6/28 China +3 192,+7 156.+9.5 297,PMPS 471,+2 404,+4 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
China's BG this morning is only 88 and I need some advice and support. I've been told I really need to learn to shoot on the lower numbers, but am still a little leery of it. Also found 2 little piles of puke that I'm pretty sure was China and not the other cats

Should I go ahead and give her the increased dose? (we just upped to 1 unit at AMPS yesterday)

Stall and recheck in 30-60 minutes?

I want to do what's best for China, and I've read that shooting the lower numbers may have something to do with eventually getting her OTJ

Yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98639
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

Since you're nervous and since I'd like to make sure that China's numbers aren't dropping, how about re-testing (don't feed) in 30 min?
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

I wanted to reply quickly. Here's more info.

I routinely will shoot a dropping number. However, if you haven't shot low and aren't yet comfortable with steering the curve with food, it's probably something you want to wait before trying. Shooting a dropping number means that you have momentum from the numbers coming down as well as the possible momentum from the injected insulin. It can mean that it becomes a busy cycle. It really does help if you know how your cat responds to insulin, where onset and nadir fall, etc.
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

That was kind of my first thought too Sienne. Her "normal" numbers just usually aren't this low except when they've gone a little too low for comfort..especially based on her "history"

She only got a little piece of chicken for the first test, so haven't fed her yet

I was asking yesterday about figuring out her nadir and the general consensus was it was closer to +9....but China doesn't read the message board

I'll be home today and can test and have HC food in the house

I'll retest in a couple more minutes and see where she's going. Will update asap
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

It may indeed be that China's nadir is around +9. However, what you're seeing is the bounce breaking. There's a really good discussion in Lucian's condo on this topic. Jill has a great post that offers a good explanation.
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

OK...not sure how this happens but after 30 minutes and only a little piece of chicken, I got 135...retested immediately and got 126

What now?
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

FYI:

The number you're shooting is your AMPS -- not the 88. If you're just 30 min. late or thereabout, you can shoot at your regular time tonight.

In the future, remember to update your subject line if you're stalling. If you don't update, there's not a quick way to know that you have additional data. Sometimes I get distracted an will miss that you've posted. Adding the data to your subject line is a way to keep attention focused on your having new info.
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88, HELP!!

Whew....that's exactly what I did Sienne!! Happy to know I'm FINALLY getting a better understanding of all this, as well as more confident in what I'm doing

Breakfast is served, and the kitties are happily smacking their lips


When would you suggest I retest today? (barring anything weird....like a bad hypo)
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 88 HELP!!

I always recommend starting with a +1 and +2 test when you're shooting low. That way if China is going to surprise you, you're not caught off guard.

I think you can take the "Help" out of your subject line and put in the correct AMPS.
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 131. +1 212

well now I wouldn't have expected a 212 at +1, but I'm kind of getting used to seeing numbers that don't make much sense

Will retest in a couple hours
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 131. +1 212

What this might be telling you was that China dropped lower than the 88 overnight. China may be starting a bounce. I'd still get a +2 or a +3 just to make sure you're not seeing a food spike and China doesn't do an about face
 
Re: 6/28 China AMPS 131,+1 212,+3 192,+7 156.+9.5 297,PMPS 4

Another day that makes little sense (to me anyway)...any thoughts?

On the positive side, China's accepting all the poking much better, which keeps her old mom from stressing out over it...YEAH!!

+12 BG 88 stall for 30 min

AMPS 131
+1 BG 212
+3 BG 192
+7 BG 156
+9.5 BG 297

PMPS 471
+2 BG 404
 
Chris

Just looks to me like China got a food spike and then came down, nadired, and headed back up. Looks like a bounce from lower numbers. Numbers don't have to b low for kitty to bounce...just lower than the liver is used to.

Looking good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top