? 6/29 Templeton AMPS 328, +5 62, +6 58, +7 54, +8 89, +9 93 Help w PM I

smorgasbord

Very Active Member
Hi all,

This is my second thread ever and I just made my SS over the weekend, so bear with me!

I've reduced his carbs significantly this week, and I'm shocked at how much of an effect it made today!


Templeton's AMPS was 328. I fed him 120+ minutes prior to AMPS.
He's due for his PM shot at 10:15 PST California USA.
I fear that come PM shot time I may need some guidance since I don't want to wuss out and lower his dose. I now know from my reading here that I need to be more consistent and not change it/skip like a scaredy cat just because he's low.

Here are his readings today after 3 units of Lantus:
+5 62/71/58
+6 58/69
+7 54/67
+8 89
+9 93
+10 109
+11 103


And to pay the cat tax, here is our wonderfully behaved patient:
upload_2021-6-29_19-47-22.jpeg

upload_2021-6-29_19-48-19.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-29_19-47-22.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-29_19-47-22.jpeg
    45.6 KB · Views: 305
  • upload_2021-6-29_19-48-19.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-29_19-48-19.jpeg
    45.7 KB · Views: 300
Last edited:
Hi there Joey and extremely handsome and regal Templeton.

First I am going to tag Bhooma @Bandit's Mom who should be around and able to advise at your shot time (she's in Mumbai so just starting her day when things get interesting here on the west coast). Also @Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia. I'm not comfortable advising but I can tell you a few of the basics!

Good looking numbers today though a major drop from the AMPS - nice job feeding the curve. After those greens, we can probably expect Templeton will bounce and have high numbers. Looks like he's already on the rise. Similar happened on 5/29 and 6/16 except you skipped the shot so hard to tell how much the high numbers were due to bouncing vs missed shot. You definitely don't want to skip tonight's! I will leave Bhooma or someone more experienced to advise on dosing though. Also if you are changing food to LC that influences the dosing guidance.

It doesn't look like you are following either of the dosing methods described here - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). It took me a while to even understand the difference and which I wanted to follow. Read (re-read!) that sticky and if you have any questions, ask here. Looks like you are giving dry food overnight, which restricts you to SLGS. Once you've decided, it would be good if you could to include the dosing method in your signature and on the spreadsheet.

Good luck and hang in there! Sounds like you have all the equipment for monitoring, right - LC/MC/HC + karo syrup and plenty of strips? Though my guess is that won't be needed tonight (anti-jinx).
 
Hi Joey and Templeton…what a handsome boy!
Looks like PMPS will be in a couple of hours…right?
Post the preshot number and we will help you. If it is lower then 150 STALL, DONT FEED AND TEST AGAIN IN 20 minutes

Templeton's AMPS was 328. I fed him 120+ minutes prior to AMPS.
Did you feed him at AMPS?
 
Hi there Joey and extremely handsome and regal Templeton.

First I am going to tag Bhooma @Bandit's Mom who should be around and able to advise at your shot time (she's in Mumbai so just starting her day when things get interesting here on the west coast). Also @Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia. I'm not comfortable advising but I can tell you a few of the basics!

Good looking numbers today though a major drop from the AMPS - nice job feeding the curve. After those greens, we can probably expect Templeton will bounce and have high numbers. Looks like he's already on the rise. Similar happened on 5/29 and 6/16 except you skipped the shot so hard to tell how much the high numbers were due to bouncing vs missed shot. You definitely don't want to skip tonight's! I will leave Bhooma or someone more experienced to advise on dosing though. Also if you are changing food to LC that influences the dosing guidance.

It doesn't look like you are following either of the dosing methods described here - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). It took me a while to even understand the difference and which I wanted to follow. Read (re-read!) that sticky and if you have any questions, ask here. Looks like you are giving dry food overnight, which restricts you to SLGS. Once you've decided, it would be good if you could to include the dosing method in your signature and on the spreadsheet.

Good luck and hang in there! Sounds like you have all the equipment for monitoring, right - LC/MC/HC + karo syrup and plenty of strips? Though my guess is that won't be needed tonight (anti-jinx).

Feeding the curve I learned all here, and I thank everyone for their constant repeating, repeating and repeating it!
Though I did mess up with the FF I bought this afternoon, accidentally gave him HC.
Now every can has the carb % sharpied on the top lol.

Yes, as for the dosing method, I understand I can't do TR until I get him back off the dry/HC crack. TR is my plan once that is accomplished.
I'll mark SLGS for now and act accordingly.

carb % sharpied cans of food CHECK
syrup CHECK
200 strips CHECK!
 
Hi Joey and Templeton…what a handsome boy!
Looks like PMPS will be in a couple of hours…right?
Post the preshot number and we will help you. If it is lower then 150 STALL, DONT FEED AND TEST AGAIN IN 20 minutes


Did you feed him at AMPS?
PM shot if exactly 12 hours, will be in 51 minutes.

Roger that, will stall and not feed. He's gonna yell for food, but I'll blame it on you.
 
Nooo. Sadly I don't. We have calipers though hubby says. However he can't find anything to save his life, so brb.
OK. You can pick up syringes from Walmart. Their RelliOn brand 30 unit (0.33 cc) syinges come with half unit markings. $12.58 for a box of 100.

84ebbd9e955b4348939878c2f671b8ed.jpg


relion-insulin-syringes-png.37311


You can also buy syringes online from www.adwdiabetes.com. They have several brands with half unit markings.
 
Templeton is so handsome. I have a girl that could be his sister. But she’s not nearly as fluffy. And not a purebred.
I told him what you said and he's blushing now. Nice distraction from waiting for food. Post photos of your girl! Does your Max have a white mane I see there? Love black kitties with regal white manes.
 
Just to clarify, he has had only FF Classic or raw food today? No RC wet or dry?

ETA: PM dose of 6/27 was skipped?
Friskies 4%, FF 5%, FF 20%, RC 14%. No raw.
He had RC wet when he was in his 50s this afternoon. (14%)
6/27 was not skipped. 3 units at 12hrs, 13 minutes after AM dose. Missed that, good catch.
 
Are you able to monitor this cycle?
Do you have high carb food available if needed and honey or Karo.?
Because you are doing SLGS and this will be the first time you have shot a low number. I would only give 0.5 units as a token dose..
You will need to get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then go from there with the testing.
The previous dose will influence this cycle at least for the first half of the cycle.
Bhooma has mentioned you will also need to take a reduction moving forward after this shot.
Are you comfortable with this?
 
Are you able to monitor this cycle?
Do you have high carb food available if needed and honey or Karo.?
Because you are doing SLGS and this will be the first time you have shot a low number. I would only give 0.5 units as a token dose..
You will need to get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then go from there with the testing.
The previous dose will influence this cycle at least for the first half of the cycle.
Bhooma has mentioned you will also need to take a reduction moving forward after this shot.
Are you comfortable with this?
I can monitor yes. Am I safe to go to bed an hour after he starts going up? (test up, then test up 2x 30m spacing each time).
I have 14%, 15% and 20% wet, yes. Karo, honey, simple syrup, all in different places.
Keep in mind I just started reading about TR and SLGS over the weekend, but yes I can adhere to SLGS.

What does this mean "You will need to get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then go from there with the testing."?
 
What does this mean "You will need to get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then go from there with the testing."?
It means you get a test an hour and 2 hours after the shot to begin with and then as and when needed depending on the numbers.

He should bounce at some point since he is still new to lower numbers. Once he starts moving up comfortably (and stays up without food propping him up), it's safe to go to bed.
 
It means you get a test an hour and 2 hours after the shot to begin with and then as and when needed depending on the numbers.

He should bounce at some point since he is still new to lower numbers. Once he starts moving up comfortably (and stays up without food propping him up), it's safe to go to bed.
Oh, gotcha, yeah, exactly what I was thinking.
 
You will need to keep monitoring until he is past nadir…lowest point.
You could be in for what we call a pyjama party!
We’ll keep you company so keep us posted with the BGs
 
Are you able to monitor this cycle?
Do you have high carb food available if needed and honey or Karo.?
Because you are doing SLGS and this will be the first time you have shot a low number. I would only give 0.5 units as a token dose..
You will need to get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then go from there with the testing.
The previous dose will influence this cycle at least for the first half of the cycle.
Bhooma has mentioned you will also need to take a reduction moving forward after this shot.
Are you comfortable with this?

I am comfortable, dad is on the fence.
It sure looks like a reduction will be needed.

He's trying to have my hair for dinner, can I feed him now and retest before it hits him?
 
I am comfortable, dad is on the fence.
It sure looks like a reduction will be needed.

He's trying to have my hair for dinner, can I feed him now and retest before it hits him?
If you are comfortable giving the 0.5 units …feed him and give the dose, then test in 1 hour and post the result. We will be watching.

the other option is to skip the dose if you are not comfortable
 
Is waiting until he's higher and shooting then a worse idea because then the schedule will be super late and screwed up?

Dad wants to skip or wait.
 
Dad points out he ate a good deal of carby food when he was in the 50s and still stayed low, also would rather do a risky maneuver when vet is open.
 
Is waiting until he's higher and shooting then a worse idea because then the schedule will be super late and screwed up?

Dad wants to skip or wait.
If you haven’t feed him, you can wait longer to see if he comes up higher. But it will throw out your schedule.
If you would rather skip, that is absolutely fine too….as long as there have not been ketones in the picture.
 
What in the hell. 72, 76. AT 92,95.
He’s probably dropping because he is hungry….feed him a normal meal

Nope, no ketones. I test his pee a ton, that's what the "GL" is on his SS.
I would feed him a lovely meal and skip the shot. You will need to test a bit longer to see he is on the way back up.
If you could put no ketones in the remarks column each time that would be great thanks.
 
Ok, new plan. Stay up when he wakes me up at dawn for food and shot then.
He’s probably dropping because he is hungry

DOH. I starved him for 2.75 hours. He's not used to that. Usually wants food after 1.75.



I would feed him a lovely meal and skip the shot. You will need to test a bit longer to see he is on the way back up.
If you could put no ketones in the remarks column each time that would be great thanks.

Wereva Goldie Lox's 4% for dinner. Clearly I got the new numbers before it hit his system.
 
Is this after food?

Since you are skipping the shot, you can stick to LC tonight unless he dips below 50. If you skip you can shoot at your usual time tomorrow morning.
~12 minutes after food. Roger that! I'll plan to keep testing to make sure he's actually going up. And AM shot will be at normal time for consistency.
 
The dry glco is high carb. Does he really need it?
I know you need an RX to get syringes at the drug stores in California but I don’t know if the on line store will need one.
 
Back
Top