6/20 Whitey PMPS 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
Can someone chime in on how to handle his PM shot. He was high all night last night, maybe I gave a fur shot. Should I give him his full shot, wait and shoot a little late or reduce shot?
 
Sorry...I just missed you. Let me look at his SS but please pls to get a +1 and a +2 and post them if you can.

Brb.
 
Ok...let me be sure I got this

You tested at +12 and he was 151
You stalled...did you feed? If so, how much and when?
After 15 mins, you got 115 and you shot a reduced dose of .5u?

If the above is all true, on his SS, in the +11 column, put "151 @ 12" and in the PMPS column, put "115 @ 12.25". Then you could update the subject lie to read PMPS 115.

If he dropped from -50 to 115 in 15 minutes, that's pretty big and it looks like you shot a dropping number. When you shoot a dropping number, even if you reduce the dose, because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and it's depot action, you can expect tonight to be the same as if you had shot 1u. I'd stay on top of the numbers.

You might see the effect of shooting a reduced dose on tomorrow's cycle.

Questions? See you at +1 :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Ok...let me be sure I got this

You tested at +12 and he was 151
You stalled...did you feed? If so, how much and when?
After 15 mins, you got 115 and you shot a reduced dose of .5u?

If the above is all true, on his SS, in the +11 column, put "151 @ 12" and in the PMPS column, put "115 @ 12.25". Then you could update the subject lie to read PMPS 115.

If he dropped from -50 to 115 in 15 minutes, that's pretty big and it looks like you shot a dropping number. When you shoot a dropping number, even if you reduce the dose, because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and it's depot action, you can expect tonight to be the same as if you had shot 1u. I'd stay on top of the numbers.

You might see the effect of shooting a reduced dose on tomorrow's cycle.

Questions? See you at +1 :-D

I think you have all the info straight. The retest was actually 119 now that I looked back it not 115 but still a good drop in 15 minutes. This was all pre food. I shot .50 unit and fed immediately after and he's still eating.

Life was so much easier when i was a complete newb. I used to just shoot 1 unit every 12 hours without ever testing. The only testing I did was a 12 hour curve 1 or 2 days per month. Ignorance was bliss ;-) Of course I know it's much better now to get lots of info on how he's doing every day
 
Yes....it's much better to know what you are dealing with.

Good job on holding the food while you waited to see what he was doing.

Keep in mind that when you see a +12 that is less than +11, it can either be a second dip or a dropping number.

A second dip is something Lantus and levemir are known for. The numbers come down to nadir, then go up a bit, and then at the end of the cycle, come back down but not quite as low as the nadir.

A dropping number is when the BG just continues to drop from one PS to the next. Shooting dropping numbers can really allow you to take advantage of carryover and overlap but you have to be careful....sometimes even if you feed when you shoot, the numbers keep dropping after PS. To safely shoot lower dropping numbers, you need to know whether your cat gets a food spike or not and how they react to food management in case you need to use food to raise the numbers.
 
Got his +1 test at 185. Probably food spike?

I want to get more aggressive and shoot low but I'm still nervous about it
 
We will take you through it slowly. Next time you get a lower number than you've shot, post for help. Don't feed him before you post....just post and have someone walk you through shooting low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top