6/8 - 6/9 and Skipping/Delaying shots

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
6/8 am:
amps - 485 - 1.25 units
+4.75 - 358
+6 - 309

6/8 pm:
pmbg(+13) - 199(191 minute later to double check) - no shot
+18.5 - "HI"

6/9 am:
amps(+21) - "HI" - 1.25 units

I was wondering what would have been the best course of action, since I was unable to give him a pm shot yesterday because I had to leave for work. I didn't know if it was best to give him a shot about 6 hours late, and the next one six hours late to get back on schedule, or just skip altogether and go for 12 hours late. I ended up giving him 1.25 units about 2-3 hours shy of when I would normally give him his am shot.

Also, looks like yesterday's am shot gave him a long cycle, but I can't be sure when his low point was.
 
Your schedule makes this extra hard. Yes, it would have been good to test an hour or so after that 199 and catch him rising and shoot the .5. You could have shot the HI at +18 but that would have completely messed you up, schedule wise, right?
 
Yeah, unfortunately I had to leave for work, and the fiance was not able to give him his shot and he could not guarantee being home to test if I did give the shot, and +18 would have had me giving shots at 12/12 instead of 5/5 like I usually try to. Although, lately I haven't been able to stick to 5/5 because of weird schedules and other life stuff.

How do you guys handle doing things that will keep you away from home during the times you should be giving insulin?

We are at 336 for a +6, which looks pretty good, considering he was at 600+.
 
How do you guys handle doing things that will keep you away from home during the times you should be giving insulin?

1. Skip the shot. You pick things up the next day and this can help you get back on schedule some days
2. Give the shot if it has been at least 10 hours from when you did the last shot. Adjust schedule accordingly.
3. Reduce the dose. Cut it in half. Or to 3/4 the normal amount.
4. Plan ahead. If you know you have a commitment coming up, start to shift you shot schedule several days before.
5. Find someone else to give the shot. If inexperienced or can't test for you, reduce the dose. This is what many people do when they go on vacation.

Look on the bright side. At least PZI is more forgiving of the varying shot times then Lantus or Levimir and their depots. :shock:

That 191 last night was just below your 200 for shooting 0.5U. If you had the opportunity to test 30 minutes earlier and knew the 191 30 minutes later was a rising number, you could have gone ahead and shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top