6/26 Dusty AMPS 154 not doing very well

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
When I got home from work last evening, Dusty had used the floor to pee 2x and pooped.
Dusty doesn't poop in the floor unless he's feeling really BAD. Looks like the Mirilax cleaned him out. :YMSIGH:
Thank goodness it was formed poo just lots of it. 4 other pees went in his LB's.
His BG was 71. I wouldn't think he would be peeing so much. :?: Does anyone know if Mirilax can affect kidney function?

Because of the lower BG, because Dusty seemed weak (when he walked he seemed off balance), and because Dusty wasn't interested in eating,
I waited 1 hr after his usual time to give the PM insulin and took his BG again. It had gone up to 87.
I made the decision to drop the amount by 1u and only gave 6u. I checked his BG at +2 and it had gone down to 71. Yikes!!
I knew then it was going to be a long night. I encouraged him to eat more but he would only nibble.
I was really in need of my bed but couldn't and didn't go to bed because of the downhill slide. He had me really worried. I weighed him and I swear
by expelling all the poop and all the peeing he did he lost 1/2 lb. That got me really worried.

I decided to try some high carb food, 1 tsp. which he ate that right up. (Funny how they will sometimes eat the good stuff when they don't want the low carb.)
I rechecked his BG at +4 (about 30 min after the high carb intake),it had raised 6 points to 77.
I encouraged him to eat another tsp. of high carb food since his BG had only raised a hair.
I got really anxious and rechecked at +5 and it had gone up to 108. I also periodically syringe fed him water.
I don't want him getting dehydrated again and was worried with all the peeing he did throoughout the day. I felt safe to go to bed at the 108 reading.

He woke me up at +7 and I again checked his BG. It had gone down to 94. I didn't feel that was too low, but showed him his food bowl and encouraged him to eat.
He ate about a tsp. of his low carb food and quit. I checked his LB's and found 2 pees on the floor,
1 puke on the floor (about 2 tsp. with some food particles in it) and 1 poop about 2-1/2ʺ long in one of his LB's. What a night it was.

At his AMPS Dusty was only at 126 and he wasn't interested in eating, I put the shot off 1 hr. until I could get some food in him.
He still wasn't interested in eating. I came up with a plan to put 1 tbsp. of Purina DM and 1 tbsp. of Fancy Feast Chicken Pate'
with 1 tsp. of high carb and 1 tsp. baby food squash together. He ate about 1/2 of this. I suppose what he ate was ok for him.
I rechecked his BG 1 hr. later and it had risen to 154. I decided to go ahead and give his AM insulin but I dropped it to 5u.
I know I didn't give the 6u I gave last evening, but since he went low last evening with the 6u I was scared to give him 6u because I'm not at home to test
throughout the day. I have to work and would rather have him go up in BG than too low while I'm not there to test.

Dusty really doesn't to very well when his BG goes under 100. This happened back last year with the Prozinc.
He went down into the 50's and was too (not sure what to call it) weak, lazy, to get in his LB's and would go all over the floor directly outside of his LB's.
Darn it, he had been being so good about using his LB's since his BG had come down and now it seems too low for him.

Last year when this happened for the first and only time ever, his vets had me skip a dose of insulin
and start him over from 1u. This time, I've not skipped the dose but reduced the dose and I'm hoping and praying I haven't caused a bounce.
I guess we will see when I get home this evening.

Does anyone here have any thoughts or suggestions as to how I could have handled this differently? I would so appreciate any suggestions. I hate to panic and that is exactly what I feel I did.
 
Wow busy little Dusty,no advise here :smile: But sending healing vines to you both,hard when the kits not feeling well.
Take a breath hang in there.
Linda
 
It looks like dusty may have found his break through dose. bumping you up for more eyes. The BCS today was probably a good idea if you won't be home. You could also have skipped to drain the shed a little more.
 
On a positive note , after all the stress of last night, I forgot to include that I was able to test him for Keytone, which was negative. :-D
At least that's one thing I can be relieved about.

In my spare time ;-) here at work I've been trying to read condo's and have just learned what "Meatloafing" is. I love the term.
Not so much that Dusty is doing just that though. I hope I can remember to tell Shane - my husband about it when I get home.

Happy thoughts to all those beans and kittys that have had nights like Dusty and I just spent. I have a to tell you all that today, so far, has
been a very tempting day to fall off my waggon. I haven't had a soda since last year and I'm really wishing for the extra caffeine right now.
My favorite being Coca Cola. I switched to only drinking sweet tea and water for my new years resolution.
I know tea contains caffeine, but I always have water with my lunch and I'm so sleepy that I'm getting punchy now.
I keep laughing at some of the kitty condo's and I'm afraid someone will walk by my office and catch me and ask me what's so funny.
If I'm not laughing then I'm tearing up. I may have to quit reading for a while. It's become a spontanious outburst thing.

I left extra food out for Dusty this morning. He has been showing me that he really doesn't want to eat the Purina DM but because I have
so much of it, I've been mixing it with things like the squash, fortiflora, (the past 2 days) FF chicken or turkey pate' just to try to get rid of it.
His bowl has been being licked clean when I arrive home every evening so I know he eats when I'm not there.
Hoping for good results when I get home this evening.
 
Elaine:

I suspect that there are a couple of reasons why Dusty isn't himself. Probably getting all of the poop out of his system has helped tremendously. I don't believe that Miralax is processed through the kidneys. We do suggest adding more water to food when giving a cat Miralax because it pulls water from other parts of the body into the gut. If you had been giving Dusty more water, that may have been the reason for the excess urination. In addition, for some animals, the strain of moving the bowels may also put some pressure on the bladder and cause urination. Given the amount that he pooped, he may have been a tired boy. From what you wrote, it really sounds like his bowel may be working better now that he's cleaned out.

The other reason Dusty may be a bit "off" is that he's not used to being in these kind of BG numbers. Looking at his SS, he's been in exceptionally high numbers for well over a month and I don't recall how long from when he was on Prozinc. For many cats that are used to being in high BG ranges, their bodies begin to get used to being in high numbers. Once the numbers come down, they don't feel "right." It's going to take Dusty a little while to get used to more normal BG ranges. Just give him some time to get his body used to the blues and greens.

I would keep doing what your doing with feeding. If all he'll eat is a bit at a time, that's fine. There are many cats here who graze, rather than eat all at once. If you're nervous about the amount of insulin, it's fine to decrease the dose. We can always increase the dose if you need to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top