6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 -, PMPS 469

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Ate over 2 Tbsp for bf. Threw some ground beef around the floor too (I'm looking at it).

Having a hard time convincing her this is a good PS number. "It's not higher than everyone else's!" she says. I tried to convince her that it's like golf, the lower numbers are better, but she's not a big fan of golf. Says it's like watching paint dry - I tried to convince her that it's more fun to play it than watch it. And besides, isn't golf more exciting than looking out the same window for hours at a time?

Anyway...

I'm going to either go btb or watch another episode of Lost that BF recorded for me since I pretty much missed the whole last season... And it's a rainy, rainy, thunder day... good day to laze around and watch TV...



Yesterday
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - Yay!

That's good she came down. Does Kasha eat ground beef? I remember we spoke about trying raw meat? It's still early here, so hope I'm making sense! I wrote something down re raw meat where you can buy it in nougats and just use as much as needed and freeze the rest. I think it was in yesterday's thread.
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - Yay!

Morning Krys,

Glad Kasha is starting to come down. Sounds like a good day to catch up on those episodes.



Here is a picture of my brothers part maine coon. Her name is Tasha.

Have a nice day.

jan and sara
 

Attachments

  • dsc02580 (3).jpg
    dsc02580 (3).jpg
    60.2 KB · Views: 840
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - Yay!

You know, I get extra excited when I see Kasha in a nice PS. :mrgreen: You have been through so much.
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - Yay!

D and Noisy said:
You know, I get extra excited when I see Kasha in a nice PS. :mrgreen: You have been through so much.

You think you get excited??!?!?! We're havin' a little party here this AM! :-D
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - Yay!

jan and sara said:
Here is a picture of my brothers part maine coon. Her name is Tasha.

That is an awesome pic. Awesomely cute, that is!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Ok - she was either 41 or 34 at 4. I got 41 at first but didn't think there was enough blood on the strip, so I retested to check again and got 34. Good enough.

Everyone agree we can do a dose decrease tonight or tomorrow morning (depending on how high she bounces tonight)?

It's been so long since we decreased the dose. Should I decrease a full .25 u? Or just shave off a bit? In the past, she seemed to hold her dose reductions - until that last one to .25 u... which was complicated by a UTI and maybe the beginnings of the kidney infection we're dealing with now.
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Hi Krys, I think the dosing experts will tell you that a 34 is an automatic dose decrease. If there is a big rebound later you might want to shoot your present dose tonight and wait until tomorrow to take the decrease. The "normal" decrease is .25, but the experienced people will be able to evaluate your spreadsheet and tell you how much of a decrease to take.

Congrats and good luck!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Yes I would agree that she is due for a dosecrease tonight. :shock: That is quite a skydive!!!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Called my BF after I fed her when she was 34... laughing because the last time she hit 34, I called him crying and all worried about her and this time I'm all excited because we just earned a dosecrease!!! What a difference a little experience makes!

We hit our all-time low today - 32. But last check, she was 60 so the HC was kicking in!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

keep checking until +6, ok, the HC will wear off at some point and you want to catch it if she starts to drop again.

Yes, Kasha earned a reduction! I would go to 1.25.
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Thanks Libby - 1.25 it is (unless she bounces really high, in which case we'll start the new dose in the morning).

I'm hanging out till +6 to make sure, but she's in the 80s as of +5... I just labeled a bunch of my MC and HC yesterday with the percentages of carbs... Very handy this AM!

It's been soooo long since we had a reduction!!!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

I need to go back and review, but how do you earn a dosecrease? Is it because you got two bg's below 50 in so many weeks?
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Congratulations on the dosecrease!!!!

I read your note in Tray's condo re: shooting location. If Kasha were my cat, i would continue to shoot in the scruff to see if it would s-l-o-w down the descent a little.... just my opinion.

Looking good!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Helene & Tizon said:
I read your note in Tray's condo re: shooting location. If Kasha were my cat, i would continue to shoot in the scruff to see if it would s-l-o-w down the descent a little.... just my opinion.

Well, it's probably one of the easier places to shoot on her, so I'll stay with that for a while. Even though it didn't look like it slowed her down much today!!! She was indeed a cat on a mission - a mission to dosecrease!
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

Ann and Maggie11 said:
I need to go back and review, but how do you earn a dosecrease? Is it because you got two bg's below 50 in so many weeks?

I believe with the modified protocol, anything under 40 earns an automatic dose decrease and anything under 50 for newly diagnosed kitties. I'm not sure about other ways to earn a dosecrease...
 
Re: 6/6 Kasha AMPS 242 - 34 @ +4 - Dose decrease advice, please!

I believe with the modified protocol, anything under 40 earns an automatic dose decrease and anything under 50 for newly diagnosed kitties. I'm not sure about other ways to earn a dosecrease...

Thanks Krys.
 
Ok - since we seem to be bouncing (hmmm... what a surprise), I shot the old dose (1.5u) to get thru the bounce and will start the new one (1.25u) in the morning. She took her ... 24th? Baytril in a pill pocket covered in chicken dust. She wasn't thrilled, but hey - it worked for today.

She also ate more than I expected. I got her to eat around 1 1/2 Tbsp FF and then we got more than another Tbsp down (with chicken dust, of course) - so, all in all, a pretty good dinner for Kasha. Even after all she ate this morning. And she ate a lot this morning!

Ok - I'm going to go for a walk and try to calm down. I am a nervous wreck over Blue's surgery tomorrow. I'm totally having second thoughts. I'm just terrified that I'm making a mistake and that I could be letting someone hurt my little guy. I'm starting to cry again - so... off for my walk...
 
Congrats on the dosecrease! Now, please explain to Kasha that she needs to work on not bouncing quite as much. Red is not her best color!
 
I've told her for years that green is her color (it really is, I had this olive greenish tapestry on her papason chair and she almost blended into it - I would joke about her being my green cat cuz she matched the olive green in it so well sometimes people didn't notice her on it).

Now if I could just get her to listen to me...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top