6/25/2015 Norman AMPS 274 +5 321 new dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
I keep looking at Normans SS. I keep thinking that I missing something, he is acting totally fine. So much so that he was playing with his mouse toys this morning , throwing them up in the air and batting them. We just increased his dose to 1.50 of Lantus and although this morning was his first dose I did expect to see some improvement in his first BG test today as I have seen in the past. Another 5 cycles to see where we go, it gets so hard waiting this out but I know its the safest way. I get scared cause its seems like we are not making much headway with the dose increases. I feel like his BG NUMBERS are no different on .25 lantus than they are on 1.50 lantus...Is this typical to see until we get to a working dose ?

previous condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-24-2015-norman-amps-303-297-pmps-271-6-299.139970/
 
I'm still a newbie (3 months since diagnosis), but we had to work our way up for a quite a while until we saw good results. If you look at our spreadsheet, Cooper's numbers didn't change much from dose to dose until we just hit the right dose. Looking back, I wish I hadn't spent so much time stressing myself out then like you are doing now. But hindsight is 20/20. Cooper wasn't diabetic at the beginning of March according to his blood tests, and then wham, he was diabetic 3 weeks later. So his seemed to come on suddenly just like Norman, but his BG levels didn't get back to normal numbers right away. I think you're just going to have to follow the protocol until he hits the right dose.
 
thank you...I have been hunting through others SS to see what I could see lol...I see the same things in your SS. So I guess until I get the right dose I won't see much of an improvement. It has just concerned me quite a bit. I am scheduled for a trip in July and I may just have to cancel . I had gone out of town last year while Norman was on Insulin but we had him regulated at that time so it was easy to talk to my hubby over the phone and have him dose him. This time I am more concerned
 
My trip if for the end of July...todays numbers are increasing along with the increase in dose. This is what I never understand when looking at the SS, why he would increase hig BG with a dose increase ? I get frustrated cause I think his BG should be coming down or HOLDING not rising ! I need to have him well regulated before I could consider leaving him. Hubby has to work so he would get his insulin on time but no testing at all 10 hours until he got home.
 
you know I have read that new dose wonkiness over and over again in the past...today for some reason I was finally able to look at ALL of Normans SS and I was able to pickout the BOUNCE he had way back in October and understand it for the first time .....and also for some reason the whole NDW makes a little more sense now..calming down and doing the wait and watch see attitude. I really was blessed the first time he was diagnosed , not so much this time.
 
Good that you are calming down! Try not to worry so much (easier said than done, trust me I know). You have no reason to believe right now that you aren't going to be able to get him regulated again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top