dustyboy4
Member Since 2010
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
When I got home from work last evening, Dusty had used the floor to pee 2x and pooped.
Dusty doesn't poop in the floor unless he's feeling really BAD. Looks like the Mirilax cleaned him out. :YMSIGH:
Thank goodness it was formed poo just lots of it. 4 other pees went in his LB's.
His BG was 71. I wouldn't think he would be peeing so much. :?: Does anyone know if Mirilax can affect kidney function?
Because of the lower BG, because Dusty seemed weak (when he walked he seemed off balance), and because Dusty wasn't interested in eating,
I waited 1 hr after his usual time to give the PM insulin and took his BG again. It had gone up to 87.
I made the decision to drop the amount by 1u and only gave 6u. I checked his BG at +2 and it had gone down to 71. Yikes!!
I knew then it was going to be a long night. I encouraged him to eat more but he would only nibble.
I was really in need of my bed but couldn't and didn't go to bed because of the downhill slide. He had me really worried. I weighed him and I swear
by expelling all the poop and all the peeing he did he lost 1/2 lb. That got me really worried.
I decided to try some high carb food, 1 tsp. which he ate that right up. (Funny how they will sometimes eat the good stuff when they don't want the low carb.)
I rechecked his BG at +4 (about 30 min after the high carb intake),it had raised 6 points to 77.
I encouraged him to eat another tsp. of high carb food since his BG had only raised a hair.
I got really anxious and rechecked at +5 and it had gone up to 108. I also periodically syringe fed him water.
I don't want him getting dehydrated again and was worried with all the peeing he did throoughout the day. I felt safe to go to bed at the 108 reading.
He woke me up at +7 and I again checked his BG. It had gone down to 94. I didn't feel that was too low, but showed him his food bowl and encouraged him to eat.
He ate about a tsp. of his low carb food and quit. I checked his LB's and found 2 pees on the floor,
1 puke on the floor (about 2 tsp. with some food particles in it) and 1 poop about 2-1/2ʺ long in one of his LB's. What a night it was.
At his AMPS Dusty was only at 126 and he wasn't interested in eating, I put the shot off 1 hr. until I could get some food in him.
He still wasn't interested in eating. I came up with a plan to put 1 tbsp. of Purina DM and 1 tbsp. of Fancy Feast Chicken Pate'
with 1 tsp. of high carb and 1 tsp. baby food squash together. He ate about 1/2 of this. I suppose what he ate was ok for him.
I rechecked his BG 1 hr. later and it had risen to 154. I decided to go ahead and give his AM insulin but I dropped it to 5u.
I know I didn't give the 6u I gave last evening, but since he went low last evening with the 6u I was scared to give him 6u because I'm not at home to test
throughout the day. I have to work and would rather have him go up in BG than too low while I'm not there to test.
Dusty really doesn't to very well when his BG goes under 100. This happened back last year with the Prozinc.
He went down into the 50's and was too (not sure what to call it) weak, lazy, to get in his LB's and would go all over the floor directly outside of his LB's.
Darn it, he had been being so good about using his LB's since his BG had come down and now it seems too low for him.
Last year when this happened for the first and only time ever, his vets had me skip a dose of insulin
and start him over from 1u. This time, I've not skipped the dose but reduced the dose and I'm hoping and praying I haven't caused a bounce.
I guess we will see when I get home this evening.
Does anyone here have any thoughts or suggestions as to how I could have handled this differently? I would so appreciate any suggestions. I hate to panic and that is exactly what I feel I did.
When I got home from work last evening, Dusty had used the floor to pee 2x and pooped.
Dusty doesn't poop in the floor unless he's feeling really BAD. Looks like the Mirilax cleaned him out. :YMSIGH:
Thank goodness it was formed poo just lots of it. 4 other pees went in his LB's.
His BG was 71. I wouldn't think he would be peeing so much. :?: Does anyone know if Mirilax can affect kidney function?
Because of the lower BG, because Dusty seemed weak (when he walked he seemed off balance), and because Dusty wasn't interested in eating,
I waited 1 hr after his usual time to give the PM insulin and took his BG again. It had gone up to 87.
I made the decision to drop the amount by 1u and only gave 6u. I checked his BG at +2 and it had gone down to 71. Yikes!!
I knew then it was going to be a long night. I encouraged him to eat more but he would only nibble.
I was really in need of my bed but couldn't and didn't go to bed because of the downhill slide. He had me really worried. I weighed him and I swear
by expelling all the poop and all the peeing he did he lost 1/2 lb. That got me really worried.
I decided to try some high carb food, 1 tsp. which he ate that right up. (Funny how they will sometimes eat the good stuff when they don't want the low carb.)
I rechecked his BG at +4 (about 30 min after the high carb intake),it had raised 6 points to 77.
I encouraged him to eat another tsp. of high carb food since his BG had only raised a hair.
I got really anxious and rechecked at +5 and it had gone up to 108. I also periodically syringe fed him water.
I don't want him getting dehydrated again and was worried with all the peeing he did throoughout the day. I felt safe to go to bed at the 108 reading.
He woke me up at +7 and I again checked his BG. It had gone down to 94. I didn't feel that was too low, but showed him his food bowl and encouraged him to eat.
He ate about a tsp. of his low carb food and quit. I checked his LB's and found 2 pees on the floor,
1 puke on the floor (about 2 tsp. with some food particles in it) and 1 poop about 2-1/2ʺ long in one of his LB's. What a night it was.
At his AMPS Dusty was only at 126 and he wasn't interested in eating, I put the shot off 1 hr. until I could get some food in him.
He still wasn't interested in eating. I came up with a plan to put 1 tbsp. of Purina DM and 1 tbsp. of Fancy Feast Chicken Pate'
with 1 tsp. of high carb and 1 tsp. baby food squash together. He ate about 1/2 of this. I suppose what he ate was ok for him.
I rechecked his BG 1 hr. later and it had risen to 154. I decided to go ahead and give his AM insulin but I dropped it to 5u.
I know I didn't give the 6u I gave last evening, but since he went low last evening with the 6u I was scared to give him 6u because I'm not at home to test
throughout the day. I have to work and would rather have him go up in BG than too low while I'm not there to test.
Dusty really doesn't to very well when his BG goes under 100. This happened back last year with the Prozinc.
He went down into the 50's and was too (not sure what to call it) weak, lazy, to get in his LB's and would go all over the floor directly outside of his LB's.
Darn it, he had been being so good about using his LB's since his BG had come down and now it seems too low for him.
Last year when this happened for the first and only time ever, his vets had me skip a dose of insulin
and start him over from 1u. This time, I've not skipped the dose but reduced the dose and I'm hoping and praying I haven't caused a bounce.
I guess we will see when I get home this evening.
Does anyone here have any thoughts or suggestions as to how I could have handled this differently? I would so appreciate any suggestions. I hate to panic and that is exactly what I feel I did.