6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185 PMPS 360/ 5 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73536
Yesterday: Rosy's first day on the reduced dose of 1u. She was in a bounce from the low 38 of the previous. Started off in purple with a blue at PM+5. Hope she has recovered from her bounce.

Today: A very hot Friday with sudden thunder & rain which never last "long enough" to cool down the weather. All is well in Tortieland, except Tiger not having a good appy. Tried all different types of canned food but only taking in little. He's licking his lips when I give him food, stomach upset? He doesnt look or act sick. Still bullying anybody he doesnt like. He's eating a lot of the steamed chicken though. With a clean blood work, & the vet said teeth ok, I'll need to get an appy stimilant for him.

AMPS 229 gave canned breakfast & 1u
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185

The lip smacking and acting like they want to eat but don't eat is often a sign of nausea. Advice here in LL is to not give appy stimulants without also giving an anti-nausea med too. We use ondansetron and cerenia with Zener as regular maintenance meds and cyprohexadine as an appy stimulant when needed. It works fairly well for him. Rosy is looking a lovely blue!
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185

Way to clear that bounce Rosy girl :smile: now show us how you can hold a reduction!

It's getting pretty wintery here. Still some nice sunshine and mild temps during the day but the mornings are getting pretty cold. My car was totally iced up this morning - brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Sending vines for Tiger.
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185

I second what Anne said. Lip smacking is a sign of nausea. We used ondansetron as well when Tarragon had pancreatitis and it worked great. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185 PMPS 360

Thanks Ann, Serryn & Melissa! Ive got the Cerenia & Cyprohexadine from my vet today for Tiger's appy. A 7 days dosage for him.

PMPS 360 gave stamed chicken & 1u
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185 PMPS 360

Hi guys .. I hope that tigger starts feeling better soon! Rosy, nice blues earlier, but what's up with this pmps? Come back down please! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185 PMPS 360

Nice recovery for Rosy. Sending some healing vines for Tiger today. Hope the meds kick in soon and Tiger feels better. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 6/22 Rosy AMPS 229/ 4 185 PMPS 360

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. I hope that tigger starts feeling better soon! Rosy, nice blues earlier, but what's up with this pmps? Come back down please! Have a great weekend guys!


Yes Devon. What happen to the PM cycle is a head scratch to me too!

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Nice recovery for Rosy. Sending some healing vines for Tiger today. Hope the meds kick in soon and Tiger feels better. Have a nice day.

Thanks Ann. Not that good with Tiger. After finishing his steamed chicken for dinner, he throw up all the chicken ate half an hour later. I dont know if it's the effect of the drug. Got to observe him for awhile.


PM+5 329 gave canned supper.

Where did all this purple come from? Dropped knibble on the floor? CPC performing job with other civvies plate?
 
I'm not sure if you have read about how people use cypro here in LL, but often the prescribed dose from the vet is much higher than what it takes to get the appy going. The cypro pills our vet prescribes are 4mg. Our previous vet had us give him one 4mg pill once to twice a day and it made him very restless and then lethargic, plus he would meow and was almost desperate for food. We read on the message board that sometimes only a pinhead of the cypro will be enough to stimulate appy. If Zener's numbers are low at pre-shot and we are having trouble getting him to eat, we will give him 1/4 pill or 1mg. Otherwise, we will use 1/8 pill, or 0.5mg and sometimes only a pinhead of cypro will do the trick. It usually takes 1-2 hours to kick in. And it seems for Zener, the effect of the 1mg cypro (1/4 tablet) is up to three days, so a daily dose is not needed for him.

We always give ondansetron (anti-nausea) in combination with the cypro based on recommendations from Karrie about avoiding appy stimulants with a nauseated cat. It is okay to use both ondansetron and cerenia to treat nausea and vomiting.

Paws crossed Rosy is back on her fuds soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top