6/25Max AMPS69 PMPS109+1=125+2=63+2.7=55+3.5=51+4.25=63+5=77

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Max was at 325 last night at PMPS. He dropped to 157 at +5.5 so I went to bed. Well this morning he is 69 at AMPS. I have no idea what happened between +5.5 and now. Should I shoot his normal dose? We have had two under 50 and I am holding until three under 50.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120751

YESTERDAY
AMPS 94
+1=107
+2=112
+3=119
+4=130
+6=142
PMPS 325
+2.2=295
+5.5=153
 
Re: 6/25 Max Should I Shoot?AMPS 69

Did you retest to make sure it wasn't a wonky strip?

You did shoot that 94 yesterday....that's not TOO far off from today's 69, and he surfed it beautifully. If you have strips and HC on hand, and can test (and I know you are always very well prepared), I'd strongly consider going for it. And, of course, get a +1 to start!

As you know, your other options are to stall without feeding to see if Max is on the rise (remembering that your next shot time will be 12 hours from when you actually shoot); shooting a reduced dose; and completely skipping.

But, of course, you have to do what you are comfortable with....
 
Re: 6/25 Max Should I Shoot?AMPS 69

Wow Max! Look at you go! Thankfully Mom got a little sleep last night because it Looks like you are going to keep her busy today. We'll be checking back with you two in a bit :smile:
 
Re: 6/25 Max Should I Shoot?AMPS 69

I tested twice on two meters. I tested again 20 minutes later and he was 70 so it looks like he is not going down. I just fed him and I'll shoot. I was shocked at that number after bouncing last night. I guess I should have stayed up later last night as there was a pretty big drop between 2.5 and 5.5. The fact that he has dropped twice under 50 and not knowing is what worried me. I gave him mc food right off the bat and I'll shoot in a few minutes. We are only off by 15 minutes from his shot time. Thank you Amy.
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 after 153 at PM+5.5+1=110

nice. i'd go with shooting basically everything over 50, elise. you can handle it.

that was the best bounce i've ever seen. :lol: i'm going to bookmark it as an example of the liver giving up reacting after getting used to green numbers. one last big old "i'm going to huff and puff and BLOW your house down!" before it gave up. awesome. :-D
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 after 153 at PM+5.5+1=110

Hi Julie. It scared me I guess because I went to sleep and woke up with a lower green. I didn't know if he went too low after that 153. I was so exhausted last night that I didn't realize the big drop at +5.5 or I would have set an alarm or stayed up until at least +6-7. If it hadn't been for that the 69 I got 15 minutes before shot time would have gotten me excited instead of panicked. In my mind it was a bounce night, LOL. I double tested all 4 times using both meters. At least I now know fir certain that the meters test the same. It's good to know what happened is unusual. OH, I double tested that 325 last night too so that bounce was legit.
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50

Here we go!! I shouldn't have waited an hour but I thought he would surf. I just gave him hc+karo.
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50

Now that was a bounce clear that is worthy of the record books. :-D Hopefully like Julie said, that's Mr. Liver's last hurrah before giving up on protesting. Looks like he's going to keep you busy today, Elise. He probably has some extra momentum from clearing that bounce. Are you going to try to keep him above 50 to avoid a reduction?
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50

Yep! That fella is going to keep you busy today :mrgreen: It is scary to get a low AMPS and not know what happened during the night. I had a couple times where either I didn't hear the alarm because I was so tired or it just didn't go off. Glad to see he busted thru that bounce. Now come up and surf for Momma Max :)
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50

Hi Julie and Jen. Yep, we are active. I am going to try and keep him up to avoid a reduction provided it isn't extremely difficult or I fail. I'm scared of a reduction since we are on a roll yet excited to see if he will finally succeed and get down to a smaller dose. This is all uncharted territory for us. I haven't even gotten dressed yet.
 
Re: 6/25 Max AMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50+4.5=52+5=58+5.5=

I think we weathered the storm. We are up to 77 so no more food and let's see what happens.

Update: I might have overdone it with the hc+karo but we succeeded in avoiding a reduction. At what point to I stop trying so hard to avoid them?
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50/52+5=58/77+6.25=95

i think the next time. we don't want to overdo this - if he needs a reduction, he needs a reduction. however, in doing this just for the past week or so, look at what's happened with his highs. let's see what happens but yes, i think he's probably going to need a reduction the next time.
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50/52+5=58/77+6.25=95

elise, when did you start trying to hold his nadirs up and avoid a dose reduction? i can't tell from the spreadsheet - do you recall how long it's been?
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69 +1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50/52+5=58/77+6.25=95

Hi, Julie. I think I started working on this around the 19th. It hasn't been super difficult but I have resorted to hc and karo. Some of the time I've been able to use mc and avoid the higher ones. Today he dropped too soon so I went right for the big guns.

Last night I probably should have tested again after the 153 because it was such a big drop but I didn't think there would be another one. When I saw the 69 this morning I wondered how low he got last night. I'm in new territory here. So should I continue like this or not? If not, what do you suggest?
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69+1=110+2=106+3=72+4=50/52+5=58/77+6.25=95+

i think you've achieved the goal. you were trying to continue giving enough insulin to bring down those highs and help him get used to green numbers. i think that's happened. WOOT!

We don't want to place you in the position of him being overdosed, so i think you could reduce the dose a little tomorrow morning, and then hold it there and let's see how he does. Use the caliper to measure and i'd try going down by the equivalent of half of a quarter unit. If he doesn't hold the reduction, then we'll go back up right away.
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69=72+4=50/52+5=58/77+6.25=95+9=90PMPS 109

Okay. Fingers and paws crossed for an uneventful night and a successful reduction tomorrow morning. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69+4=50/52+5=58/77+6=95+9=90PMPS109+1=125+2=

He dropped already so I fed him mc with gravy from sliced ff which is hc. Time to surf now, Max.
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69+4=50/52+5=58/77+6=95+9=90PMPS109+1=125+2=

Excellent night for surfing Max. Time to hop on that surfboard. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It does look like he's strongly hinting about that reduction.
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS 69+4=50/52+5=58/77+6=95+9=90PMPS109+1=125+2=

He was at 55 at +2.75 so I gave him ff sliced with karo. I think he is likely to drop further but hope he will decide to surf instead.
 
Re: 6/25MaxAMPS69+4=50/52PMPS109+1=125+ 2=63+2.7=55+3.5=51

More mc = karo. Thank you Max for eating. I think he definitely is asking for a little less insulin at this point.

Update: It's almost +6 and he is at 84.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top