6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+8 125, +11 392 Dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52, +5 44,+5.25 64, +5.5 85, +8 125

Marjorie and Gracie said:
This happens when a kitty switches from dry to wet food. The dose may need more adjusting downward even from your new dose tomorrow. As far as the bouncing goes, totally normal :-D :-D When her liver gets used to normal numbers, she'll eventually stop bouncing.

Here's what I would do tomorrow: are you up to post a +11?

Sure. I can do that, but a +11 is 5 a.m. my time, 6 a.m. East Coast Time. Think someone will be around that early?

That would be the best thing to do because the really experienced folks regarding dosing are on the east coast. If you post your +11, they can help you with your situation. If she's bouncing really high, you can probably shoot the new dose without a problem, get a +2 before you leave; if she's coming down again, you can feed her HC before you go. If she's low, they will discuss the options with you.

I do not have any high carb wet food... and she is very particular about what wet she eats.... remember this is only her 2nd day on it. So even if I had something considered High Carb (which I could go buy at Walgreens before I go to sleep tonight), I can't guarantee she will eat it. And tonight, she even turned her nose up at her beloved dry food! Can you believe it?!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

Good +6; can you test in an hour now? We just want to be sure she doesn't come back down. It's good she has eaten. I know you must be tired and have to work tomorrow. Can you set your phone alarm...take a nap...test in one hour?
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

I can totally test at +7.... in the meantime, I'll go to Walgreens and buy some HC wet food. :smile:

Be back shortly.

And once again, thank you... from the bottom of my heart.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

Carla: Sienne should be up and I'll send her a PM to check in with you early.

It's a good idea to have some HC on hand. I label all the food I use to steer Gracie so I know right off the bat what is 18%, 14%, etc. I just use a black magic marker and put the % carbs on the lid or the pkg.

Good...please post your +7 so I can make sure she is ok....so I can sleep :lol: :lol:

I am more than happy to help you....gosh, we got so much hand holding when we were newbies. You will help someone later....we just pay it forward.

I'll be looking for your +7. THanks!!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

Thank you, Marje.... Walgreens was limited in their selection, but I got:

Friskies Turkey Dinner in Gravy

Fancy Feast Tuna Feast in Gravy (Grilled)
Fancy Feast Chicken Feast in Gravy (Grilled)

and

Fancy Feast Delights Chicken and Cheddar in Gravy (Grilled)

Presently Boo is hiding under the bed from me. I don't blame her. Her ears are sore, her beard is sticky and she's exhausted.

I'm trying not to get really discouraged. I just can't help but think I would've killed my cat if I had gone to work tonight. It's not a good feeling at all. And I can't afford to quit my job... either of them.

Life is messy sometimes.
Be back in 10 (if I can catch her).

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

I know the grilled chicken in gravy is 18%. The others might be on J&Bs chart with the %carbs. I'm sorry...I don't use FF....the 18% is too much for Grace.

I believe more cats go low when we aren't there to monitor then we realize....that's why we see some really, really high numbers sometimes. I can't imagine how hard it is to be the only one caring for her; there are two of us and we trade off although I have all four of them all weekend by myself. We have two elder civvies in renal insufficiency and then Gracie. I'm exhausted by Monday but at least I can stay home the weekend and monitor Gracie as much as I need to.

Please don't get discouraged. It may be that the suggestion will be to drop her dose more than the .25u so you don't have to worry so much. Because she is new to wet food, there is no guarantee she would eat it out of an auto feeder while you are gone...and it looks like you have other cats as well.

Hang in there...I PM'd Sienne, Miriam, and Jill. Sienne and Miriam are usually around early so hopefully they'll catch you. If they don't, then you might want to consider skipping if she is below 200 since you cannot be there to monitor. Just a thought.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.25 69,+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96

Well crap. +7 91

She is snubbing food.

???
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

She hasn't changed but it would be good if she would eat a little something..LC would be fine this late in her cycle. She may surf here. FWIW, I (an admitted testaholic), would not feel comfy not getting another test in an hour. Can you nap and get up and test? I can stay up another hour if need be but she should be coming up....unless she is just really breaking a bounce.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

I can test at+8.... but if she isn't coming up and I can't get her to eat, what then?

Just planning ahead in case there's nobody around.

thanks
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

It is not out of the realm of possibility that she'll come back down as the karo wears off. You have three options:
1. canned food...whatever you can get her to eat
2. karo...not something I'd normally recommend this late in the cycle unless she drops really low but I know you need to get to bed. But karo is always going to wear off.
3. dry food...

If it were me, I'd just keep testing until you get rising numbers ....she's either going to come up at the end of her cycle or she'll bounce...hopefully one of those two.

LIke I said...I'll stay up until her +8 if it gives you comfort.....and later if I need to. I don't want you to be alone and scared.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

I just coaxed her into eating some FF Classic Salmon and Oceanfish with a little tuna and treat dust on top. She's tearing into it pretty good.

The thing that is so puzzling to me is, she ate a LOT today/tonight. Tonight she ate at +12, +13, +14, and a few times after that. Not including the low number meals. It seems that would have raised her numbers! She only had very little dry food this morning (maybe a tablespoon).

I'll test at +8. I don't want to keep you up if you need to sleep.

Thank you for your help...
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

Some cats are more carb sensitive than others. Also, if her dose is way too high for her, she could have easily used all the carbs in those foods in that big drop she had.

I am still getting all my cats settled in for the night so go ahead and post your +8. Then we'll decide from there. I work from home on Mondays so it's not horrible if I don't get to bed in 30 minutes. I'll be here for that test and then we'll "talk".

Thanks Carla...I'm glad she's eating!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

gosh, i just saw your day, carla. *whew* you're doing great! marjorie is a super teacher & you're in great, if tired, hands. how ya holding up marjorie? i'm just headed for bed or i'd stay with you. sounds like you're pretty much through it. good job.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+4.5 52,+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91

I"m fine, Julie...thank you so much for asking, my friend. I'm getting used to the late nights and early mornings...Lil G Money had me up every two hours last night. I would suspect Carla is exhausted!!
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91,+8 125

Hi Julie. Marj is my lifesaver.... among several other fine folks here. Not sure how I would have made it through this week without all of you!

Her +8 is 125 and she is eating again.

One last question...........

Do I pull up the food at +10 so her +12 number isn't food influenced, or just leave it down? I don't think she'll be up eating again. When I go to bed, I bet she will pass OUT. She looks exhausted.

THANK YOU ONE MILLION TIMES!
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.25 64,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91,+8 125

Yes I would pull up her food so she doesn't eat between +10 and AMPS.

You did great tonight. If you wake up in a few hours, you might check her. I hope you get some rest.
Hope you aren't too tired tomorrow.

You are welcome ONE MILLION TIMES!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hugs. Sleep tight.
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91,+8 125, +11 392

Wow... and come up she DID.

+11 392

She is tired and pitiful and whiney.

Going to nap for 50 minutes and see if Sienne or any of the East Coasters has chimed in with a morning plan for me.

Thank you in advance. It was a long night and my nerves are a little shot.
~O)
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+7 91,+8 125, +11 392

Just threw up again. Not a huge amount. Not exactly sure how much I'm going to be able to get her to eat if she feels bad.
FYI

Thanks
Carla
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+8 125, +11 392 Dosing advic

Good morning......looks like you had quite a night. Good job Carla and Marjorie. :-D
Congratulations on the dose decrease.

Looks like quite a bounce for Boo. I am sure with all the new food and Karo Boo's stomach is not feeling too well.

It looks like you will have a shootable number and hopefully Boo will want to eat a little something this morning.
How much longer until shot time?
 
Re: 6/26 Boo+5 44,+5.5 85,+6 96,+8 125, +11 392 Dosing advic

Why don't you start a new condo for today with your number and I will meet you there. This thread is getting pretty long and you want to start a new on for today anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top