6/21 Jax PMBG 63

Nick&Jax

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-17-jax-amps-81.291220/#post-3187302

Hello everyone! Only one single drop shot dose in the last 5 days! And tonight counts 3 full days with great numbers and no insulin! I am so proud of my Jax.
Still struggling to get his Diarrhea under control from Dr. Elseys clean protein kibble. I’ve got him on a really good probiotic someone on this forum mentioned to try. I still plan to switch over to Fancy Feast classic pate. I’ve already got a couple variety packs delivered the other day.
Hope everyone has a great Friday evening!
 
Looking good Jax! :D. If you don't shoot, we call it PMBG (blood glucose) instead of PS (preshot). Hope you can continue with this dose (zero).
 
Looking good Jax! :D. If you don't shoot, we call it PMBG (blood glucose) instead of PS (preshot). Hope you can continue with this dose (zero).


Thank you!
Perfect, thank you for the heads up! I fixed the title of this thread.
I’m hoping so as well! Fingers and paws crossed!
 
I see the trend continues.:D Time to make this an official OTJ trial. Today is day 5. Here are the instructions, ignore the first one, done already. :)

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!
 
I see the trend continues.:D Time to make this an official OTJ trial. Today is day 5. Here are the instructions, ignore the first one, done already. :)

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!


Thank you so much for all this information! I knew about the 14 days with no insulin from the threads on SLGS method. But I didn’t know all the other info and details. Thank you!
I’m going to update his spreadsheet and post shortly today! And I’ll do my best to post each day. Do I do a separate post for AMBG and PMBG? Or just add the PMBG to the AMBG’s title/post?
 
Back
Top