6/30 Meadow AMPS 243 DOSE???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good number but I think I've screwed it up. Not sure if I was suppose to give 13 units when the number is this low.. but I did. Also, this morning I tested her, gave food, and then completely forgot to shoot. The shot was given at 10:20am, and I need to give her her shot Friday at 7:30am (new job). How do I safely get to this time by Friday? If her BG keeps going down, how much insulin do I shoot?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18545
 
Hi Amber

just to clarify, you DID shoot 13u this morning but late right?
did you get this number when you shot or earlier when u fed?


others will be along to guide you with this, just wanted to make sure about what was done this morning.

It's a pretty number thou!
 
Amber, can you get a +9 today? Working on a couple of different options for moving your shot time, and we need to see where her number is now. Thanks!
 
Libby - I got home at 9.5 hrs. It was 267. And yes, Ronnie, I did shoot 13 units this morning, just late. Thanks. Who new yellow could be so pretty!
 
since you need to move your shot time back almost 3 hours by Friday, what do you think about shooting a reduced dose at +11? And then maybe you can do the same thing in the morning, numbers permitting. Post here at +10 and somebody can help you decide when to shoot.

I was thinking around 10 or 11 units, what do you think? We want to reduce a little so as to not create too much overlap by doing several early shots.
 
11th hr BG was 352 :sad: , so I decided to shoot 11 units. Hope I was supposed to shoot now. Should I get up and check the 6+ tonight, just to see if it's dropping mid-cycle yet?
 
Good job. Libby was suggesting that you shoot a reduced dose at +11 tonight. Can you get a +2 and/or a +3 this evening? Depending on what numbers look like early in the cycle, a +6 may not be a bad idea.

Just in case, do you have HC canned food in the house?
 
No hc canned, but hc dry. Also, maple/karo syrup. So tomorrow morning should I shoot early and a lower dose or what? When I test at 2-3 hrs, what would I see that would tell me to test at +6? Also, at what BG would I give HC food or syrup? What if the BGPS is ever in the low 100's, like close to normal, do I give insulin and how much? I know I may be getting ahead of myself, but I freaked out this morning when I saw 243. I didn't know what to do. I wasn't for sure if I should give the 13 units still. That's probably why I forgot to shoot. That and I think I failed my boards. I find out tomorrow. Thanks for your help.
 
With a "perfect" curve, your +2 should be around the same as your pre-shot number. If the +2 is lower, say around 200, numbers are dropping and I'd suggest getting a +3. If numbers look fairly flat, you may want to get a +5 or +6.

You really need to stock up on HC canned food. Dry takes longer to get numbers to rise and takes forever to clear out of the system. With a cat that has acro, you do not want to feed LC when numbers are dropping. Acro kitties have a working pancreas so if you feed LC, the pancreas will start to put out endogenous insulin and drop numbers even further. Having HC dry isn't bad in this situation but it takes too long for the stuff to kick in.

Karo or other syrups work quickly but cause BG to spike and drop off just as quickly. Could you plan on picking up some HC wet tomorrow? (FF grilled or marinated varieties with gravy and are generally in the 16+% carb range.) From now on, as you're beginning to see better numbers, keep HC wet in the house in quantity.

As for the morning, can you post with a +10.5? (What time would that be in real time and what time zone are you in?) I'm not sure who may be around in the morning but if I have an idea of what time your +10.5 is, I can see if someone will be around.
 
Just wanted to stop by and give you a hug. You sound like you need one. Listen to Libby and Sienne and you'll be fine. One thing I can say though. I think everybody is totally convinced that they've flunked their RN exams. I know when I wrote them many years ago I sure was. I must have stared at the envelope for a bout a 1/2 hour before I opened it. That was almost 35 years ago now and I'm still working as a RN full time. It'll be OK.
 
As for the morning, can you post with a +10.5? (What time would that be in real time and what time zone are you in?) I'm not sure who may be around in the morning but if I have an idea of what time your +10.5 is, I can see if someone will be around.

Hey Amber,

hope you can swing by to give us a time line for the morning - I'll be around, and try to help out if I can.
 
Yes I can get a +10.5 BG in the morning. I am in the central time zone, so that would make it 7:50am. What time should I shoot in the morning & the dose, or are you waiting to see what the +10.5 is? I'll also get some hc canned food tomorrow too. The +3 BG was 322, so I'll get another at +6.
 
Open a new condo when you get in. I'll be watching to help you with this morning's shot.
Want to see BG test before making a suggestion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top