If your cat's Lantus dose is 9.0u and you increase by 0.25u, the increase is about 3% of the dose -- not much bang for your buck.

Thank you, Sienne and Carla.

Since Maxi's had some irregularities, I was wondering if the next step might also be irregular.
 
Did you forget to enter your test results in the spreadsheet for last night? Especially when giving R, it's important to get a second test in the cycle.

Provided you didn't see greens last night, you can increase to 10.u units tonight.
 
Did you forget to enter your test results in the spreadsheet for last night? Especially when giving R, it's important to get a second test in the cycle.

Provided you didn't see greens last night, you can increase to 10.u units tonight.


Yes, I did forget to enter last night. It's done now.
Thanks, Wendy.
 
Provided you didn't see greens last night, you can increase to 10.u units tonight.

His PMPS was only 151, so I'm nervous about increasing tonight.
And maybe I can get some sleep tonight since I'm not giving him R.
I will increase to 10 units tomorrow morning.
Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top