6/21 Pat's Shadow AMPS=133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
6/20
AMPS=382 ~no shot no eat (licked a little baby food turkey)
+4=397
PMPS=412 ~.75u Lev (ate with relish for some reason after blood draw at vet office)
+4=280 appy good
+8=108 ate pretty well
AMPS=133 ~F.5u Lev (BCS shot because he didn't eat a real lot)
gave meds
+2=217 ate a little tuna and Young Again
+4=252 ate well

Yesterday
Well, Shadow has had two BMs today...one was there when I woke up. Another deposit made at about +5. He seems well today and showing interest in his food once again. It is a pleasure and relief to see. Will be nice if it keeps up this way. I expect to be hearing from the vet later with blood results from the "Brief profile" we ordered. Will see what it shows and then request other tests if necessary.
Thanks for your encouragement kids! Appreciate your visits and your input! Hugs!
 
From Yesterday's Condo:
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Thanks guys! I went in and had them draw blood. I was not charged the usual for the visit since the vet only saw Shadow in the back as they were drawing blood. she looked in his mouth, etc....and will talk to be about the blood results tomorrow when they come back.
Turns out that if I only went in to pick up the script, they would have charged me the $6 but since I brought him in they didn't charge me that fee. Weird. Anyway, we got the scripts, I printed out coupons and went to Walmart after dropping off Shadow at home. I offered him some Young Again bites and he ate them!

I waited around for the meds to be ready....running in to Petsmart for some Wellness and getting different flavors of FF and Purina One in Walamart. I am exhausted. I got home just in time for their usual test and feeding. DH said that Raja was going out of her mind with worry for over an hour!!! :lol: She thinks he is not capable of feeding them....(since he has never been in charge of that in the past...) She gets so nervous that I have run away and will never be back....

Anyway, Shadow jumped onto the testing towel!!!!!!!! :o
I tested him and put the food down and he ate like a pig! I gave him his shot and he ate more!!!!!
And THIS is just having the meds in my possession.....I have not even given them to him yet!!!

I am ready to go to bed. this is all too much for an old Bean....
I was going to ask you all how much you give them and how often you dose them with the ondansetron and the Cyproheptad.....both say one half tablet (4MG tab) The first for nausea says twice daily as needed for vomiting and the cypro says once every 12 to 24 hours for appetite...
Thanks for the input for Zener and Tarragon....wonder what others have found...I know Dyana uses both too. IOt is odd that my vet doesn't use it. I think I will ask her when i speak with her tomorrow. I am glad that she wrote the prescriptions for me though.
Now I wonder if I need to give either one to him if he seems fine for the next 4 hours and for the +4 snack....guess not. But it is good to have them both on hand.
I had syringe-fed him during the day....I guess I gave him about a tablespoonful at a time over the hours from noon until I went to the vet at 4:30. Not all that much but it was something at least after not really eating too much over the past 24 hours. I was so pleased to see his very enthused eating tonight...it is so weird how he just wanted to eat finally......so happy.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thanks everyone!!! Hugs!!

Just to let you know, Costco has the best price for Ondansetron. For me it's a long drive to get to the nearest Costco, but it is so worth it (you don't need a membership to use their pharmacy) I paid $33 for 10 pills at my local grocery store pharmacy ($3.30 per pill). I paid less than $29 for 90 pills at Costco ($0.33 per pill). A BIG difference.

I'm glad Shadow ate so well after the vet visit. J.D. usually eats really well after coming home from the vet too.
How is Shadow eating tonight?

When J.D.'s pancreatitis was around, and when it seems to return sometimes, I give him 1/4 Pepcid BID and 1/4 Ondansetron BID. I did give him some bupeprenex when it was real bad, when he was first dx.
I also give J.D. 1/4 cyproheptadine as needed SID. Anne and Liz give Zener 1/6 1/16 of a pill and it works for him. I just find it hard to break the pill into anything less than quarters. What I like about it is you can give it everyday (or even twice a day), and it works in about 20 minutes, and last for about 8 hours or so, for J.D. I asked the pharmacist why my bottle said "Cyproheptad" and she said it was because they ran out of room and couldn't fit the "ine" on the bottle.

Wishing Shadow continued good appetite.
 
Great news!!! :-D :-D :-D I'm glad Shadow is feeling better! We originally gave 1/2 tablet of cypro and it made Zener frantic about eating. Then Anne read that much less would work so we gave him the tiniest little flake and it would work in about 30 mins to an hour. Lately, it's been more like 1/16 (not 1/6) of a pill and he will eat pretty well for a couple of cycles. We use a pill splitter to get tiny pieces and some of it becomes powder that we throw away. We put it in a pill pocket and he will usually eat that pretty easily. I think it's bitter as it has caused him to foam at the mouth when we have just given it to him straight.
Liz
 
Hoping Shadow will continue to eat and do well.

The ondansetron is usually a 4mg tab and the dose should, be 1 mg bid, as Dyana said. I hope it helps!

Come on Shadow...yum yum...eat more!
 
I'm glad to hear that Shadow is feeling better and showing interest in food again. Did you need to give him the meds at all?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top