Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-235-4-210-8-5-247-pmps-312-4-367.265216/
Yeah, it really seems like we're walking a fine line here. I have a few thoughts about it. One is that the antibodies are binding up a lot of the insulin, so seemingly small changes have large effects. (Hypothetical numbers: Say antibodies are binding 4.5 U of insulin, so when we give 5 U the effective dose is 0.5 U, and bumping up to 5.25 (effectively 0.75 U) is a pretty dramatic change.) The other thing is that small fluctuations in the antibodies themselves would have large effects on the effective dose. (Hypothetical: say antibodies increase and now bind 5 U, so a 5 U dose is like giving next to nothing, and even 5.25 isn't doing much.) If that's what's going on, all I can do is follow the numbers like I've been doing. But my other thought is that it's possible he's developing glucose toxicity quickly when I give a BCS or skip, and I have to bring the dose up to overcome that, until he hits limes and I have to do another BCS. Vicious cycle. If that's a factor here, then maybe I should be trying reductions earlier, before he hits the long stretches of really low numbers that force me to drain the depot. What do you think?
Having said all that... he has about two more cycles to get his act together before I increase to 5.5 U.
What a difference between 5 and 5.25,. Hope you can keep him green without limes this time.
Yeah, it really seems like we're walking a fine line here. I have a few thoughts about it. One is that the antibodies are binding up a lot of the insulin, so seemingly small changes have large effects. (Hypothetical numbers: Say antibodies are binding 4.5 U of insulin, so when we give 5 U the effective dose is 0.5 U, and bumping up to 5.25 (effectively 0.75 U) is a pretty dramatic change.) The other thing is that small fluctuations in the antibodies themselves would have large effects on the effective dose. (Hypothetical: say antibodies increase and now bind 5 U, so a 5 U dose is like giving next to nothing, and even 5.25 isn't doing much.) If that's what's going on, all I can do is follow the numbers like I've been doing. But my other thought is that it's possible he's developing glucose toxicity quickly when I give a BCS or skip, and I have to bring the dose up to overcome that, until he hits limes and I have to do another BCS. Vicious cycle. If that's a factor here, then maybe I should be trying reductions earlier, before he hits the long stretches of really low numbers that force me to drain the depot. What do you think?
Having said all that... he has about two more cycles to get his act together before I increase to 5.5 U.