6/22 Meadow's PMPS 461...So frustrated!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
AMPS 212 (quite a task, but I made her wait for breakfast until shot time at 7am)
+2 265

At least we aren't in the pink yet. Hoping she is going to start coming down off the food spike now.
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +2 265

Knock knock: Housekeeping :lol:
Just adding your adventures from yesterday Yesterdays Adventures

dont worry you'll get the hang of these little things!

Interesting day yesterday too!
If you have any low carb kitty treats like freeze dried chicken (known as "chicken dust") that can help settle kitties down while they wait for breakfast/dinner.

Looking great here - have a good day!
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +2 265

Ronnie, thanks for posting the link to yesterday's condo. I seem to forget to do that a lot. :oops:
Funny you should mention the freeze dried chicken. That's exactly what I gave her this morning to tide her over until breakfast. Those things are way expensive though so she better get used to waiting for breffis! :lol:


Ronnie & Luna said:
Knock knock: Housekeeping :lol:
Just adding your adventures from yesterday Yesterdays Adventures

dont worry you'll get the hang of these little things!

Interesting day yesterday too!
If you have any low carb kitty treats like freeze dried chicken (known as "chicken dust") that can help settle kitties down while they wait for breakfast/dinner.

Looking great here - have a good day!
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +2 265

Pretty little Meadow...I love that picture of her! :mrgreen:
Those were very pretty AMPS....so close to blue....I bet you will get back down to blue after your food spike is over with. Right Meadow? confused_cat
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

So, now we have a + 4 and 1/2 hour reading of 95. Any advice as to why the sharp drop in BG? This happened yesterday too within a 2 hour time frame. Is this all part of the patience needed while she hopefully adjusts to the fat unit dose? Should I be doing anything to avoid such sharp drops?


Meadow said:
AMPS 212 (quite a task, but I made her wait for breakfast until shot time at 7am)
+2 265

At least we aren't in the pink yet. Hoping she is going to start coming down off the food spike now.
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

When a kitty does this often, we spread the food out over a couple of hours. Give installments of the food so that there will be a little food spike over the hours....know what I mean? Wondering if you checked her again --SS doesn't have another update. You might want to be sure to check her at +3 after each shot and feed some LC then....some people give some food at shot time, then at +1 and then again at +2....etc. and you might want to try that....
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

Hi Dottie, We've been feeding breakfast in 2 or 3 installments and it works pretty well to slow down a drop (some days better than others). If you're not home, you can set out the mini meals in a timed feeder.
Did Meadow enjoy the solstice party?

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

You've gotten some good suggestions. Splitting up the morning's meal over the first couple of hours may help to even things out -- or at least it's worth a try. Part of what you're seeing is the Lantus kicking in. Some cats, like Gabby, are prone to plummeting early in the cycle. You'll start to get a feel for how Meadow responds to Lantus and what you may need to do, if anything. I would definitely get another test in before nadir.
 
I just feel like crying. After a low of 95 at +4, she goes to 325 a +9 and a PMPS of 461. I guess she's bouncing again. Am I correct in remembering that I read to just shoot through the bounces and her body will become accustomes to the lower numbers eventually and not panic?
I gave her the same fat unit at 7pm. Did I do the right thing?



Meadow said:
AMPS 212 (quite a task, but I made her wait for breakfast until shot time at 7am)
+2 265

At least we aren't in the pink yet. Hoping she is going to start coming down off the food spike now.
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

Thanks Pat. She usually eats something every 4 hours, with a "snack" of dried chicken breast or turkey breast at times. I can always give a little food every hour or so. She likes to eat, unless she isn't feeling well.


Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
When a kitty does this often, we spread the food out over a couple of hours. Give installments of the food so that there will be a little food spike over the hours....know what I mean? Wondering if you checked her again --SS doesn't have another update. You might want to be sure to check her at +3 after each shot and feed some LC then....some people give some food at shot time, then at +1 and then again at +2....etc. and you might want to try that....
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

Ella, Meadow heard about the party a little to late to attend. But maybe next time. She can be a party animal when she wants to be. ;-)
I'll try spacing out her breakfast a little and see if that helps. I believe she is rebounding right now for the earlier bg of 95. I would really like these rebounds to stop! :?



Ella & Stu said:
Hi Dottie, We've been feeding breakfast in 2 or 3 installments and it works pretty well to slow down a drop (some days better than others). If you're not home, you can set out the mini meals in a timed feeder.
Did Meadow enjoy the solstice party?

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/22 Meadow's AMPS 212 +4 95 Is this the norm??

Sienne and Gabby said:
You've gotten some good suggestions. Splitting up the morning's meal over the first couple of hours may help to even things out -- or at least it's worth a try. Part of what you're seeing is the Lantus kicking in. Some cats, like Gabby, are prone to plummeting early in the cycle. You'll start to get a feel for how Meadow responds to Lantus and what you may need to do, if anything. I would definitely get another test in before nadir.

I am not exactly sure when her nadir is, Sienne. The lowest numbers seem to vary the times. Just when I think she is going to have a good day number wise, she goes and rebounds. At least that is what I think she is doing now. After Friday, I can get more readings and work on the food spacing. Hopefully it will even things out. :YMSIGH:
 
Hi again, Dottie. Yes, it seems to me that you did just what you were supposed to do: shoot the normal dose. Lantus likes consistency, so it is not a good idea to vary a dose just because a pre-shot number is high. Don't forget that Lantus dosing is not based on the number at the pre-shot, but on the nadir. Stick to the protocol and if you have a low number at pre-shot post for advice. If the number is high, just shoot your normal dose. Hold the dose for the suggested number of cycles (as specified in the protocol) and then ask for advice about whether to raise and when to raise. Someone knowledgeable and well versed in interpreting spreadsheets will be along to help you.
Frustration is normal!!!

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top