6/25 Pudge AMPS 164.. I’m not sure how much more to try..

kitten68

Member Since 2024
6/25/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

💔 :coffee:..

We still here.. baby eating still and drinking.. but he’s becoming skin and bone more and more.. idk what to do. Is it worthwhile to see if the Darbopoetin helps?.. He’s gotten so skinny the past few days.. 🥺 His spine and hip bones are obvious..

We can try antibiotics but idk who will give me some.

When should some relief be coming by from the Darbopoetin, if anyone might know?.. He got the shot Monday.. iron shot the next day.. Would we see something, if it was working, by Monday when the next one is due?.. :( Or it’s going to be a long time frm now?

Cause if im honest.. Im trying to gauge if waiting is worth it. The past day he really hasnt felt too well.. And he keeps losing weight; his appetite is there but so so.. Idk how much he even weighs now. I’m wondering how to adjust his doses/meds if he just keeps losing weight seemingly every single day..

Do we hold out?.. I have to be out today so i gave 1/2 dose.. wanted to skip but cant cause he’ll skyrocket possibly.. and seeing how it looks cause i know of the depot etc.. im seeing how it is without inflated numbers for future.. what future there is rn anyway.. we’ve done every possible thing at this point. And then part of me is like.. we invested and came across just what we needed.. we wait to see..

Im starting to feel bad posts are so up and down.. and not w better news lately..

I’m not sure. 💔❤️‍🩹..

@Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko ❤️‍🩹
 
6/25/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

💔 :coffee:..

We still here.. baby eating still and drinking.. but he’s becoming skin and bone more and more.. idk what to do. Is it worthwhile to see if the Darbopoetin helps?.. He’s gotten so skinny the past few days.. 🥺 His spine and hip bones are obvious..

We can try antibiotics but idk who will give me some.

When should some relief be coming by from the Darbopoetin, if anyone might know?.. He got the shot Monday.. iron shot the next day.. Would we see something, if it was working, by Monday when the next one is due?.. :( Or it’s going to be a long time frm now?

Cause if im honest.. Im trying to gauge if waiting is worth it. The past day he really hasnt felt too well.. And he keeps losing weight; his appetite is there but so so.. Idk how much he even weighs now. I’m wondering how to adjust his doses/meds if he just keeps losing weight seemingly every single day..

Do we hold out?.. I have to be out today so i gave 1/2 dose.. wanted to skip but cant cause he’ll skyrocket possibly.. and seeing how it looks cause i know of the depot etc.. im seeing how it is without inflated numbers for future.. what future there is rn anyway.. we’ve done every possible thing at this point. And then part of me is like.. we invested and came across just what we needed.. we wait to see..

Im starting to feel bad posts are so up and down.. and not w better news lately..

I’m not sure. 💔❤️‍🩹..

@Suzanne & Darcy @Wendy&Neko ❤️‍🩹
Oh (((Yasmin))) it just breaks my heart to see you struggle 🫂 🫂 🫂 🫂
I wish I had answers on all of the excellent questions you are asking but I have no real experience to guide you.

All I can say is you are doing everything and then some to give Pudge all the chances to continue and improve ❤️‍🩹:bighug:
I hope you get some answers from someone who may have actual knowledge about these things you are asking to help guide you at this difficult time.

As Tim said, don't worry about what you do post here, we are all here because we care so much.
I am thinking of you and Pudge and sending positive thoughts and prayers to you both 🫂🫂🙏🙏🙏🙏🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍃🍃🍃🍃:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just want to repeat what Tim and Staci said - we are all here for you and Pudge. Even if some of us (like me) don't have the experience to help, we're all here to listen and support you and Pudge. At least speaking for myself, I'd be more worried if you didn't post. I find myself looking for your daily updates because I'm thinking about you guys and hoping Pudge is doing well.

Sending you both lots and lots of love - I'll be thinking about you two lots today, and I hope someone more knowledgeable than me can help answer some of your questions!
 
I'm so sorry, Yasmin 🫂 You're doing absolutely everything you can for Pudge and dealing with so many difficult decisions. Agree with everyone above - we're here for you, we want to know what's happening with Pudge and we care about both of you. Good news or bad news, we want to share in it all and support however we can. Please don't feel discouraged from posting. Sometimes even getting it out can be helpful.

Sending all our thoughts and hopes your way 💕
 
Yasmin, I understand what you’re going through right now. It’s hard to know what is right. So he is still eating and drinking you say? That is good. Even though you say he is losing weight. I would say to take each day one day at a time. Love on him and keep doing what you are doing. As for the Darbo, I don’t know how long that will take to help the anemia. I don’t think the vets will know exactly either although they can guess an average amount of time probably. Also, usually in the beginning a weekly dose is given until the PCV comes up into the target range.

And don’t worry about what you post or how many posts you make. We are here for you and we really care.
 
Yasmin

I also recommend you go through the link Squeem posted for you. When I’ve had to make the decision, always difficult, I look beyond whether they are eating/drinking. I ask myself:
--is he/she doing all the things he/she always loved to do or is he/she basically just lying around and feeling very ill
--does he/she have an illness that will cause them to pass away sooner rather than later
--am I holding on for me or for my cat? This is the hardest one to answer.

I will tell you about our cat, Gus, who had CKD for five years and never progressed past Stage 3. He was doing great but he had started losing significant weight and over time had gone from 12 lbs to 7 lbs. He had always had normal stools but he started having occasional soft ones and he just didn’t want to get up. We could get him to eat a little but not enough. He was 18. As hard as it was to decide, what I didn’t want to do was run him to the ER in the middle of the night and have him pass away in that place. I wanted him to pass away at home surrounded by the people, animal companions, and place he loved. We had our vet come over and we played soft music. We had been giving him so much extra love. It was peaceful and I was happy we could give him that gift. Could he have lived another month? Maybe. Probably at least two weeks. But I’ve been through enough crises with cats that i didn’t want that for him. It was the first time we set aside what we wanted for what was best for him.

That’s just my experience and we’ve had 13 cats. Some of them were very old and passed peacefully in their sleep at home with no real illness. But many, we held on way too long and it became a crisis. With Gus, we had peace.

I’m not advocating for anything specific for you. You are there with Pudge and you know him best. I just wanted to share this with you.

Many hugs.
 
This is the tough time. A vet told me that I would need to make that decision and to try and take it a day at a time and then I must have no regrets. He said I would know and when I saw him that day it was not Tiffany’s time. You are doing just that. Is he engaging with you? He’s still eating so that’s good. I don’t think darbo works that fast. I had a similar experience with both Tiffany and Max. I promised Max I would not hold on for me and went to the ER as well. Tons of hugs. 💕
 
❤️‍🩹💔🫶🏼
i thank everyone so much.. i will respond better when im able.. but we mostly just chilling out.. hes doing ok.. but i know he can be better. i’m thinking.. day to day is the only way. hes got life in him yet. but we take it easy.. its horribly hard. the vet visits take a lot out of him.. and i agree be done at home, i dont wanna go nowhere..

hes eating pretty good, loving treats right now, but off the canned.. then he eats well. idk.

the new vet said it would take around 3 weeks to get up to speed.. but obviously its rising through out that time.. we gonna see if we can hold out. dependa how he feels. im annoyed today too cuz i skipped his full dose cuz a family member needed help w some thing so i thought i needed to be out then moved the date of the thing……. I swear. 😑 sigh.. all im doing right now is just taking all the time i can w my cat.
 
From the AVMA post: American Veterinary Medical Association a question worth asking is "Does my cat have more bad days than good days?" That plus those three questions Marje listed.
hes eating pretty good, loving treats right now, but off the canned.. then he eats well. idk.
He may be at the point where you feed him what he will eat, regardless of the carbs. Though I would still consider phosphorus. Look for food with higher fats (kitten food is good) as well as some of the senior foods like TikiKat. Supplement with a little cooked meat (plain baked or boiled). Crush treats on top of his food. Whatever it takes to get him eating more. If his tummy is fuller, he will feel better. If he has an all blue day, that's OK too. Looking for greens is not as important at this time.

For my last kitty, I made her a promise towards the end, no more vet visits. The vet came to me. It was a new vet, but turns out she lives on an island near my mother. That small world made it feel even more right.
 
You and him both have a lot of people beside you, supporting and loving and wishing you all the best. My heart just aches for you. I would fight for mine the same way, and you know your boy best. I have you both in my thoughts a lot throughout the day. Please never feel bad about posting, good or bad, that's what we are here for. ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
 
Oh (((Yasmin))) it just breaks my heart to see you struggle 🫂 🫂 🫂 🫂
I wish I had answers on all of the excellent questions you are asking but I have no real experience to guide you.

All I can say is you are doing everything and then some to give Pudge all the chances to continue and improve ❤️‍🩹:bighug:
I hope you get some answers from someone who may have actual knowledge about these things you are asking to help guide you at this difficult time.

As Tim said, don't worry about what you do post here, we are all here because we care so much.
I am thinking of you and Pudge and sending positive thoughts and prayers to you both 🫂🫂🙏🙏🙏🙏🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍃🍃🍃🍃:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Dear Staci ❤️‍🔥.. tysm.. that really is it.. and we appreciate things so much.. we’re lucky to have you, and everyone too.. i’m so glad for this board. Ty ty.. 🫶🏼🫶🏼🫶🏼🫶🏼🫶🏼🫶🏼
 
I just want to repeat what Tim and Staci said - we are all here for you and Pudge. Even if some of us (like me) don't have the experience to help, we're all here to listen and support you and Pudge. At least speaking for myself, I'd be more worried if you didn't post. I find myself looking for your daily updates because I'm thinking about you guys and hoping Pudge is doing well.

Sending you both lots and lots of love - I'll be thinking about you two lots today, and I hope someone more knowledgeable than me can help answer some of your questions!
Tysm Connie… 😭❤️‍🔥 thanks.. i definitely find it mandatory and will continue.. i appreciate your saying sm.. 💜 love frm us back.
 
It's a hard decision to make 🤗 Maybe this will help? There are other resources on the web site. How Will I Know It's Time | In-Home Euthanasia | Lap of Love

Maybe your vet can consult with another vet for more insight on what else can be done to help Pudge? Vet schools offer courtesy consults to any vet.
Sure is.. ❤️‍🩹 a lot of is why it got here in the first place cause he was really pretty stable a long time.. these vets really dont care.

the new vet actually left for vacation.. but i will keep that in mind. ✨ (we discussed many things.. and i feel good to say we done everything we could at this point.. 💜)
 
I'm so sorry, Yasmin 🫂 You're doing absolutely everything you can for Pudge and dealing with so many difficult decisions. Agree with everyone above - we're here for you, we want to know what's happening with Pudge and we care about both of you. Good news or bad news, we want to share in it all and support however we can. Please don't feel discouraged from posting. Sometimes even getting it out can be helpful.

Sending all our thoughts and hopes your way 💕
oh Briana so nice ty……. 😭❤️‍🩹🫶🏼 ok.. we’re so glad for this board, truly.. ty!!!!! ❤️‍🔥
 
Yasmin, I understand what you’re going through right now. It’s hard to know what is right. So he is still eating and drinking you say? That is good. Even though you say he is losing weight. I would say to take each day one day at a time. Love on him and keep doing what you are doing. As for the Darbo, I don’t know how long that will take to help the anemia. I don’t think the vets will know exactly either although they can guess an average amount of time probably. Also, usually in the beginning a weekly dose is given until the PCV comes up into the target range.

And don’t worry about what you post or how many posts you make. We are here for you and we really care.
Suzannee 🫶🏼❤️‍🔥🫶🏼.. tysm!!!! And ugh i remember (im so sorry too..) and its awful…. Lol.. but yes.. i offer him food a lot.. and he’ll take it; tho depending where we are in the cycle and his numbers.. snacks.. now starting to feel his bones are just way out more.. im afraid of his weight loss affecting so much.. like his meds needing tweaking. 🫠🫠❤️‍🔥🫠💜 he was like 9.5 lbs last..

That is what it pretty much is.. will do my best .. ❤️‍🔥 kept at it.. i asked his new vet, they think it got 3 weeks….. but it’ll be raising things too in the interim..
❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥..
 
Look back at the posts Wendy made the other day. They offer such good advice about decision making. We're with you in this, Yasmin. Please give your precious Nugget-Pudge some loving pets and scritches from us all.
tysm Mary.. we appreciate u and everyone so much.. i will do that 🫶🏼❤️‍🩹
 
Yasmin

I also recommend you go through the link Squeem posted for you. When I’ve had to make the decision, always difficult, I look beyond whether they are eating/drinking. I ask myself:
--is he/she doing all the things he/she always loved to do or is he/she basically just lying around and feeling very ill
--does he/she have an illness that will cause them to pass away sooner rather than later
--am I holding on for me or for my cat? This is the hardest one to answer.

I will tell you about our cat, Gus, who had CKD for five years and never progressed past Stage 3. He was doing great but he had started losing significant weight and over time had gone from 12 lbs to 7 lbs. He had always had normal stools but he started having occasional soft ones and he just didn’t want to get up. We could get him to eat a little but not enough. He was 18. As hard as it was to decide, what I didn’t want to do was run him to the ER in the middle of the night and have him pass away in that place. I wanted him to pass away at home surrounded by the people, animal companions, and place he loved. We had our vet come over and we played soft music. We had been giving him so much extra love. It was peaceful and I was happy we could give him that gift. Could he have lived another month? Maybe. Probably at least two weeks. But I’ve been through enough crises with cats that i didn’t want that for him. It was the first time we set aside what we wanted for what was best for him.

That’s just my experience and we’ve had 13 cats. Some of them were very old and passed peacefully in their sleep at home with no real illness. But many, we held on way too long and it became a crisis. With Gus, we had peace.

I’m not advocating for anything specific for you. You are there with Pudge and you know him best. I just wanted to share this with you.

Many hugs.
many hugs back 🫶🏼 thanks..
 
This is the tough time. A vet told me that I would need to make that decision and to try and take it a day at a time and then I must have no regrets. He said I would know and when I saw him that day it was not Tiffany’s time. You are doing just that. Is he engaging with you? He’s still eating so that’s good. I don’t think darbo works that fast. I had a similar experience with both Tiffany and Max. I promised Max I would not hold on for me and went to the ER as well. Tons of hugs. 💕
tysm… yes. Doing just this.. he is still; and no.. can take a week or two then was told up to 3 weeks to get hematocrit up..

im so sorry too.. its terribly hard.
tons of hugs back 💜❤️‍🩹❤️🫶🏼
 
From the AVMA post: American Veterinary Medical Association a question worth asking is "Does my cat have more bad days than good days?" That plus those three questions Marje listed.

He may be at the point where you feed him what he will eat, regardless of the carbs. Though I would still consider phosphorus. Look for food with higher fats (kitten food is good) as well as some of the senior foods like TikiKat. Supplement with a little cooked meat (plain baked or boiled). Crush treats on top of his food. Whatever it takes to get him eating more. If his tummy is fuller, he will feel better. If he has an all blue day, that's OK too. Looking for greens is not as important at this time.

For my last kitty, I made her a promise towards the end, no more vet visits. The vet came to me. It was a new vet, but turns out she lives on an island near my mother. That small world made it feel even more right.
❤️‍🩹 i been giving him whatever he likes, he wants treats he gets em all.. we’re limited tho w options cause of his dietary needs; but ill try making some meat again.. he didnt like a month or two ago tho when i made him some turkey.. and ill see what i can. find.
 
I agree 100 percent with what Wendy said about feeding him what he wants to eat. I agree about keeping it low phosphorus though (which is limiting enough in itself)

Don’t let anyone rush you into making a decision. You know your nugget best and love him more than anyone.
tysm Suzanneee.. ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹🥰 will answer more when can..
 
I an sort of understand what you are going through. Leroy is a hot mess and there's nothing else the vet can do. All we can do is manage the various issues as best as we can.

Would a feeding tube help? You can ask the vet. I assume you're done all the tricks to make food more yummy.

You can ask the vet about this product to get extra calories in: Critical Care Food for Carnivores | Oxbow Animal Health It contains chicken so if your cat has a chicken allergy, then it's no good to feed. It used to contain sugar and grains which made it no good for diabetics but it looks like those have been removed. Chewy sells it as a supplement ... for ferrets and small animals but the product can be fed to cats and other obligate carnivores.

81tq8cnbzNL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.jpg
 
sigh. its the thirst. how thirsty he is interferes w his eating.
I agree 100 percent with what Wendy said about feeding him what he wants to eat. I agree about keeping it low phosphorus though (which is limiting enough in itself)

Don’t let anyone rush you into making a decision. You know your nugget best and love him more than anyone.
i been doing that for a while now 🥰🫠❤️‍🩹 i just want something in the stomach right.. esp so he can get his shot.. trying our best. w how things have turned out.. sometimes i forget his hydroxide..

tysm for that.. ❤️‍🩹💔 ty.. im just sitting here.. thinking.. 🥺..
 
You and him both have a lot of people beside you, supporting and loving and wishing you all the best. My heart just aches for you. I would fight for mine the same way, and you know your boy best. I have you both in my thoughts a lot throughout the day. Please never feel bad about posting, good or bad, that's what we are here for. ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
tysm….. its really nice to hear and i just feel fortunate we have this community to come to, friends out there rooting for us.. 💔❤️‍🩹
 
I an sort of understand what you are going through. Leroy is a hot mess and there's nothing else the vet can do. All we can do is manage the various issues as best as we can.

Would a feeding tube help? You can ask the vet. I assume you're done all the tricks to make food more yummy.

You can ask the vet about this product to get extra calories in: Critical Care Food for Carnivores | Oxbow Animal Health It contains chicken so if your cat has a chicken allergy, then it's no good to feed. It used to contain sugar and grains which made it no good for diabetics but it looks like those have been removed. Chewy sells it as a supplement ... for ferrets and small animals but the product can be fed to cats and other obligate carnivores.

81tq8cnbzNL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.jpg
tysm for this ❤️‍🩹 but thats been our trouble throughout this time.. turkey is the protein he can do atm.. ✨
 
How is he doing? I saw on the tanya group that you got some antibiotics for him
Suzanne!! 💘 hes doing ok id say outside of the anemia.. appetitie so so but ive gotten him to eat a few times.. BGs ok too.. i accidentally hurt one of his teeth tho today.. i needed to try to get some Ondansetron in him cuz he wouldnt eat and despite not eating well i gave full dose (😱) and tried just pilling a pill w no pocket around it.. his little throats been dry and he gagged.. i syringed some water trying to get his pill down then noticed something from the tooth area on the floor???.. how much is tooth or like old food idk.. horrifying. 😓 i think i accidentally knocked something when i put in the syringe.. i needed to just drop the liquid in the corner of the mouth… im just staying away frm his little lips.. 😭😭😭😭

hes eating, drinking, going potty, grooming.. looking pretty alert.. havent seen a big potty yet in a day or two.. but hes been eating a bit less.. ❤️‍🔥

just hes got a cough a little.. these little coughs off and on.. wondering if the anemia.. and im worried about things.. hes napping.. yeah.. sigh.
~~~
Hows your kitty since the ER??? ❤️‍🩹
 
Back
Top