6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +3.25 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
189 AMPS
143 +2
163 +5
122 +11
101 PMPS
119 +5
107 +1.5
Ate
114 +3.25

I was a little concerned about shooting a falling number, so I gave him a skinny 1U as compared to his usual almost fat 1U. I also shot the scruff thinking that area would also help slow absorption. He had eaten right on time, did good. Went back for seconds. We went to my room and he seemed ok, then on the way out about two minutes later he sat down and sort of started leaning way over to one side. I thought he was fainting, then I thought I had caught his tail in the door and grabbed him but he jumped up and took off down the hall, ran down a few steps toward the basement then stopped and looked at me like he couldn't figure out why I had grabbed him.
He seems ok now, but I wonder if shooting his scruff I hit a nerve or something? I'm still really shook up over this and wonder if anyone has had a similar reaction? I don't usually shoot the scruff, but his sides. Did I hurt my kitty boy somehow?

I'll be keeping a close eye on the numbers tonight.



Last night:
200 PMPS
176 +2.25
109 +5
181 +8



Yesterday

Morning Beans! ~O) Happy father's day too.

The Purr man seems to have gotten his appetite back. Yesterday mornning he nibbled and was nibbly here and there all day. That's good but with his CRF I wondered if it was affecting his appetite now that his numbers are coming down. Well last night he decided he was feeling hungry and had a nice good feed, about 2 0z LC FF and a little raw at +1, then at+3 he had a really good feed again of LC FF. It was interesting to see how it stabilized his numbers through the night, no big drops. So that will be good to know when we get into the lower numbers. (marked in notes)

This morning he did the same. Nibbled at shot time, fifteen minutes later came back and had about 3 oz. FF LC. He is still on f1U ( not quite Fat so I put a small f for fat. Does that make sense?)
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie AMPS 189 +2 143

I'm wondering what you guys do with a kitty who is CRF and FD for their teeth? Purr has had dentals just over a year ago, but I worry now with his CRF as I know his kidneys can't handle the anesthesia.

Has anyone used that teeth product Petzlife I won't try anything new especially with him being FD too, yipes and this does have grain alcohol in it! I just wondered if it worked.

Has this topic been covered over in health, anyone remember? I need to go do a search and see what I can come up with.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie AMPS 189 +2 143

There are lots of people with FD and CRF kitties. Posting in Health is a good idea especially if you have questions about anesthesia.

Have you looked at Dr. Lisa's (Lisa Pierson, DVM) site re. feeding raw food to CRF kitties? Apparently, adjustments need to be made to a raw diet for cats with kidney issues.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie AMPS 189 +2 143

HI Sienne,
Thank you for the suggestions!

Purrcie gets very little raw, more like a snack here and there. Thank you for the raw link too!
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie AMPS 189 +2 143 +5 163

Peaceful here celebrating the day with Paw Paw. :-D

+5 163. Kind of going in the wrong direction a little but steady as she goes and still in the blue, which is such a blessing after the horrid roller coaster on Humulin. This is such a relief.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie AMPS 189 +2 143 +5 163

Hi Myla,

Looks like Purrcie is doing very well. Glad to see all the blue now. :)
Meadow is still pink and yellow. Driving me nuts! Have a nice Father's Day.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Please take a look at the first post and tell me if you've ever had a reaction like I described. I'm still shaking.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

I haven't seen that happen. Did it seem like a seizure maybe?
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Myla, that hasn't happened with Meadow, so I don't what could have caused that with Purrcie. Maybe the others have some insight as to what it could have been. Can't say I blame you for being scared. I would have been too. Hope anything like that doesn't happen again.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Hi Myla. I don't have any input in regards to the behavior you described with purrcie earlier. I hope it was just one of those things and that it doesn't happen again. I know that it scared the crap out of you.

Purrcie is looking really good today! Much much better than the numbers you were getting on that N, huh. Oh, I know the feeling...Spot was on N for 7 months before switching. I should have listened to Dian and the Pittsburgh Gals much sooner.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Libby and Lucy said:
I haven't seen that happen. Did it seem like a seizure maybe?

I just have no clue. He was sitting there and turned kind of sideways like he was going to grab a toy, but then just started sagging like he couldn't move. He snapped right out of it when I grabbed him so I just don't know. His left leg has been hurting him more than usual today too. He has arthritis in both his elbows but he favors his left front. Today he seems really stiff on it. I wonder if it is all related somehow.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Meadow said:
Myla, that hasn't happened with Meadow, so I don't what could have caused that with Purrcie. Maybe the others have some insight as to what it could have been. Can't say I blame you for being scared. I would have been too. Hope anything like that doesn't happen again.

I hope not too. Still shaking. I thought I killed him. Well I'll never shoot the scruff again for sure, just in case that was the problem.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +1.5 107

((((((Myla)))))) I hope it was just a one time thing......but I don't blame you....I am always scared when I see something different. ((((hugs to you and Purrcie))))
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +1.5 107

A seizure is not something you would forget -- all of the limbs are shaking and twitching pretty aggressively. It might have been that he was stiff due to the arthritis and was having trouble moving for a moment. I wouldn't be concerned if it's a one time event.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +1.5 107

I shoot in the scruff and have never had that sort of reaction, Unless something crazy would happen I would just chalk it up to 'weird'. We've all had moments where we stumble into a wall because we step or turn funny right?
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... +11 122 PMPS 101 +.5 119

Deb & Spot said:
Hi Myla. I don't have any input in regards to the behavior you described with purrcie earlier. I hope it was just one of those things and that it doesn't happen again. I know that it scared the crap out of you.

It did scare me. He seems a bit off his game tonight. Quiet, wanting to sleep. Although he did come back and eat more. His left front leg is really bothering him too. Do you guys have any suggestions for arthritis medication?

Deb & Spot said:
Purrcie is looking really good today! Much much better than the numbers you were getting on that N, huh. Oh, I know the feeling...Spot was on N for 7 months before switching. I should have listened to Dian and the Pittsburgh Gals much sooner.

I just studied your SS. wow. I could not believe the numbers you used to get on Humulin, and all you have been through, finally getting Spot off the juice. whew! What a tough and amazing journey. Huge congratulations to you.
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +1.5 107

Sienne and Gabby said:
A seizure is not something you would forget -- all of the limbs are shaking and twitching pretty aggressively. It might have been that he was stiff due to the arthritis and was having trouble moving for a moment. I wouldn't be concerned if it's a one time event.

OK. It was nothing like that.
He just like got stuck sitting, looking and leaning toward the right and started sagging. It was so weird. Paws crossed it never happens again. I just wish I knew what it was for sure. Thanks Sienne!
 
Re: 6/20 Purrcie Please look... PMPS 101 +.5 119 +1.5 107

Amanda said:
I shoot in the scruff and have never had that sort of reaction, Unless something crazy would happen I would just chalk it up to 'weird'. We've all had moments where we stumble into a wall because we step or turn funny right?


I hope you are right, that he just went to turn and his leg was hurting too much. Poor little guy. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top