6/24 Yoda PMPS 437 - first dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone - our donation of Lantus for our foster kitty Yoda finally came in today. He was previously on ProZinc since that is what I use for my Oscar. Yoda's previous threads are here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=17862 and viewtopic.php?f=24&t=17053.

He has a history of high ketones so we are staying with the same dose we were on with ProZinc (2u). We are using the Relion u100 syringes with the half unit markings. I assume, according to the stickies, that we should stay at this dose for 4 days and then reassess.
 
Generally, for the initial dose, you hold the dose for 5 - 7 days. However, given Yoda's ketone history and that you are not new to FD, being a little more aggressive about dosing may not be a bad idea.
 
Hi Kelly

welcome back with Yoda! I looked thru your links and saw his pics, is he ever sweet!
He's a very lucky boy to have found you.


I found your first visit here to LL just to refresh the feedback you received there.
Yoda June 22 in LL

Good luck with Lantus! And hope to see you posting often! :razz:



.
 
Thanks! I was reluctant to up Yoda's ProZinc dose to 2.5u before he finished his antibiotic round because he seems to be reacting better to the insulin the longer he has been on the clindomyacin. I'll keep a check on his ketones and if we are at an acceptable level, I'll keep him on the 2u for 5-7 days if possible.
 
Just an observation -- if there's an infection, it may make sense to adjust the dose up to help prevent ketones. An infection and not enough insulin can contribute to the development of ketones. I agree that once the antibiotic kicks in you may need to come down on dose quickly but, IMHO, ketones are more problematic than steering low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top