6/26&27 siujim very strange figures, i don't understand...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
siujim has diabetes since dec and not doing well for the last 6 months.
now also diagnosed pancreatitis and on supplements:
i) sam-e (is 200mg too much for a 2.7kg cat?)
ii) vit e
iii) coq10 (is 100mg too much)
iv) super digestive enzymes
vi) ursosan (35mg)

she was doing good in the first week using the supplements, BG range drops from 320-450 to 210-310. but since a few days ago, things started not going well.
especially the mid day figure on 26th is very different.
i use a new insulin pen on that day though.

25th june
amps 268, pmps 300
26th june
amps 340, +6 173, pmps 390, +3 342
27th june
amps 286, +6 342

pls advise.

do u think i should try another insulin while trying the supplements?
i was thinking to change it but when siujim is diagnosed with pancreatitis, vet suggested to take the supplements and didn't mention on the change of insulin again.

and i am always afraid she has more insulin than she needs (because of the pancreatitis for the resistance of insulin.
she is now on a very high dose 4.5 unit for a 2.7kg cat.
and should we try a lower dose and go up again to get the right dose?

also, she sits in her toliet these two days in the afternoon after urine. may i ask what does this suggest?

pls advise.
 
In the spreadsheet I see days of blood testing alternating with days of only urine tests. You're doing home testing, which is great, but a test before each shot is essential plus more mid-cycle tests would be very helpful for dosing advice. Don't worry about resting her ears - if you lightly pinch the ear after testing there will probably not even be a bruise, and getting more information is much more important. Are you testing for ketones in her urine? At high numbers this is also important. I don't see anything particularly unusual about the 26th - there tends to be a lot of variation from cycle to cycle when a cat is not regulated.

With pancreatitis she may be having pain and may need Pepsid and painkillers. The sitting in the litter box might indicate a urinary infection - has the vet taken and tested a sterile urine sample?
 
The point made in Camille's post is a good one -- a urinary track infection needs to be considered.

Also, are you using syringes to measure your insulin? The pens will not measure in half units, only in whole units.

I would suggest taking a look at more our our spreadsheets. We test a great deal more than you are testing. If you can get more data, it will be easier for you to see what the trends are in your cat's numbers.
 
Presing the ear as Camille said will help after your prick. Also, you can put neosporin on the ears too to help heal them. The BG testing is important and it is great that you are doing that. some vets recommend skipping that altogether but we on the forum believe in our home testing. some people just don't tell their vet that they test nor do they share how frequently they do the ear pricks if the vet balks at hoe testing. You might look at Shadow's SS and see that he is fine with all the testing that I do. We test before each shot twice a day and multiple times during each cycle. We also are sure to get bed time tests too. The urine tests only show what WAS..it is not was it as the moment since the urine has to pass through the system before you can get a reading. it is not the best way to monitor.

I am confused as to what you are feeding. I thought the Wellness Core was a it higher in carbs that the other
Wellness flavors. Are you feeding shrimp and tuna a lot? Is that fresh shrimp a tuna? Have you looked over the jant & Binky food chart for a brand that has low carbs? There might be other canned foods that you could select from that list.
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
 
thx for your info.
for the wounds on the ears, i put vaseline on siujim's ears, is it ok?
and yes, i am more skillful now and she doesn't have much pain when i pin.

for shrimps, they are frozen ones, i steam and blend them. and for tuna, it is almo nature'ss tuna. i put them in water to get rid of the rice. as she really likes tuna, i just put a little on top of the shrimp as a trigger. very little.

for wellness core, it is not in the canned food table.
so i am not sure.
but it is also grain-free. and no sweet potato as in other wellness canned.

i will try venison ZiwiPeak soon. though it is hard for an old cat to try.
i spent many months to change her to 60% chicken and 40% seafood in which only very little tuna...

do u think i should try another brand of insulin?

thxxx.
anson

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Presing the ear as Camille said will help after your prick. Also, you can put neosporin on the ears too to help heal them. The BG testing is important and it is great that you are doing that. some vets recommend skipping that altogether but we on the forum believe in our home testing. some people just don't tell their vet that they test nor do they share how frequently they do the ear pricks if the vet balks at hoe testing. You might look at Shadow's SS and see that he is fine with all the testing that I do. We test before each shot twice a day and multiple times during each cycle. We also are sure to get bed time tests too. The urine tests only show what WAS..it is not was it as the moment since the urine has to pass through the system before you can get a reading. it is not the best way to monitor.

I am confused as to what you are feeding. I thought the Wellness Core was a it higher in carbs that the other
Wellness flavors. Are you feeding shrimp and tuna a lot? Is that fresh shrimp a tuna? Have you looked over the jant & Binky food chart for a brand that has low carbs? There might be other canned foods that you could select from that list.
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
 
I think staying with Lantus is best for now, but you need to get to the right dose for Siujim and also very importantly try to resolve her other health issues since any illness will make the numbers higher. I think right now besides more testing you need to get her back to the vet for a urine test and ask about painkillers for the pancreatitis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top