6/27 Lanky AMBG 162, PMPS 481

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

I'm off to study some acro SSs be back soon.
Not definite at all but I am thinking 7u.
Can we get a shed-o-meter installed on Lanky?
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

Bet your tired.
Let's see what the next tests bring.
Presently, thinking we back off and shoot less than 7u for the morning shot (how much? TBD) and then return to 7u tonight.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

Something to consider: vet tech shot 6/26 PM -- had trouble with the meter & could not get a BG but said she shot 8u right at 6PM. I was thinking her 8u could be different than my 8u. We did go over Lantus handling & syringes but that is still a variable.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

Hard to imagine that VT's 8u would be that different than yours, it has a tick line (anything is possible though).
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

Did you see on Gayle & Oliver's SS -- how often they have skipped shots? She certainly has a challenge there but Ollie seems to be coming around. I noticed on FB, Carolyn was seeing a reduction coming.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

I'm thinking about Lanky's bounce durations.
IF he was still in a bounce (yesterday) from the 6/24 green, then I suggested 8u to quickly.
It "feels" like we are dealing with is a combination of balancing the shed, calculating the bounce durations AND insulin needs changing.
The last two trips to green where on the later side of the cycle --is that because the bounce cleared at the same time the shed filled up again?

Since we'll like be repeating the bounce scenario from last night's greens. Let's try letting the dust settle longer this time before moving up.

ETA: just seeing your post -- I'll put this one out there and then write about Ollie's
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

Was Carolyn seeing a reduction coming for Lanky or Oliver?
I agree, Lanky needs a reduction.

ETA: yes, I have been reading Oliver's SS often -- tough stuff.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

Carolyn was commenting on Ollie (& Shadoe).

I'll catch the AMPS here in 10 minutes, then we can decide on AM dose. Regarding bounce duration, I had not thought about that too much. I'll go look at SS. Does the bounce duration change alot in kitties or do they typically have the same over time?
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

Personally, I think everything can change in kitties. What once was, can change overnight. We are always on the lookout for them to change up on us.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

I just remembered something I think I read somewhere, does this sound familiar -- acro kitties tend to nadir later in the cycle?
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

Honestly, I am too tired to think straight. If we skip, I could get some sleep but that is not a very good reason for making a decision. I am going to go with your gut instincts. So the final call is:_____________.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

OK - it is skip.

ETA: I read so much about all of this, I forget sources, but I recall about hypo -- it was Jezabel I think, worried about OTJ low BGs -- and the point was -- if you are not giving insulin they can't go hypo. But for us, we have that dang shed to worry about. With a skip though -- much less worry.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

Maybe, maybe not -- the 77 did warrant HC.
I'm looking at the +10 BG 451, 10 hours later BG 77. Not a comfy ride.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

In looking at Lanky's SS, my impression is that 8.0u is too much. Even after depleting the shed, 8u still brought Lanky into the greens. I don't know what the preferred method here is -- to start at a lower dose (e.g., 6.0u) and work up or start a little higher (e.g., 7.0u) and work down.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

Sienne and Gabby said:
In looking at Lanky's SS, my impression is that 8.0u is too much. Even after depleting the shed, 8u still brought Lanky into the greens. I don't know what the preferred method here is -- to start at a lower dose (e.g., 6.0u) and work up or start a little higher (e.g., 7.0u) and work down.

Shed may not have been depleted. Tricky sheds in acros -- I'm beginning to see they have garages not sheds.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

I'm headed out to visit my father -- hope you got some good rest today.
Presently thinking 7u for tonight but you know the drill -- numbers will need to be looked at.
Grab a couple of tests between now and then.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

(((Susan))) Hope you get some sleep and I hope this evening is easier to read and make a decision. I know that Oliver was having late nadirs before.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

Saw the +9 516. Sorry Lanky, I'm sure that doesn't feel good.
Do you want to go with 7u? You could easily shoot 1/2 hour early if you want.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

Yes, let's go with 7 units, 30 minutes early. And then, I'll catch +2 BG to see how we are doing.
 
How can I possibly be glad to see a 481? I really don't like those blacks -- it made the red look good. :roll:
I think he'll be back in nice numbers soon.
 
I was just over in high dose scouring SSs.
Saw you guys posted. :-D

Bed time for me. See you guys in the morning.
 
Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

D and Noisy said:
I just remembered something I think I read somewhere, does this sound familiar -- acro kitties tend to nadir later in the cycle?

I think it all depends. Boo was a nice even +6, and was pretty consistent about it. Ollie of course is WAY late. I'm not sure about the others...

D, I spent a lot of time looking at the other acro spreadsheets when I was shooting. Bonnie and Porscha's was my favorite, because Boo seemed to react in a similar manner. Have you found another acro-kitty that might mimic Lanky? Another comment...I purposely did shoot at lower numbers when I could watch, because I needed to have the data to safely go to work. When dealing with scary doses and numbers, your meter and ss are you best friends!
 
Thanks Heather. I have been studying other acro SSs and learning more each day.
Today I shall study Porscha and Boo's.

Nice night S+L. 7u for AM sounds good to me -- providing numbers come in to match that thought.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top