6/8 Gizmo AMPS=470; +6=402; PMPS=405; Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Very Active Member
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-7-gizmo-amps-424.178941/

Gizmo's AMPS was slightly higher than he has been lately (470), but I was shocked that his +6 was still 402.

What could have caused this ... is this a bounce or more likely a fur shot?

I have not increased his dose yet because his vet hasn't gotten back to me. I'm still a little unsure about switching from his vets advice, but I have a few months where I will be at home to closely monitor him and would like to get him at least regulated.

Do you think he might have already missed his ideal dose since I increased from 2 units to 3 units?
I am just confused now that his numbers are high again today.
 
My money's on a bounce, but since we have very little data, there is no way of proving me right or wrong. I would STRONGLY suggest you get a preshot test before every shot, that includes last night. Otherwise you don't know if it is safe to give insulin. And getting PM tests is also very telling. Many (probably most) cats go lower at night. Getting the odd test in before you go to bed will really help fill in the picture. For now, I would stay with this dose and try to get enough data to see if it's too much, too little, or just the right amount of insulin.

Since you only have whole unit syringes for the moment, you might want to look at using digital calipers to measure in between doses. May of us use these calipers to get consistent doses. Here is a post on using digital calipers. It will allow you to make changes by 0.25 at a time, should you need to do so.

I followed my vets advice for dosing for a while too, until I got impatient and couldn't get in touch with the vet when I needed to. The dosing methods we use here (SLGS or start low go slow and TR tight regulation) have been used by many kitties are are fairly straightforward to follow.
 
Just another thought ... Gizmo was already on vetsulin when I switched him to wet food. I was very nervous about stitching him while on insulin and not home monitoring at that time. The vet wasn't concerned. I'm just wondering if he isn't receiving to high of an insulin dose. How do I know if he is getting to much vs. needs a higher dose? Are there any signs to watch for? He is still drinking more than usual and the litter box is being used slightly more than usual. Other than that, he seems healthy and is very active and playful most of the time.
 
My money's on a bounce, but since we have very little data, there is no way of proving me right or wrong. I would STRONGLY suggest you get a preshot test before every shot, that includes last night. Otherwise you don't know if it is safe to give insulin. And getting PM tests is also very telling. Many (probably most) cats go lower at night. Getting the odd test in before you go to bed will really help fill in the picture. For now, I would stay with this dose and try to get enough data to see if it's too much, too little, or just the right amount of insulin.

Since you only have whole unit syringes for the moment, you might want to look at using digital calipers to measure in between doses. May of us use these calipers to get consistent doses. Here is a post on using digital calipers. It will allow you to make changes by 0.25 at a time, should you need to do so.

I followed my vets advice for dosing for a while too, until I got impatient and couldn't get in touch with the vet when I needed to. The dosing methods we use here (SLGS or start low go slow and TR tight regulation) have been used by many kitties are are fairly straightforward to follow.

Thank you. I am testing tonight before bed to try to get a more accurate picture of what is going on at night.
 
Gether data about how he's doing on his current dose. If it's too much insulin, you will spot low numbers. Or alternatively you might see signs of hypo. Have you printed out the note on how to spot and treat hypos?

I have read it before, but I just printed it out to be safe. How often should I check overnight? Is just a check before bed enough? He has shown signs of urgent meowing over night (mostly earlier when he was at the beginning of his treatment) and the past few days has been hungrier than normal.
 
How long after shot time do you go to bed? If it's at least 2/3 hours later, that's a good time to get an idea what he's doing in the night cycle. If the +2/+3 is a lot lower that the preshot number, then a subequent test is warrented. Post here for advice if that happens.

Urgent mewing could have been a sign of going low (or going high). High numbers usually makes them hungrier. If he wakes you up mewing, that's a good time for a test to see what's happening.
 
How long after shot time do you go to bed? If it's at least 2/3 hours later, that's a good time to get an idea what he's doing in the night cycle. If the +2/+3 is a lot lower that the preshot number, then a subequent test is warrented. Post here for advice if that happens.

Urgent mewing could have been a sign of going low (or going high). High numbers usually makes them hungrier. If he wakes you up mewing, that's a good time for a test to see what's happening.

Bedtime is usually 2-3 hours after shot. So that will work. I will test then and see where he is at. Thanks for all of your help. I will also not ignore his crys in the middle of the night anymore. I feel awful, but I thought he was just pestering for more food or attention.
 
I thought he was just pestering for more food or attention.
That's possible too. :p I always gave a snack before bed to try to tide Neko over a little longer. Some people have been known to drink a large glass of water before bed so they could get a middle of the night test. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top