6/7 Harley AMPS 232, +6 291, +10.5 240, PMPS 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Member Since 2009
Ok, I'm trying to get up to speed here. I've printed out everything so I can have it on hand and maybe not ask too many dumb questions.

I'm going home now to test him.

Any extra guidance on how things work here in LL is appreciated.

My introduction to LL
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16585

Thanks,
Robin
 
Re: 6/7 Harley AMPS 232

Looks like you're catching up quick- reading the stickies is the most important first step. Second, though a bit overwhelming, try and read some other condos. That way, you can see how the pros have been recommending handling tricky situations. Good condos to read might have "dose suggestion" or "please help" in the subject, as they'll get the most attention.

Last, it helps a lot to keep updating your header through the day as you get spot checks. Click "edit" on your first post, change the subject line to include the next bg read, then submit again. You can make a new response for your new comments so it gets bumped up the list, but unless you edit that first post's title, we won't immediately see that you've done mid-cycle tests. Which, I gather you already realize is really important.

Last, could you update your info for today? And maybe remind us why the reduction from 1u to .5u last night? We usually do decreases/increases in .25u increments, and then only when a newly (re)diagnosed cat hits below a certain level... And from the spreadsheet, it doesn't look like Harley earned that reduction quite yet.
 
Re: 6/7 Harley AMPS 232, +6 291

Thanks, I work full time so I can only spot check him at lunch time during the week.

I am a recovering Vetsulin user. The dose reduction was an over reaction on my part because I thought that the stress induced return to insulin was going to be temporary and the 212 last night was so close to my no shot vetsulin number of 200.

I thought I read that nadir is usually +6 or +7, why is his number so high at +6?
 
Re: 6/7 Harley AMPS 232, +6 291

Rob & Harley said:
I thought I read that nadir is usually +6 or +7, why is his number so high at +6?

You're right about the nadir... though for some cats it's as early as +4, and some as late at +10. I'm sure some late nadir folks can chime in on that. But in Harley's case, it's probably some sort of bounce from last night's reduced dose. I'm probably repeating what you already know, but Lantus works like a storage shed. When you start shooting, most of the dose goes into storage, and some is available for immediate use. Once the storage shed fills up (after a few cycles), all of what you shoot is available for the body's use. When you gave the BCS dose last night, it was fine short-term because his body had the shed to dip into. This morning when you shot, more went into refilling, and less into BG-reducing. So your #s are probably wonky from that. Some cats clear that "bounce" in one cycle, some in two or three.
 
Re: 6/7 Harley AMPS 232, +6 291 +10.5 240

Thanks, actually I don't already know anything about lantus. I'm trying to learn as fast as I can.
 
I've added my introduction thread from last night. Whoo Hoo, I didn't know I could do that.

I've been reading other condos and that is really helping me understand the terminology and how this all works. I'm getting answers to questions I didn't know I had yet.

Thanks all,
Robin
 
Great job reading condos- it's the best way to firm up your lantus knoweledge.

One more question- I saw in your SS that you're feeding Friskies pate. Great job feeding the wet, though I'm sure you learned that one the first time around with the diagnosis. Do you know the carb content on that one? I couldn't find it on Janet & Binky's food charts (old or new). Here's a link to the page with the Friskies info: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html Is your food on it? We try and keep our kitties under 10%, and for us personally more like 3-5%. You'd be surprised how high some foods, even prescription ones, are.
 
Weather Girl, Thanks for the link.

I guess I thought that all pate flavors were under 10% carbs. He gets poultry platter, mixed grill, turley and giblets, chicken & liver & country style dinner. Althouth he doesn't like the country style dinner very much.

I'll check out the new food chart and make sure his food is ok.
 
Looks like you're all good.

poultry platter- 7%
mixed grill- 8%
turkey and giblets- 7%
chicken & liver- ?
country style- 7%
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top