6/28 Lovey Red to .75f PMPS 168+3 73? Dose Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Sending prayers for Rocky, Lucy, Trixie, Sasha, Max and all others who need them.

Hope you are enjoying the weekend. I know that this is the third time I am asking, confused_cat but I am leaving tomorrow morning and Lovey's BG are lower than I expected? Also, I changed the shot time to 8:30 instead of 4:30. I have been sleeping through the night midcycles since it is so much later than I am used to. Two cycles ago I dropped her dose to 1 unit. Her PMPS was 295 and her AMPS was 131. I am not sure if she went lower or it was a clearing cycle.
I gave two drops less than 1 unit today with the lower preshot

AMPS 131
+2.25 106
+5 84 gave extra LC

There will not be testing. Lovey has gone from 1.75 units in mid-May to 1 unit in Late June. I will be gone 6 days. Could you look at the data I have and give me your opinions on a dose? I was hoping 1 unit since it was right on a line, but that may be too much now? Sienne gave me an opinion of .75 awhile back and I was thinking it might be a little low at that time. Sienne, can you look one more time?

Thanks so much again. Sorry for the rambling.

Catherine
 
Re: 6/28 Lovey(AT) PMPS 295 AMPS 131 Vacation Dose without t

Hi Catherine,

I think that to be absolutely safe you should reduce the dose to .75. Lovey may have higher numbers, but higher is better than too low. You don't want to have to constantly worry on your vacation. Just make sure that your cat sitter knows what the hypo symptoms are and that there is Karo on hand to add a drop to Lovey's LC food, if necessary. (A drop of Karo added to LC is often more effective that reaching for the HC. It gives a lift but minimizes spikes.)
Even if Lovey gets off track during your vacation, she will get back on when you return and resume your normal dose.

Have a good time!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/28 Lovey(AT) PMPS 295 AMPS 131 Vacation Dose without t

If this were Gabby, 0.75u would be the absolute max I'd have a sitter shoot. Keep an eye on the numbers today. If Lovey is running lower than you'd be comfortable having a cat sitter deal with since there will be no testing, you can always indicate a 0.5u dose.
 
Re: 6/28 Lovey(AT) PMPS 295 AMPS 131 Vacation Dose without t

Good luck with whatever you decide. I think being cautious is a good thing, even if Lovey goes a little higher. It's better to be safe.
 
Re: 6/28 Lovey(AT) PMPS 295 AMPS 131 Vacation Dose without t

Good luck and I agree that you want to have peace of mind while away. How often will your pet sitter be checking on Lovey I think is something to consider. If just twice a day, you might want the lowest dose, JMHO. Have a great vacation.
 
Re: 6/28 Lovey(AT) AMPS 131 + 5 84 Vacation Dose without tes

Thank you very much Ella, Sienne, and Carla for your help. Your advice was extremely helpful. I will definitely not go above .75 especially with today's numbers.
 
Re: 6/28Lovey(AT) AMPs 131 + 5 84 Vacation Dose without test

My parents will come 3x a day for shot times and once midday to check on her. That is a good point Elise. I want opinions because I want to keep Lovey safe. THanks ELise
 
Re: 6/28Lovey(AT) AMPs 131 + 5 84 Vacation Dose without test

Just other opinion, but something sure seems to be going on with Lovey lately (and that's good!), so I think if it were me (especially with that 84 on the Alpha), I'd probably want to go with the .5 while I was gone.

Her numbers are getting better and that 84 is getting close to where you'd reduce to .75 anyway, so to be safe, I think I'd go with the lower .5

Just another thing to consider
 
Re: 6/28Lovey(AT) AMPs 131 + 5 84 Vacation Dose without test

I think I'd opt for the 0.5u as well.

I hope you are able to have a great vacation and relax. If there is any way we can help your parents, please let us know.
 
6/29 PMPS 168 + 3 73? Vacation Dose??

Thanks Marje and Chris for your thoughts. I reduced to about .75 tonight while I am home to monitor. I just got a 73 at +3. I was surprised. Could it be the depot from the 1?
Do you think the .5 will be Ok? I don't want to leave her.
 
Re: 6/28 PMPS Reduced to .75f PMPS 168 +3 73?

Yes...this is still from the depot since you just shot the s1.00 this morning

Do your parents know how to contact us if they need help?
 
Thanks Chris for responding. I got nervous with leaving. I rembered my niece took an Amtrack bus to Vermont. I wonder if I could go a day late and then I could test Lovey for 2 more cycles? My husband is upset with me, but..
 
If it would make you feel better about leaving, I think it would be a good idea, just to drain a little more out of that depot "under control"...Is there any chance your parents will check on him will try to learn to test while they're cat-sitting?

If you could somehow convince them to test, then it'd be much safer for everyone

Your husband will get over it, trust me on that.
 
Your SS shows a dose of 1U last night. If that's what you did instead of sk1.0, that could also be impacting this cycle. Another option for you is to skip tomorrow morning's shot and have your parents resume with a dose of .5U in the evening. The skip will help drain the depot. And .5U is less than half of what Lovey was getting just a few days ago.
 
Yes, I gave 1 unit last night. I gave a bit less when I had the lower preshots. Lovey usually takes at least a couple of cycles to adjust to a reduction. Lately she is adjusting quickly. Skipping the shot is an idea. Thanks Wendy and Chris for responding so late..
 
It's best to try to be consistent on the dose you give, or that can also lead to wonky numbers. Remember, we dose based on the nadir.

If you skip tomorrow, then you can probably do your regular travel plans instead of delaying a day. I hope you get to enjoy your holiday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top