? 6/27 Black | PMPS 98

zerovector

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-25-black-amps-465-5-354.265061/

I upped his dose to 1.25u this morning, and it seems to have had an immediate effect - OR, this bounce that hit for some reason finally gave up. However, at +11, 77, I suspect he'll be green for AMPS. This would be the first time I shoot a green. Is this safe to do? I don't sleep through the night so I can catch his +3 and +6, I just want to make sure that it will be safe to shoot by people who can spot the trends better than I can.
 
When did he last eat?

If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 50 with TR. You would not want to wait till +3 to test though. Is the AMPS due in 30 mins? I will be around so will watch for it.

ETA: Do you have enough strips, higher carb food (MC, HC, honey/karo/syrup)?
 
When did he last eat?

If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 50 with TR. You would not want to wait till +3 to test though. Is the AMPS due in 30 mins? I will be around so will watch for it.
PMPS is due in 5 minutes. The reason I wait +3 for testing is for the most part is BG does nothing at all until +3, then really gets a move on one way or another +4 to +6.
 
When did he last eat?

If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 50 with TR. You would not want to wait till +3 to test though. Is the AMPS due in 30 mins? I will be around so will watch for it.

ETA: Do you have enough strips, higher carb food (MC, HC, honey/karo/syrup)?
Also he last ate 15 minutes go, then 45 minutes before that....he eats a lot
 
I guess my issue is, was the increase premature? I don't think the 1.25 dose from today would immediately impact him this way. So I'm wondering if this dose is already too high.
 
Also he last ate 15 minutes go, then 45 minutes before that....he eats a lot
That would mean that the BG at +11 was food influenced? I guess no one has told you that you do not feed 2 hours before the shot. The reason behind that is that you don't want to take a decision on whether to shoot or not based on a preshot number that is influenced by food.

All the food he ate was low carb?

PMPS is 83.
Can you monitor if you shoot? Have enough supplies - test strips and higher carb food?
 
That would mean that the BG at +11 was food influenced? I guess no one has told you that you do not feed 2 hours before the shot. The reason behind that is that you don't want to take a decision on whether to shoot or not based on a preshot number that is influenced by food.

All the food he ate was low carb?


Can you monitor if you shoot? Have enough supplies - test strips and higher carb food?
Yes. It's hard to get him to not eat, generally he does not eat before his AMPS but he grazes throughout the day, and his normal "dinner" time is 5-6 but then he still will beg for food. And yes, it is all low carb. He eats cooked meat mixed with EZcomplete.
 
I guess my issue is, was the increase premature? I don't think the 1.25 dose from today would immediately impact him this way. So I'm wondering if this dose is already too high.
No, the increase was not premature. It was 7 cycles after the last green. If it too much, he will let us know by earning a reduction.
 
No, the increase was not premature. It was 7 cycles after the last green. If it too much, he will let us know by earning a reduction.
I just tested him again and he is at 79, so he dropped, although I know with the accuracy of most testers this can be the same number more or less.
 
I just tested him again and he is at 79, so he dropped, although I know with the accuracy of most testers this can be the same number more or less.
He has been flat with meter variance since +10. If you can monitor, I would suggest you shoot the full dose. Do not feed him a lot with the shot. We want him to be willing to eat through the cycle, if necessary.

Get a +1.
 
He has been flat with meter variance since +10. If you can monitor, I would suggest you shoot the full dose. Do not feed him a lot with the shot. We want him to be willing to eat through the cycle, if necessary.

Get a +1.
He usually has a midnight snack at +3 so lets hope - he is not always hungry and he ate his normal fill today, I had no idea he'd react this way. Looks like I won't be sleeping today.
 
He won't eat anything right now - he is a difficult cat. If he is not hungry there isn't anything you can do to interest him. When he's hungry, he's unstoppable. If I give him the shot now it will be without food until he decides he wants to eat.
 
Just tested, 98 before shot. Gave shot.
Heading up quickly. he might just bounce. Test at +1.

He won't eat anything right now - he is a difficult cat. If he is not hungry there isn't anything you can do to interest him. When he's hungry, he's unstoppable. If I give him the shot now it will be without food until he decides he wants to eat.
I know what you mean. Bandit is like that too. Still, you want to withhold food 2 hours before the shot - even if he screaming to high heaven. Thay way, he might just eat with the shot and later in the cycle.

ETA: Please remove the ? from thread title and update it with the PMPS? Thanks! :-)
 
Heading up quickly. he might just bounce. Test at +1.


I know what you mean. Bandit is like that too. Still, you want to withhold food 2 hours before the shot - even if he screaming to high heaven. Thay way, he might just eat with the shot and later in the cycle.

ETA: Please remove the ? from thread title and update it with the PMPS? Thanks! :)
Bounce should be his middle name, his numbers are always like a yoyo
 
Heading up quickly. he might just bounce. Test at +1.


I know what you mean. Bandit is like that too. Still, you want to withhold food 2 hours before the shot - even if he screaming to high heaven. Thay way, he might just eat with the shot and later in the cycle.

ETA: Please remove the ? from thread title and update it with the PMPS? Thanks! :)


You called it, he bounced pretty hard.
 
Back
Top