6/6 Eddie AMPS 94, +3/171, +6/94, +9/127, +10.5/124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Wednesday's Condo

6/5 Recap: AMPS/301, +2.5/289, +6.5/252, +7/270, +10.5/232, PMPS/294, +3.5/215, +5/125, +6/74 :mrgreen:, +6.5/50 :mrgreen:, +7/38 :shock:, +7.3/44 :mrgreen:, +7.6/57 :mrgreen:, +8/59 :mrgreen: , +8.5/62 :mrgreen:, +9/60 :mrgreen:

Today: AMPS/94 :mrgreen:, +2/154, +3/171, +6/94 :mrgreen:, +6.5/116, +9/127, +10.5/124, PMPS/181, +2/298, +4/320, +6/308

Good morning LL! Happy Friday!

I did not manage to get an Eddie condo up yesterday. DH is not a napper, but both of us laid down last night after work to rest *just for a few minutes*, and we both woke up three hours later. :roll: After a bit of a hiatus, Mr. Greenie came back to visit Eddie! DH and I went out to get some fast food last night. He's aware that I've been frustrated with the extended bounce Eddie's been in the last day or two, so he asked if we could increase Eddie's dose back up. I said we had to ride out the bounce, and see what happened after that. I guess Eddie must have read DH's mind, and decided to let us know loud and clear with a 38 that he does not want more insulin. ;-) Had Eddie bounced this AM, we would have shot through the bounce, but he was still hanging in the greens, so we took the reducie right away this morning. So far, it looks like he may be headed into a bounce today but I'm hoping he'll just wobble around in the blues and hopefully clear back down to a good PMPS tonight.

I am a little concerned that we are reducing too quickly here given that Eddie is not staying very flat, but on the other hand, he continues to earn reductions. Just three weeks ago or so, we were at 2.5u and now we're at 1u. I guess all we can do is see what happens.

On another note, I contacted Nature's Variety to see if I could get as fed/typical nutritional analysis numbers for the Pride Line by Instinct, since that's easily found in our local PetsMart. Not only did they claim that they don't have the information available, despite the fact that this info is available for the Instinct line, but their responses were a bit snarky - basically saying that the Guaranteed Analysis info on the cans and websites is the only nutritional data they have, that it is "pretty close to accurate," and that the GA is the same thing as the as fed values. :roll: I indicated that without that info, unfortunately, I couldn't consider adding Pride to our cats' menu. Maybe someone else has had or will have better luck getting that info.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 6/6 Eddie AMPS 94, +3/171, +6/94

Jen

Congrats on the reduction.

I am sorry I can't remember if this has been brought up (I wish I had time to read back through all the condos but I don't). My suggestion would be to really try and flatten him out and keep him from earning those reductions. When he starts dropping like he did last night, increase the carbs. You might not have to increase them much. It depends on Eddie. Instead of feeding him the lower carb foods you were giving him as he was coming down, I would have tried to slow that drop starting at +5 with that 125.

It does take time to learn how to do this and you never know when it might backfire. I've done the same with Gracie and had her go right back up. But if it's just carbs, it will wear off. And I'm not suggesting you use HC and karo. I've been using Trader Joe's chicken/turkey which is 10% and that works like a charm to slow Gracie down. Once I get her stopped, I switch back to a lower carb food or sometimes I use WN Core 12% which doesn't really raise her (because it has no grain) but helps her get up on a surfboard. But ECID and Eddie might respond differently.

So if you are worried about fast reductions (especially since he's bouncing so much), I'd definitely try something different and see if you can keep him above 50.

Naps are never overrated :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/6 Eddie AMPS 94, +3/171, +6/94, +9/127

Go Eddie. :mrgreen: I hope he keeps surfing through the evening and settles into this reducie.
 
Eddie does seem to like to send up the pink flag warning you that he's about to go diving. Congrats on the reduction. Has he ever done one of those during the daytime? :lol: :lol:

Good luck trying to keep Eddie flatter. He's looking pretty good today. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top