6/3/10 Nay PMPS 110, +2 = 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveling Cats

Member Since 2010
yesterday
We have completed only 2 cycles of a dosecrease and had BG of 50 last night. Does he qualify for another decrease with that? I'm starting this thread at 1 AM my time and will read response in the morning in time for his AM shot.

Thanks
Melissa

ps - I feel like I'm blowing up the board lately, things have been moving so fast! Sorry about my zillion questions... :oops:
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AM Dose Question

Hi,

often with a dosecrease you get carry over on your next cycle or two (effects of previous insulin dose) and thus you wouldn't necessarily decrease again.

From the numbers you have looks like your kitty peaks not long after +4.
Having to make a guess here that you didn't feed either LC or HC when in those 50's?

As you haven't got huge amount of data, I would recommend you get a slightly earlier preshot number and post again on board.
Two things will guide your decision:

How high the pre shot number is
Are you going to be around to test at least in the first half of the cycle.

Because he's surfing low numbers, you do need to be watchful.
You don't want to race down the dosing scale too fast as your wanting to give the pancreas healing time, but at the same time, you don't want to put kitty in harms way either.

If over 100 and your around to test (and prepared to HC if necessary-this isn't an exact science) then stick with .75u
If low or high preshot and you can't be around to monitor, I'd err on the side of caution and reduce dose.If the dosecrease doesn't hold, then you would just increase again.

You've hit that 'busy' stage where testing is going to be invaluable.Keeping kitty under 140 for whole day is really good for pancreas, whilst your skirting numbers that can go too low-thin line, but an exciting one :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AM Dose Question

You are doing great...and so is Nay! Please don't apologize for asking questions...there is a lot to learn and everyone here is willing to share their experiences...no problema!! :mrgreen: Keep on asking! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AM Dose Question

Hello there,

I had a look at Nay's SS and I really liked the 50s surf you had yesterday. I'm not sure if you HCed it though.. good notes to add to your SS.

considering the fact that Nay was Dx. in April of this year, I'm of the opinion that 50 qualified as a dosecrease. Yes, typically, dosecreases too close to each other are not the best, but sometimes kitties race down the hill, kwim?

If it was me and if Nay hasn't sky rocketed (to like pinks), I would shot the reduced dose of 0.5 and try it out. If it isn't enough insulin, you can always go back... data will be your friend.

i hope that helps... and let's see what others have to suggest to you....
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

Wow, an AMPS of 89! This is, by far, the lowest AM preshot we've seen! The numbers we had last night were with lots of LC/MC food. In fact he ate a can of FF and a whole big can of Friskies 7% carb. I'm going to bring the dose down to .50 today and we'll be here to watch him. Thanks for the answers!
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

Look at you guys getting right after it! Ha! :mrgreen:
Did you say you changed Nay's food after dx? I wonder if that is part of the difference.

Keep doing what your doing. Things are looking great in here!
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

With a low pre-shot, please get a +1 and +2. Also, can you see about getting some HC canned food when you make a stop?It will make dealing with low numbers easier.
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

carolynandlatte said:
Did you say you changed Nay's food after dx? I wonder if that is part of the difference.

Yes, food seems to have made all the difference. He was previously Purina dry, then after Dx he changed to Hills MD dry, then with this board we started fancy feast just eight days ago! His numbers have plummeted since we got rid of the junk food.

SienneandGabby said:
Also, can you see about getting some HC canned food when you make a stop?
I have HC FF with gravy. Since Nay doesn't get excited about it, I do want to pick up some other HC foods. But to be honest right now we are dead broke. If he goes hypo I am going to give him Karo on top of anything he'll eat that we have available. We have the dry foods mentioned above, Temptations treats, LC FF, HC FF, or Friskies canned (7-8% carb).
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

Traveling Cats said:
I have HC FF with gravy. Since Nay doesn't get excited about it, I do want to pick up some other HC foods. But to be honest right now we are dead broke. If he goes hypo I am going to give him Karo on top of anything he'll eat that we have available. We have the dry foods mentioned above, Temptations treats, LC FF, HC FF, or Friskies canned (7-8% carb).

You're in Utah right now, right? I'm not sure where the Nat'l Park you're staying at is, but at Walmart the FF is 30c a can right now... Just an FYI to try and make things easier. Also, when you do the Karo, be sure to mix it in with the wet stuff, both to give him an immediate bump as well a a longer surf.

You're doing great.... keep up the good work!
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

:mrgreen: Congrats !! Nice to see nay responding so well to the LC food. Now if we could only convince the vets and the pet food mfgs. to get rid of the carbs. :evil:
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

MJ+Donovan said:
hmmm.... can you make HC "glop" by soaking kibble in water?

Would that work? I mean, he *probably* will eat the HC fancy feast. But when he wasn't too hungry he was just like, "Yeah, I know there's food in the bowl. What of it???" I was hoping to find something HC that he couldn't turn down. He still loves dry food and treats and since he doesn't get them anymore he would be super excited about it. "Dry food??? What, Mommy, I can have dry food that makes that great shakey sound??? I love the shakey sound!!!" bcatrun_gif

BTW +2= 85... +3= 82
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

Word of caution on the dry-even mixed with wet or water. Because dry is so high in carbs, it would take a while to hit his system (when kitty low you need something to take effect almost immediately like Karo) and the effects could last hours and send kitty to the moon.

Karo mixed in with LC will give a response within minutes, but the effcts can wear off pretty quick so you would need to keep monitoring-that is the way to do it, so there's nothing wrong with this.

I'm surprised Nay wouldn't like gravy rich wet food-it's the equivalent of a mars bar to us!

Hope you can find something.
 
Re: 6/3/10 Nay AMPS 89

Does anyone even know the carb content of the juicy/gloppy parts of wet food?
We may know the approximate overall value (say, 18% carbs), but when we squeeze out the glop, what % is that portion? I recall scrambling around looking for something with gravy when Donovan went low, and found a jar of "human" gravy. The carb content was rather low (5% or so, I think). Perhaps "cat" gravy is completely different stuff.

Sorry for the hijack, but it's something I've wondered about. Wish there was a quick and easy way to analyze true carb content.
 
MJ

If by Glop you mean the gravy-this is where the majority of the carbs are. Thus you would say to yourself if just giving the gravy-I'm giving 18% gravy. Meat has negligible carbs. Unfortuntely it's the best you can do (unless you make raw) as they don't treat animal food the same as for humans, where it has to be exact!
 
Re: MJ

What's in the HC non-gravy foods then? Like the "grilled" FF flavors. When I first saw The List, seeing that grilled varieties were HC made me go confused_cat - whaaaa? Grilling the meat makes it high carb? :razz:
 
Re: MJ

MJ+Donovan said:
What's in the HC non-gravy foods then? Like the "grilled" FF flavors. When I first saw The List, seeing that grilled varieties were HC made me go confused_cat - whaaaa? Grilling the meat makes it high carb? :razz:

They grill it in wheat gluten! :roll:

Most things that are hc and mc have wheat gluten in it. Wheat gluten is a grain of sorts. And we all know grains are HC. Actually, I would think most things with any sort of grain in it would be hc/mc (like rice?)

Some cats are allergic to wheat gluten (latte, for one)...causing great GI distress.
 
nay is doing so well! the change in diet sure made a difference!
rather than making glop, if hc should be needed, just spoon some of the hc gravy out of the can and serve it on top of or mixed in whatever food nay likes. :-D
 
There was a mix-up with the dose tonight. I had changed dose to 0.50 this morning and DH thought it was still at 0.75. ohmygod_smile We've fed Fancy Feast Appetizers which has lots of gravy and added about half a teaspoon of Karo with that. I also gave him a handful of Temptations treats (we've got to get some sleep tonight). His behavior is totally normal.
 
that's fine. abort the cycle. nay has nothing to prove. he's earned his dose reduction already. do what you have to do to keep the numbers up.
since it's so early in the cycle, you'll want to get a couple more spot checks to make sure he's on his way up before going to bed.
leave some food out for him to nibble on during the night...
 
Jill & Alex said:
that's fine. abort the cycle. nay has nothing to prove. he's earned his dose reduction already. do what you have to do to keep the numbers up.
since it's so early in the cycle, you'll want to get a couple more spot checks to make sure he's on his way up before going to bed.
leave some food out for him to nibble on during the night...
Thanks so much, I feel better already. His BG has come up to 52 now and we're continuing to test frequently.
 
sounds like a good plan. post if you have any questions. if everyone is asleep, cross post on health and community. there's usually someone around at night...
 
Hey Nay's momma- I'll be up for another hour at least- if you have ?s feel free to ask or PM me. I can be around for a phone call too if you want, I have free long distance :) Again, disclaimer: my experience is with my own FD kitty who's racing downstream but only 2 months or so with the whole diabetes thing as a whole. Sometimes though, shared experience is enough, right?

Sounds like (to me, at least) that Nay's responding VERY well to the food changes, and may be a food-induced diabetic. Who knows why that happens sometimes- genetic predisposition, circumstance, luck... The important thing is that we notice what changes we are making in our kitties lives and respond accordingly. The biggest change in Nay's life was his food, so maybe the insulin won't be needed eventually. All you can do is cross your fingers, hope that's what's going on, and be ready for what happens in between.

Good luck tonight and take care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top