6/22 Tigger AMPS 279

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
Was on Vestulin about a week. To Lantus 6/16, vet ordered 1.0 U BID was too much the next am so down to 0.5 6/17 pm. BG still higher than I would like to see pre-shot. Am I expecting to much? 3-4 days now giving just over the line on 0.5 mark, guess that would be a heavy 0.5U. I don't think I want to go to TR, too much low BG, have had myself and don't want to do that to Tigger. But this SLGS is still leaving lots of pink and yellow. Do you ever try to get between 50-100 range?
TIA
Patty
 
The depot builds the first week. SLGS takes longer to get the desired effect most of the time but every cat is different. You would still hold the beginning dose fur a week if you decided to follow TR. I see the dose as .5+. What does the + stand for?
 
With SLGS and all wet food we suggest you start at .5 and hold for 7 days. Then do a curve. We increase in ,25 increments most of the time. Do you have syringes with half unit markings? They will come in handy for these small increases.
 
Last edited:
Ok, guess I've been getting into info overload and probably mixing a bit of SLSG and TR.. I have 1/3 , 0.5U syringes(on third purchase got the right ones)
Bandits's Mom: When you say 1 test per cycle for TR do you mean each 12 hour period and the AM/PM PS. At least 4 per day for TR? Also Tiffmaxee ? Set food?
His last few days have been pretty stable at my 0.5+U dose, now understand not proper protocol for SLSG but will keep him there until I do a curve in a few days and go from there unless you feel this would be a danger.
When I added the + was at the change from 1.5 U Vetsulin ( Vet had increased to 2.0 Vetsulin and that was too much) to Lantus. He told me to give 1.0 Lantus and that seemed to be too much, and the 0.5 starting dose advised here seemed to small.
If nadir is in blue do you ever try to get lower with SLGS?
If nadirs in blue and pre shot high is this ok for him long term? How do you get the pre shot #'s down?
 
Sorry about the typo. Meant all wet/canned food. With TR yes you need a minimum of two tests each cycle. Often a +2 acts like a crystal ball as many cats onset then. (Lantus starts working) If it’s lower than the preshot another test around +4 would be great and if low blue or green a mid cycle test might be needed. Once you have enough data we learn when to test for safety. The extra tests aren’t needed every cycle.

With SLGS once you have enough data you gradually reduce the no shot number and your goal is to get nadirs between 90-120 would say. The reduction needed if under 90 makes that a little difficult. That’s why once you get your feet wet many feeding all canned or raw ofen switch to TR.
 
Sorry about the typo. Meant all wet/canned food. With TR yes you need a minimum of two tests each cycle. Often a +2 acts like a crystal ball as many cats onset then. (Lantus starts working) If it’s lower than the preshot another test around +4 would be great and if low blue or green a mid cycle test might be needed. Once you have enough data we learn when to test for safety. The extra tests aren’t needed every cycle.

With SLGS once you have enough data you gradually reduce the no shot number and your goal is to get nadirs between 90-120 would say. The reduction needed if under 90 makes that a little difficult. That’s why once you get your feet wet many feeding all canned or raw ofen switch to TR.

Great info, I will catch on with all your help. Will work on getting some verity in my data, +2, I thought the Lantus peaked later, thinking in people terms again. He switched over with glee to all canned. Feeding FF classic pate's all flavors. He's not horrible to test but really good at flicking the blood off his ear just before I get it.
 
Back
Top