6/22 Henry C. AMPS=169 Bounce Clearing Cycle Half Dose given

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
prior condo

It is 7.06 am and already stalled and instead of increasing his BG is going down without insulin. He is in a bouncing clearing cycle like on 6/20 when we had the lime. His BG is now 169 with Free Style Lite, 242 with AT and 216 with the Libre. Libre was 224 before the stallling. Last night his nadir was around 200 so he is not going up and rather down.

I know normally you shoot the full dose if you can test but this morning I cannot afford another lime or testing this morning outside of the quick scan i am in back to back meetings. On 6.20 we started the BG at over 300 and got to the lime quickly. Do I do half a dose? It is 7.11 and pmps was 6.45 am so we are 11 min past the shoot time and 26 min past pmps.

Thank you. Tagging @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
 
20 min past shot time now and went down 24 points since pmps (35 min ago). So he is going down more without insulin.
 
I will be at home but cannot afford testing every 20 min and dealing with a lime. I have back to back meetings some with the directors and on video camera. Even after eating he decreased on 6/20 when we had the nice lime.
 
I understand if you are on video, that you don’t want to be disappearing all the time, dealing with low numbers.
It is up to you if you want to give a 1/2 dose. If you do, the first half of the cycle will still be influenced by the depot so you will need to keep an eye on it.
If you give a 1/2 dose, you can give some higher carb food around the +3 mark if needed, to stop any drops but you need to be aware that it wears off after a couple of hours and it could drop again. So you will need to check again.
 
I can do half a dose. Would that be 2.5? too hard to divide 4.75/2 lol. So feed LC now and HC later at +3 if he drops?
2.5 is just over 1/2 dose so OK.
I would just keep an eye on the BGs and if they are dropping and you are concerned I would give a higher carb snack instead of a low carb snack. I’m assuming you give snacks during the cycles.
Hope you have a good day.
 
2.5 units given at 7.45 am - 45 min after his regular shot and fed LC. Tonight the shot can be at 7.30 pm right? so we can get back on track.

Yes, definitely feeding snacks in the cycle. I will have to post tonight to figure out his dose depending on what numbers will be today. Based on past experience, because of the depot he may still be giving me a green or a lime will see. If that happens, what dose should i give him? Or is it too early to say?

Thank you so much Bron. Hope today will be safe surfing. Kitty is happy and fed, numbers still slightly going down. May need to feed that HC sooner than +3 but will keep an eye on him.
 
2.5 units given at 7.45 am - 45 min after his regular shot and fed LC. Tonight the shot can be at 7.30 pm right? so we can get back on track.

Yes, definitely feeding snacks in the cycle. I will have to post tonight to figure out his dose depending on what numbers will be today. Based on past experience, because of the depot he may still be giving me a green or a lime will see. If that happens, what dose should i give him? Or is it too early to say?

Thank you so much Bron. Hope today will be safe surfing. Kitty is happy and fed, numbers still slightly going down. May need to feed that HC sooner than +3 but will keep an eye on him.
Yes you can go back 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour a day.
Unless he is low again, I would go back to the dose you have been giving
 
He went down fast even more even with food and with the shot barely given so it is the prior depot in place. I am very inclined to give HC now. This is looking like a hard day.

AMPS - 169 (FSL) 213 (Libre) 242 (AT) - half dose 2.5;
7.45 am = shot given and 3 oz LC
8.11 am - FSL =125, Libre - 178, AT = 157
 
He went down fast even more even with food and with the shot barely given so it is the prior depot in place. I am very inclined to give HC now. This is looking like a hard day.

AMPS - 169 (FSL) 213 (Libre) 242 (AT) - half dose 2.5;
7.45 am = shot given and 3 oz LC
8.11 am - FSL =125, Libre - 178, AT = 157
Given your work commitments today, I would be inclined to give higher carb now. What kind of carb percentages? Do you have any MC around 15 percent?
 
Yes, i have FF in roasted beef flavor gravy that is supposed to be 15% if you trust chewy. I saw around here it may be 20%. I have other flavors (turkey and chicken) in gravy as well but not sure he will like those. I will try the beef and see how it goes.
 
Yes, i have FF in roasted beef flavor gravy that is supposed to be 15% if you trust chewy. I saw around here it may be 20%. I have other flavors (turkey and chicken) in gravy as well but not sure he will like those. I will try the beef and see how it goes.
Good! Go for the beef. We can’t have a repeat of the other lime day
 
You’re in Georgia like me (how about that heat!). So you can actually just tell me in clock time :)

remember to keep him hungry enough to eat snacks and remember that you can add a drop of honey/karo to any food that he likes, if it becomes necessary.
 
Did 2 full tsps of the beef. Had to put bonito flakes on it to eat it but mission accomplished. the first meeting on video is in 1.5 hours at 10 am.. I do have a break after. And if needed i can go off the camera if it becomes a must. Henry comes first. I have the libre and at least it is telling me trends.

the heat in GA is ridiculous. And I was thinking at some point moving to FL. rethinking that
 
Okay good. Sooo good to have the Libre and then you can spot check later when needed. I hope this food will slow any drops. Good old Bonita Flakes! And don’t forget FortiFlora if he likes it. Or parmesan cheese sprinkles.
 
I have a whole collection of snacks because of his pickiness i constantly have to top off his food with something yummy. sometimes it takes fortiflora plus the flakes to entice him. but once he is convinced he scarfs down everything. He is now chilling on the balcony between 2 palm tree plants (all cat safe :) with a nice full belly. the libre says he is staying steady even after the high carb but not going down. will scan it often to catch any dives. The 10 am meeting was supposed to be moved to later but have not heard back. paws crossed it gets moved :)
 
I have a whole collection of snacks because of his pickiness i constantly have to top off his food with something yummy. sometimes it takes fortiflora plus the flakes to entice him. but once he is convinced he scarfs down everything. He is now chilling on the balcony between 2 palm tree plants (all cat safe :) with a nice full belly. the libre says he is staying steady even after the high carb but not going down. will scan it often to catch any dives. The 10 am meeting was supposed to be moved to later but have not heard back. paws crossed it gets moved :)
Oh I hope it will get moved. I know you have this under control. Post when you can and if you need to. Otherwise I will be looking at his Spreadsheet to make sure he is okay!
 
Thank you Suzanne! My meeting just get rescheduled for tomorrow and i am now double booked lol. Henry's BG with the Libre has gone up a little to 207 at 9.56 am (little over +2). Did not take blood as he is enjoying lounging in the balcony and he seems safe for now and don't want to bother him either. Plus i am drowning in emails and pings. Choosing my battles carefully today lol.
 
AMPS - 169 (FSL) 213 (Libre) 242 (AT) - half dose 2.5;7.45 am = shot given and 3 oz LC8.11 am - FSL =125, Libre - 178, AT = 157

8.37 am - 2 tsp FF beef gravy 15% (maybe per chewy)

9.56 am - 207 Libre

11.09 am - FS: =151, Libre =164, AT =217

Still safe. Did not feed since 8.37 am anything since he had the HC and he was safe and not meowing. Libre went a little down so he may be going down but not sure. Should I feed him some LC or wait a little more to see what is happening?
 
I was fast asleep when the excitement started. I’m glad Suzanne was there. They sure have the best timing. :banghead:

Don't they really? Seriously after last night did not even expect the excitement today. I am having even a busier day tomorrow so praying tomorrow I will have much less excitement lol. Glad both Bron and Suzanne were here.
 
Super picky, did not like his Weruva even with stella on top, ate a bit of chicken but not too much and gave a few Ziwipeak air dried pieces and he gobbled those up. I think he is going for the pickiest cat award lol. Libre is 174 so he may be bouncing or at least he is keeping steady so not feeding him anything else at this point. :cat: Unless we get more excitement that is.
 
Yeah. Picky boy! At least he likes the Ziwipeak. I've never tried those because it's so expensive (the food, I mean) and I have too many cats to feed that (although the Weruva I feed about half of them isn't cheap either). But a bag of the air dried pieces to be given as treats? That I could probably handle.

Henry does seem stable in his BG right now. :-)
 
12.13 pm- FSL =146, AT =226, Libre was 207 a few min prior, going up but decided to give me the check glucose in 10 min message. So it is possible he is going up fast bouncing or Mr Libre is going crazy or dying. Either way he is still safe thank goodness.

The Ziwi is ridiculously priced and has way too many calories so I feed only as treats or to top off food when he is too picky. I rotate the treats too because his pickiness Sr Henry would get bored quick. Funny though how he seems to never get bored of the dry high carb food though :) No longer an option.
 
259 on the libre at 2.10 pm so he is definitely going up. you win some you lose some. just glad he is safe and taking his beauty sleep. He loves his cat bed.

upload_2022-6-22_14-13-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-22_14-13-1.png
    upload_2022-6-22_14-13-1.png
    544.9 KB · Views: 202
259 on the libre at 2.10 pm so he is definitely going up. you win some you lose some. just glad he is safe and taking his beauty sleep. He loves his cat bed.

View attachment 64584
Precious!

Well... if we had known that your morning meeting(s) were going to be rescheduled then you may have chosen differently. We had to operate on the assumption that he had a very low (for Henry) pre-shot and you would be tied up in video meetings... so we did what we did. Right? You should be good to shoot the full regular dose tonight -- looks like at 4:30 p.m. EDT anyway! :cat:
 
But.... oh my goodness... please update your spreadsheet. If you need any help tonight ... or are seeking moral support :) that person will want to see your spreadsheet. There's nothing on there since AMPS today.
 
Like Elise, I'm a west coaster. But at the time you posted I was part way through high speed interval training on the water. Glad to see Bron was on it.

I guess the good news is that today's half shot will probably impact tomorrow's cycle and keep him higher when you are busy. Not all high numbers are bounces. You gave him a low dose today and that drains the depot.
 
Precious!

Well... if we had known that your morning meeting(s) were going to be rescheduled then you may have chosen differently. We had to operate on the assumption that he had a very low (for Henry) pre-shot and you would be tied up in video meetings... so we did what we did. Right? You should be good to shoot the full regular dose tonight -- looks like at 4:30 p.m. EDT anyway! :cat:

I do not regret one bit doing the half dose because safe is better than sorry. I had back to back meetings, had my breakfast (bagel) at 12 and nothing since then lol. My manager left and we are down a few people in my team so we are just all trying to make the best we can :) I did not get a chance to update the spreadsheet but will do it after will have some dinner. Libre says he is at 472 (supposedly decreasing) and still a while until shot at 7.30. He is hungry and not happy for not feeding him NOW. lol. I am planning to shoot the full 4.75 dose unless something crazy happens in the next 1.5 hrs lol. Tomorrow is even worse with meetings so paws crossed no drama tomorrow. Thank you for all your help today!
 
@Wendy&Neko
Question: Bron said Yes you can go back 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour a day. The shot this morning was 45 min late at 7.45 am instead of 7 am. Now he is super high getting to 500 and it is 6.30 pm. do we have to wait until 7.30pm for the shot or can I give food and insulin earlier? He is eyeing me with those big green eyes saying FOOD NOW OR ELSE. lol.
 
You shot this morning at 7:45. You can shoot tonight at 7:15. That’s one half hour “early” meaning 30 minutes before a full 12 hours has elapsed since your morning shot.
 
You can shoot back on schedule, 45 minutes early, with him that high. Only do this once though and with help of someone experienced. For any lurkers, this is a Henry and Roxana suggestion only.
 
Done and updated spreadsheet. Hope for smooth surfing tonight and tomorrow. Given the high PMPS number and the reduced dose and drained depot I would say that is within reach. Thank you Bron, Suzanne, Elise and Wendy for your support today:cat:
 
Back
Top