6/30 Morgaine AMPS 200,+3 165,+7 182,PMPS 186

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
Morgaine 6/29

Started out today with a 200. I am wondering if this dose could be increased by .25? I am seeing a trend upward by a bit and an increase in PD. She was having some lower numbers but now that we are doing the 10% carbs I think it is raising her numbers some. Is it too soon to adjust the dose since she started on such a low dose to begin with? Advice please?
 
Re: 6/30 Morgaine AMPS 200, ? about her dose?

When starting on Lantus, you need to hold your initial dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles). You're at day 4 so I'd hold the dose for a bit yet.
 
Re: 6/30 Morgaine AMPS 200, ? about her dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
When starting on Lantus, you need to hold your initial dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles). You're at day 4 so I'd hold the dose for a bit yet.
Thanks! So after 5 days, is it safe to increase because that would be tomorrow for the PM? As I said, the PD is increasing and it does concern me as the numbers trend up a bit. I will do more testing today to see where she goes.
 
Re: 6/30 Morgaine AMPS 200,+3 165,+7 182

I have been getting some more numbers today at different hours. It has been easier poking her ears today and I attribute that to some of the advice given to me yesterday. Thank you all for that. I ordered some neosporin creme and will use that as well when it arrives.

So, I am feeling more confident about doing all of this and Morgaine is fussing less when we have to test. She LOVES the FF appetizers and I give her 1/2 tub as a snack after a test 1x/day. Good stuff and it looks good enough for human consumption.

Unless I see some movement down, I am going to increase by .25 bid beginning tomorrow PM. I have been thinking about all that I have read and been advised on about the protocol and I have also been looking at my personal reality regarding diabetes and the action of insulin. Morgaine, at least for now, isn't very high and has not ever been except for vet stress a couple of times. I do believe that if she remains at the level she is at she will continue to go above her renal threshold. Having looked back at her recent history, she had been reaching that threshold quite a bit before I started the Lantus. So, my thinking is that if I increase the dose to .75 if things stay the same for the next 24 hours, then I might be able to get her down below that threshold and avoid any damage that may cause to her little kidneys etc.

I would like to know if my reasoning seems sound to those of you who have been doing this for a while taking into account the lower starting numbers for Morgaine. My goal, for now, is to stop the symptoms so she can feel better and I can too. :smile:
 
Re: 6/30 Morgaine AMPS 200,+3 165

Hi Rosalie,
It sounds good. Don't forget that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the preshots. The protocol really works, but it does require patience, because in reality the cat is in charge, not the bean!! Morgaine's numbers today look very nice.
Have a good evening. It's very good that Morgaine is beginning to be more comfortable with the testing.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Ella and yes, I do know the protocol is based on the nadir. Insulin at pre shot is not at it's most potent. This is also the same in humans. Unless I see some lower numbers in the next day or so, I will go by the 166 or whatever the lowest is. I tested her at +3 today to let the food spike pass. I will do another at +3 and one at +2 and see where we are. Will also do another +6 or +7. I think I want to get some data after the PSPM and then I will make a decision.

I like the gentle nature of Lantus. Insulins can be harsh and really peak hard and Lantus generally doesn't do that. It has been a wonderful insulin for me when i have needed it for back up or for post steroid episodes. It is interesting to see how it works in cats and I know ECID.
 
Morgaine had a lovely 131 +4 PMPS. I haven't seen a number like that in a while.

Will test +4 after AMPS. to see if that might be a pattern or not.
 
I hope you ordered the Neosporin ointment, not the cream. The ointment is more like Vasoline and will allow the blood to bead.

I would hold Morgaine's dose for 2 more cycles. The initial dose is held for 5 - 7 days. Morgaine's numbers are very good. I'd like to make sure the dose is stable and the shed is full before you increase.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I hope you ordered the Neosporin ointment, not the cream. The ointment is more like Vasoline and will allow the blood to bead.

I would hold Morgaine's dose for 2 more cycles. The initial dose is held for 5 - 7 days. Morgaine's numbers are very good. I'd like to make sure the dose is stable and the shed is full before you increase.

We are actually doing well with the ear pokes now. I ordered the cream based on someone's suggestion of using it overnight as it gets absorbed. If it doesn't work I will try the ointment.

That 131 really was nice so yes, I am going to hold for a couple more cycles and see if there is a pattern with some numbers in the 130's.

Thanks for your advice. Always and much appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top