? 6/30 Pudge AMPS 181

kitten68

Member Since 2024
6/29/26 Pudgles

we just thank everyone so much for suggesting helping him to eat in the meantime, see how we do.. ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹.. @Staci & Ivy @Karolina & Nestle @squeem3 @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Christie & Maverick @Marje and Gracie @Dyana @Connie & Moonie ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥..

its been ok so far; i got a magic bullet blender and some more syringes.. did get baby food but its the Gerber w cornstarch (they didnt have no Beech Nut… WALMART.. specifically went there for it too ugh).. we’re preferring a 1 mL one atm cause its tinier and goes easier in his mouth.. it takes longer but its also about how much he can take each time.. (i squirt in half at a time… we starting really small..)

and yesterday just had ten thousand things crop up at once 😟😮‍💨…….. learning assisted feeding.. his Darbo shot was up and I had to do it.. he got his shot 🥰.. but lets just say $50-75 of Darbopoetin is sitting in the trash or floor rn…… the syringe!!!!! and i had to dose it like insulin cause its so tiny… i wont be doing it again. turned out that way cause of the vet visit a day early; we were due to get his PCV done next day.. and i wouldve brought it to have them do it…….. 🤡 then trying to gather supplies.. then had gone to vet first to make sure things were ok w the Darbo syringes etc and glad i did cause i got a bunch of stuff and advice.. 💜… whelp.

so w the assisted feeding.. how do we do TR w snacks/frontloading?.. nothing has changed, theyre given like usual, just its by syringe rn? or what can we do?

i know also we should use other food so it doesnt put him off his food we got.. but im afraid of stomach upset, even tho the protein may be right.. and i hear some people just assist feed all the time; thats the norm.. do those cats go off that food in that instance? 🤔 im just not sure what we can do.. hes been taking it ok, and he tried eating for me yesterday out the plate 🥹.. i do try to offer food first; but honestly things so busy im afraid i dont remember or have time to do that each time; but i try to offer he eat himself first.. tried spoon/fingers nothing..

he hasnt gone number 2 in about 4-5 days……. Idk what. a problem. is going 1 tho. 🫤🫤🫤🫤 he definitely dehydrated probably frm the lack of fluid past few days as we adjusted them, see how his coughing did.. (thats pretty much resolved btw…….. gave 1/2 yesterday morning did ok; got some more this morning 🥰😑 idiot doctor.. theres one little cough here and the next day but thats been since the beginning..) will say.. maybe fluids werent totally absorbed and i been checking wrong or he just simply got too much for some time last week as he had lost weight and i asked and was told not to adjust much as it wasnt too off….. ugh. 😰 of course i forgot to ask here.. i been giving the Miralax.. needs more than the 1/4?.. but not even giving ALOH rn.. im puzzled.

we thank everyone again.. ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥 love from us here. im taking to trying to just syringe food in wherever he is if he’ll take it.. depending 🙃..
 
(@Staci & Ivy ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥
HUGS HUGS!!!
we’re doing ok 😭😭❤️‍🔥…... whelp.. ty so so so much for yesterday.. encouraging me and giving me such good advice.. hugs hugs!!!! i need to track down some baby food.. 🫠.. and blend more food.. im trying to get it milkshake but i have to add water or it wont blend.. how u and ivy!!! 💜💜💜)
 
(@Staci & Ivy ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥
HUGS HUGS!!!
we’re doing ok 😭😭❤️‍🔥…... whelp.. ty so so so much for yesterday.. encouraging me and giving me such good advice.. hugs hugs!!!! i need to track down some baby food.. 🫠.. and blend more food.. im trying to get it milkshake but i have to add water or it wont blend.. how u and ivy!!! 💜💜💜)
Hi Yasmin, very glad Pudge is taking the syringe feedings and even eating a bit on his own 💕💖
If you can't get the Beech nut Baby food, I think Gerber is ok, (as long as no onions or garlic!

He sounds a bit dehydrated, so probably part of the reason for some constipation.

Really hoping the darbo shot will help 💕💕💕❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹

Adding water to his food is good anyway, helps his kidneys and helps with dehydration too, to some degree.

Sending lots of good wishes, LOVE, and major vines for good appetite and healing 🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🫂🫂🤗:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Wendy&Neko i was looking at kcals and how much to make in the meantime in the blender.. (i keep offering him food.. not much yet; did try to eat a little yesterday 🥹..) and to maintain say a 12 Lb weight is like 235-280 kcals probably based off activity level.. comes to like a can and half.. so i guess just try to get that in AM/PM? 💜.. i recall it being less but i have to check my notes..

i have been hearing that 120 mL is the goal tho.. but thats around 4 oz.. those kcals above are around 6.25 oz (can and 1/4)?..
 
Last edited:
Neko was around 14.5 lb and needed 220 calories to maintain her weight. Though more like 13.5 when the kidney disease got bad. Cats differ in their metabolism and activity level, so calories they need can vary a bit. The can should say on it how many calories it is.
 
Neko was around 14.5 lb and needed 220 calories to maintain her weight. Though more like 13.5 when the kidney disease got bad. Cats differ in their metabolism and activity level, so calories they need can vary a bit. The can should say on it how many calories it is.
aw.. ok. right the can says 192 kcals ~ 5 oz ☺️
 
Neko was around 14.5 lb and needed 220 calories to maintain her weight. Though more like 13.5 when the kidney disease got bad. Cats differ in their metabolism and activity level, so calories they need can vary a bit. The can should say on it how many calories it is.
howd you keep the bebe from losing weight?.. 🥺❤️‍🩹
 
Back
Top