6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155 PMPS 209

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

Another question...I thought I read in a post the if the +2 is almost the same as the Preshot you can expect a dip later in the cycle?
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

Hi Jenn,
I would answer yes to your first question: infection ( inflammation) would certainly be a factor in bgs being higher. Whether or not Tidus will go OTJ cannot be answered!!

+2 should normally be about the same as the PS. If it is lower, it probably means an "active" cycle (i.e., expect bgs to drop).

How is Tidus feeling?

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

An infection or inflammation can keep numbers elevated. However, if the problem is treated, there's no reason why a cat couldn't go into remission.

If you look in the New to the Group sticky, there's an hour-by-hour description of what an ideal Lantus cycle would look like. Typically, numbers go up at +1 due to onset not yet starting coupled with food raising numbers. By +2, food is being metabolized and Lantus onset is beginning so numbers are somewhere close to your pre-shot. If the +2 is much lower than the pre-shot, it is likely to be an active cycle, like Ella noted. (Take a look at Gabby's SS from this morning for an example.) With a "normal" cycle, by the time you reach nadir, numbers should be at their lowest point. This could be a big drop or a not so big drop. It all depends on the cat and that particular cycle. Even with a cat that's on the road to OTJ, the cycle may be relatively flat but there still may be a drop at nadir.
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

I agree with Ella but would go one step further. If the +2 is about the same as the PS, you should expect a typical lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

That means it will be active. But if the +2 is much less than the PS, you should be prepared for a possible early drop and a very active cycle.
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

Thanks for the answers. Sometimes I forget what's in the "stickies".

Tidus is over all doing MUCH better. He probably gained 2 pounds, poops are good, no ketones, drinks water (he sits at his bowl which I thought at first might be a sign for something (could still be), but now I know it's the way he drinks. I have one other cat that does the same thing. They drink up the side of the bowl so they lay down and kind of "hug" the bowl to lick the side)

I got the B12 today so I will start that tomorrow.

I asked about infection/inflammation because we still don't really know what caused his high temperatures and his only real diagnosis is IBD. I still feel like there may still be an underlying condition but I could be wrong.
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155

It's great to hear that Tidus is doing better. What food did you settle on for him? Is his temp still elevated?
 
Re: 6/22 Tidus AMPS 200 +6/155 +7/190

He is actually doing fine on Friskies special diet beef & chicken. That's what my other cats (for the most part) eat. I still have 2 I am trying to get to eat that but right now they eat the wet w/ gravy and dry food mixed. I think I'm on month 4 of converting them.

I have not tested his temp. Just wonder if his increased BG's could be a sign that he still has infection/temp. I really thought he was going to be a broken kitty because the first week he was at the vet he was at 90 with no insulin.
 
Great, Titus, keep it up...glad you're feeling better!! :-D Best wishes for continued improvement and to find out what could be causing your temps. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top