6/7 PK - lowered dose, lower PS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle

Very Active Member
I lowered dose this AM .1u less ( to about .5u) and still got 65 for PMPS tonight!

I squeezed out a dot more before shooting tonight and I am gonna try to stay awake for a +2.... I KNOW he is headed up, so I am not concerned about hypo, but that he is headed WAY up from that 65 and will feel icky and such.

As per my other post, no Sheila, none of mine have EVER read the memo's!
 
Well, maybe they all need reading glasses!

I am I right that you reduced from .6 to .5 and then reduced again? I'm thinking that if you reduced a bit more tonight to try and ward off a higher bounce, that may back fire and he will lose too much shed. Remember, he is probably reacting NOW to a shot that was 1 or 2 cycles ago.
 
I reduced to .5 for yesterday AM, then with last nights shot I pushed out about half a bubble more and am going to stick with that unless he plummets or something.

Curious- how do you write, " Remember, he is probably reacting NOW to a shot that was 1 or 2 cycles ago." but then change Jeddies doses as if it were a cycle by cycle effect?

Not to be snippy- it is ernest curiosity...I've made several comments to both you and Vicky about how you both shoot as if changes will be effective immediately or shot as though you are reacting to the last cycle's numbers.

Maybe it is ECID, but I have never understood why you two do this. ???

Anyway, it is worth mentiong that last nights's +2 was 259 following the PMPS of 65.

*sigh

THAT is the very reason I am lowering his dose- anything higher and I get vetsulin curves at Levemir prices!
 
Well, I don't really change Jeddie's dose expecting an immediate effect - I am mindful that his BG number is based on the previous few doses and that the change may not register until after the next shot.

I will reduce the dose when I get a low PS and I have to work all day and I don't know how low he was before that low PS (his nadir is somewhere around +8, I think). It's the only thing I can do at that point. If I will be home and able to get spot checks I go ahead and shoot the full dose.

I'd have to check his SS, but I don't think I have made two dose reductions in a row - your doing that was what prompted my "reminder". You have a lot on your mind right now with your gramma, mom and business. No judgement or offense meant.

For me it has been very hard to shake two years of vetsulin expertise especially when my first lev kitty DID respond immediately to dose changes. I think that was because he was on such a micro dose he did not build a shed. Beau's response to this insulin was definately NOT usual (he was the other kitty I was referring to that didn't get the memo).
 
Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
Anyway, it is worth mentiong that last nights's +2 was 259 following the PMPS of 65.

Talk about icky....that s*cks. I was hoping, as I am sure you were, that he was going to have a nice level cycle from that nice preshot. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top