? 6/26/18/Ravan/amps415//+5 441/pmps 392/+5 59/+6 77/+9 90/

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday was beautiful!
I'm doing a newborn photo session for the next few hours but I'll check in if I can! Looking forward to seeing more blues and greens today!
 
Yes! I hope I see more Bg's like yesterday.

His ears are sore I'm going to wait till around +4 or 5 to test.(1:30 - 2:30 central time)
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko
Why isn't he getting used to the lower Bg by now?
Why is he still going to Black & red #'s?
I'm very concerned that he'll develope kidney trouble from the constant high #'s!
 
Last edited:
All day Ravan was in such a deep sleep I thought he was gone a few times. Very frightening. This is so difficult to deal with when he had such a good day yesterday.

It's also difficult when no one is "answering" my questions.

I appreciate Judy responding but I still have unanswered questions.
Am I supposed to know all this by now?
 
Hi JoyBee, I believe Wendy is on vacation.
No, of course you shouldn't know it all by now. Boomer's been diabetic for 4 years and I don't know everything :rolleyes:
Some kitties like to bounce more than others.
Perhaps there's room for a dose increase but I'm not sure since he has been seeing some greens. Perhaps @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can help?
 
Why isn't he getting used to the lower Bg by now?
Why is he still going to Black & red #'s?
I'm very concerned that he'll develope kidney trouble from the constant high #'s!
Cats take as long as they take to get used to lower numbers. Neko took over a year before she got rid of the reds from her spreadsheet. The other thing you've got going in is some very steep drops. Faster drops also cause bounces, and I found those fast drop type bounces were often worse. I would look at trying to manipulate the early part of the curve to try to prevent those steep drops. If you see a higher number at preshot, and you think he might be thinking of breaking a bounce, I would try to regularly get a +2 test. And if it's lower than the preshot, give him some carbs to slow him down. This post is on using food to manipulate the curve.
 
Last edited:
Thank you both for responding.
It's 2:30 am & I'm shocked at Ravan's BG 59! I've been studying his SS & thought he might drop to a high blue # that's why I waited till 2:30 to test.
Never imagined he'd go all the way down to green!
He was very hungry so I let him eat 1/2 can of food, about 3oz

I'll check bg again at 3:30.

I just read Wendy's reply. I wish I had stayed up last night to get a +2 . Now he'll probably have a huge bounce from that low #.
 
Thank you Wendy for that post,How to use food to manipulate the curve. I'm copying it & will read it later today. Just the little I read made me feel better that other people have had the same problems with high Bg & big bounces.

Ravan has always had several meals thru out the day.The one thing I read that bothers me is it said to not feed after the nadir. That would be about 6 hrs without food. He's never gone that long without food.

3:30 BG 77 I'll be checking again a bit later.
 
Thank you Wendy for that post,How to use food to manipulate the curve. I'm copying it & will read it later today. Just the little I read made me feel better that other people have had the same problems with high Bg & big bounces.

Ravan has always had several meals thru out the day.The one thing I read that bothers me is it said to not feed after the nadir. That would be about 6 hrs without food. He's never gone that long without food.

3:30 BG 77 I'll be checking again a bit later.
I couldn't live with my cat if I didn't feed him after +6! Since he has small meals every 3 hours he gets a meal at +6 and then a small snack at +9....just a wee bit of fancy feast but I add 3 or 4 chicken pieces to it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top